Select a page

đź’  Fintech R: Evolution 2018: We will of course talk about the financing of start-ups!

March 28, 2018 | Publications

by Olivier Goy, co-founder & CEO of Lendix, VP of France FinTech

Small “spoiler” of what will be said on the round table with Amélie de Montchalin, Jean-David Chamboredon and Paul-François Fournier, moderated by Olivier Goy.

France Fintech, an association created by French fintech entrepreneurs, is organizing the April 10, 2018 the third edition of its annual event, Fintech R: Evolution. The event will take place from 13 p.m. to 20 p.m. in Paris, in the heart of Station F, the largest start-up campus in the world!

This will be the occasion to bring together a panel on the financing of tech - and fintech - French and European with recognized specialists in the subject, namely: Amelie de Montchalin (Member of the Essonne, Member of the Finance Committee),Jean-David Chamboredon (co-president of France Digitale), Paul-Francois Fournier(Executive VP Bpifrance).

As a “spoiler”, here is a taste of the topics that will be discussed!

Overall, we often hear it said that France has succeeded in creating a solid ecosystem to finance start-ups based on a single triptych: State (in particular via Bpifrance), individuals and institutions (financial or industrial).

But is everything so rosy? Are there still holes in the racket or clouds on the horizon? Voices fear a high cycle with valuations disconnected from reality, for example. Others denounce savings that are not focused enough on risk taking and not patient enough.

Among the questions we will discuss with our speakers:

? Do you agree with this observation that the French triptych is quite unique? Or on the contrary, do you find it threatened? I am thinking, for example, of the disappearance of the TEPA mechanism following the reform of the ISF.

? The famous long and patient capital. Jean-David Chamboredon, in particular passed the message to the Minister of Finance, Bruno Le Maire, in February that we were lacking in France? How to fix it?

? Amélie de Montchalin has carried out a whole market action to better channel savings to SMEs. Is it the same observation?

? What about foreign investors? They have never been so present in France, but is it good or bad news to see haxagonal start-ups financed by foreign venture capitalists? Are our big financiers also able to establish themselves abroad? How Bpifrance sees this from its position as a strategic player, both directly and as underwriters of numerous French and foreign venture capital funds.

? At the big Bpifrance event, a French industrial leader in the world of tires tackled our French tech ecosystem and, without naming it, one of our best-known French start-ups, saying that we gave birth to mice more than giants. Whether media coverage takes precedence over profitability or even achieving real turnover. Is he right ? Or, on the contrary, are there really nice, profitable technology companies in Europe?

? How do we do not to crack on the road and go to the end of the beautiful adventures that we see flourish in France? How not to sell at 50, 100 or even 300m € in value, but keep for 20 years a tech company that consolidates at European or even global level instead of selling itself?

This article is part of a series of posts published as part of the annual event organized by France Fintech: Fintech R: Evolution 2018, which will be held April 10 at Station F in Paris, on the theme “Data Liberation”. To share, comment and like on LinkedIn with the hashtag # FFT18.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

💠 Fintech R:Evolution 2018 : On y parlera bien sûr du financement des start-ups !

Mar 28, 2018 | Parutions

par Olivier Goy, co-founder & CEO de Lendix, VP de France FinTech

Petit « spoiler » de ce qui se dira sur la table-ronde avec Amélie de Montchalin, Jean-David Chamboredon et Paul-François Fournier, animée par Olivier Goy.

France Fintech, association créée par les entrepreneurs de la fintech française, organise le 10 avril 2018 la troisième édition de son événement annuel, Fintech R:Evolution. L’évènement aura lieu de 13h à 20h à Paris, au cœur de Station F, le plus grand campus de start-ups au monde !

Ce sera notamment l’occasion de rassembler un panel sur le financement de la tech – et de la fintech – française et européenne avec des spécialistes reconnus du sujet, à savoir : Amélie de Montchalin (Députée de l’Essonne, Membre de la Commission des Finances),Jean-David Chamboredon (co-président de France Digitale), Paul-François Fournier(Executive VP Bpifrance).

En guise de « spoiler », voici un avant-goût des sujets qui seront abordés !

Globalement on entend souvent dire que la France a réussi à créer un écosystème solide pour financer les start-ups reposant sur un triptyque unique : État (notamment via Bpifrance), particuliers et institutionnels (financiers ou industriels).

Mais est-ce que tout est si rose ? Existe-t-il encore des trous dans la raquette ou des nuages à l’horizon ? Des voix craignent un haut de cycle avec des valorisations déconnectées de la réalité par exemple. D’autres dénoncent une épargne pas assez fléchée vers la prise de risque et pas assez patiente.

Parmi les questions que nous aborderons avec nos intervenants :

? Êtes-vous d’accord sur ce constat que le triptyque français est assez unique ? Ou au contraire, le trouvez-vous menacé ? Je pense par exemple à la disparition du mécanisme TEPA suite à la réforme de l’ISF.

? Les fameux capitaux longs et patients. Jean-David Chamboredon, a notamment passé le message au Ministre des finances, Bruno Le Maire, en février que nous en manquions en France ? Comment faire pour y remédier ?

? Amélie de Montchalin a mené toute une action de place pour mieux drainer l’épargne vers les PME. Est-ce le même constat ?

? Quid des investisseurs étrangers ? Ils n’ont jamais été aussi présents en France, mais est-ce une bonne ou une mauvaise nouvelle de voir les start-ups haxagonales financées par des venture capitalists étrangers ? Nos grands financiers arrivent-ils également à s’imposer à l’étranger ? Comment Bpifrance voit cela de son poste d’acteur stratégique, à la fois en direct et en tant que souscripteurs de nombreux fonds de capital-risque français mais aussi étrangers.

? Au grand évènement Bpifrance, un industriel français leader mondial du pneu taclait notre écosystème tech français et, sans la nommer, une de nos start-ups françaises les plus connues en disant que nous accouchions de souris plus que de géants. Que la médiatisation passe avant la profitabilité ou même la réalisation d’un vrai chiffre d’affaires. A-t-il raison ? Ou au contraire existe-t-il de vraies belles entreprises de technologie profitables en Europe ?

? Comment faisons-nous pour ne pas craquer en route et aller au bout des belles aventures que l’on voit fleurir dans l’Hexagone ? Comment ne pas vendre à 50, à 100 ou même à 300m€ de valeur, mais garder 20 ans une société de tech qui consolide au niveau européen voire mondiale au lieu de se vendre ?

Cet article fait partie d’une sĂ©rie de billets publiĂ©s dans le cadre de l’Ă©vènement annuel organisĂ© par France Fintech : Fintech R:Evolution 2018, qui aura lieu le 10 Avril à Station F à Paris, sur le thème “Data Liberation”. A partager, commenter et liker sur LinkedIn avec le hashtag #FFT18.

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...