Select a page

đź’  FinTech needs women

April 5, 2018 | Publications

by Kristen Charvin, general manager from France FinTech

On April 10, 2018, at Station F, France Fintech will bring together the main players in Fintech: regulators, entrepreneurs, investors. This is the unique opportunity to listen and discuss with those who will be part of the revolution that has affected the financial industry for 5 years.

In 2017, 31% of French FinTech teams were made up of women (1); an encouraging figure, but the glass ceiling is still difficult to pierce. In Europe, only 5% of fintech leaders are women.

A finding similar to that achieved in many high-tech sectors and probably linked to the very origins of our sector; Double penalty for FinTech since it inherits the shortcomings of the finance and tech sectors.

But we believe that this is not inevitable and many are working to change this situation, in particular by strengthening our vigilance with regard to the representation and promotion of women, within our organizations and our events.

FinTech: a voluntary sector in terms of gender equality

In a few years, I have been able to observe a subtle but very real evolution of the environment. Fintech recruitment is becoming more feminine, from management positions to development professions, including financial engineering.

In fact, in 2012, when I joined Advize, we were not more than ten women working in this emerging sector. In 2015 when France FinTech was created, the data was hardly more encouraging. But several founders involved encouraged us to reveal ourselves, to organize ourselves and participate with us in the promotion of the sector, especially among the younger generations. Standing wind; but the numbers remained rather low and the profiles rare.

As mentioned in the preamble, a probable explanation lies a priori at the origins of our industry. But certain persistent factors are helping to slow down a favorable development.

In banking, almost a third of men do not declare diversity as a factor of growth and value creation, even though almost half of women managers consider that they are not treated on an equal footing with their male colleagues. (2). Concerning observation!

However, in a few years, many initiatives have raised collective awareness and aroused real interest in our sector. Were or are so many encouraging and impacting signals, as well the action of organizations like. StartHer, Financi'elles, Digital Women's Day, Never Without Her [•••], institutional support (La French Tech, in particular and the Government) or media, and the emergence of emblematic figures such as AurĂ©lie Jean, CĂ©line Lazorthes, Roxanne Varza, Axelle Lemaire's commitment to our sector, the feminization of general management of banks with profiles such as Marie Cheval, Alice Holzman, Anne-Laure NavĂ©os, AmĂ©lie OudĂ©a Castera (whom those I did not mention forgive me).

Vigilance and spotlight needed!

The feminization of the sector requires not only real commitment but also strong communication. From the first edition of Fintech R: Evolution in May 2016, we had ensured a balance of representations in the constitution of our program, thus obtaining the label Never without her. A beginning !

The task is still immense. The proof is in the many stereotypes listed and often spotted by chance, in the course of my exchanges, discussions or browsing on the web;

  • An incoming phone call, I pick up, we try to reach the founder, he is not available; are you his assistant?
  • A CV sent by a CAC 40 executive; “She's very good, plus she's really pretty”…
  • A beautiful double page photo of a ranking of French entrepreneurs; Where are the women ?
  • A large gathering of fintech experts and top management from the banking world… barely 4% of plenary speakers!

So to make the system evolve, we have to propose initiatives capable of federating positive synergies. Not a classification, too divisive; no, women already have difficulty putting themselves forward. We must build projects capable of carrying them; spotlighting intended to make known the essential role that they occupy, it is first necessary to identify the female talents who work for the development of the finance of tomorrow. When it comes to fintech, we have to roll up our sleeves.

Women in FinTech • The French Power List contributes to this movement

Discover the Women in FinTech • The French Power List

It is the first step in a program that will help spark new vocations, encourage women to embark on this path for the future, and bring together female talents in fintech.

Whether they are entrepreneurs, managers, researchers or journalists, whether they are working within a start-up, a bank, a consulting firm, a technological group, an association, a governmental or political organization, in France or abroad, these women work for the development of the fintech sector and participate in the influence of our ecosystem.

We are extremely proud that this first call for a census was so successful and amazed by the diversity and richness of the profiles we were able to collect; all functions are shown. The fintech sector is becoming more feminine and faster than you might think.

As such, second pride; the 2018 program of Fintech R: Evolution, the annual event of France FinTech, will involve many women on the theme of Data Liberation !. We are even delighted to see a predominance of female representation on some of our round tables! There is still time to book your ticket to come and meet them and listen to them at Station F, on April 10 during Data Liberation! Join us !

French fintech is proud of its feminine faces. Sign of success; the ranks of the power list grow every day and it will be updated every month. Its constitution is an essential step for fintech to join the front ranks of the professional equality movement.

To do this, we need to all work together; So, Gentlemen, we invite you to share our initiative without moderation and to encourage those around you to disseminate it widely. Ladies, join the movement and make yourself known, French fintech needs you!

-------------------------------------------

(1) Source: France Fintech

(2) Financial consultation 2017 (with 11 groups: â€śMore than 2/3 of men now consider that gender diversity is a factor of growth and value creation as well as sustainability and long-term vision.”

************************************************** ***********************************

This article is part of a series of posts published as part of the annual event organized by France Fintech: Fintech R: Evolution 2018, which will take place on April 10 at Station Fin Paris, on the theme “Data Liberation”. To share, comment and like on LinkedIn with the hashtag # FFT18.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

SĂ©lectionner une page

💠 La fintech a besoin des femmes

Avr 5, 2018 | Parutions

par Kristen Charvin, déléguée générale de France FinTech

Le 10 Avril 2018, Ă  Station F, France Fintech rassemblera les principaux acteurs de la Fintech : rĂ©gulateurs, entrepreneurs, investisseurs. C’est l’occasion unique d’écouter et d’échanger avec celles et ceux qui seront partie prenante de la rĂ©volution qui touche l’industrie financiĂšre depuis 5 ans.

En 2017, 31% des équipes de la FinTech française étaient constituées de femmes(1) ; un chiffre encourageant, mais le plafond de verre reste encore difficile à percer. En Europe, seuls 5% des dirigeants des fintech sont des femmes.

Un constat similaire Ă  celui rĂ©alisĂ© dans de nombreuses filiĂšres de pointe et probablement liĂ© aux origines mĂȘmes de notre secteur ; double peine pour la FinTech puisqu’elle hĂ©rite du des insuffisances des secteurs de la finance et de la tech.

Mais nous pensons que ce n’est pas une fatalitĂ© et sommes nombreux Ă  s’atteler Ă  faire Ă©voluer cette situation, notamment en renforçant notre vigilance quant Ă  la reprĂ©sentation et Ă  la promotion des femmes, au sein de nos organisations et de nos Ă©vĂ©nements.

La FinTech : une filiĂšre volontaire en matiĂšre d’égalitĂ© des genres

En quelques annĂ©es, j’ai pu constater une Ă©volution subtile mais bien rĂ©elle de l’environnement. Le recrutement des fintech se fĂ©minise, des fonctions de direction aux mĂ©tiers de dĂ©veloppement, en passant par l’ingĂ©nierie financiĂšre.

En effet, en 2012, lorsque j’ai rejoint Advize nous n’étions pas plus d’une dizaine de femmes Ă  Ă©voluer dans ce secteur naissant. En 2015 quand France FinTech s’est crĂ©Ă©e, les donnĂ©es n’étaient guĂšre plus encourageantes. Mais plusieurs fondateurs impliquĂ©s nous encourageaient Ă  nous rĂ©vĂ©ler, Ă  nous organiser et participaient avec nous Ă  la promotion du secteur, notamment auprĂšs des plus jeunes gĂ©nĂ©rations. Vent debout ; mais les chiffres restaient plutĂŽt faibles et les profils rares.

Comme évoqués en préambule, un probable explication se situe a priori aux origines de notre filiÚre. Mais certains facteurs persistants contribuent à freiner une évolution favorable.

Dans la banque, prĂšs d’un tiers des hommes ne dĂ©clarent pas la diversitĂ© comme un facteur de croissance et de crĂ©ation de valeur, alors mĂȘme que prĂšs de la moitiĂ© des femmes cadres considĂšrent ne pas ĂȘtre traitĂ©es Ă  l’égal des leurs collĂšgues hommes (2) . PrĂ©occupante observation !

Toutefois, en quelques annĂ©es, de nombreuses initiatives ont permis une prise de conscience collective et de susciter un intĂ©rĂȘt rĂ©el pour notre secteur. Ont Ă©tĂ© ou sont autant de signaux encourageants et impactants, aussi bien l’action d’ organisations comme StartHer, Financi’elles, la JournĂ©e de la Femme Digitale, Jamais sans Elle [‱‱‱], les soutiens institutionnels (La French Tech, notamment et le Gouvernement) ou mĂ©diatiques, et l’émergence de figures emblĂ©matiques telles qu’AurĂ©lie Jean, CĂ©line Lazorthes, Roxanne Varza, l’engagement d’Axelle Lemaire pour notre filiĂšre, la fĂ©minisation des directions gĂ©nĂ©rales des banques avec des profils comme Marie Cheval, Alice Holzman, Anne-Laure NavĂ©os, AmĂ©lie OudĂ©a Castera (que celles que je n’ai pas citĂ©es me pardonnent).

Vigilance et coup de projecteur nécessaires !

La féminisation du secteur passe non seulement par un réel engagement mais aussi par une communication forte. DÚs la premiÚre édition de Fintech R:Evolution en mai 2016, nous avions veillé à un équilibre des représentations dans la constitution de notre programme, obtenant à ce titre le label Jamais sans Elle. Un début !

La tùche est encore immense. La preuve en est des nombreux stéréotypes répertoriés et souvent repérés par hasard, au fil de mes échanges, discussions ou navigations sur la toile ;

  • Un appel tĂ©lĂ©phonique entrant, je dĂ©croche, on cherche Ă  joindre le fondateur, il n’est pas disponible ; vous ĂȘtes son assistante ?
  • Un CV transmis par un cadre du CAC 40 ; “elle est trĂšs bien, en plus elle est vraiment jolie” 

  • Une belle photo en double page d’un classement des entrepreneurs français ; oĂč sont les femmes ?
  • Un grand rassemblement d’experts de la fintech et de top management du monde bancaire 
 Ă  peine 4% d’intervenantes en plĂ©niĂšre !

Alors pour faire Ă©voluer le systĂšme, il faut proposer des initiatives capables de fĂ©dĂ©rer les synergies positives. Pas un classement, trop clivant ; non, les femmes ont dĂ©jĂ  du mal Ă  se mettre en avant.. Il faut construire des projets capables de les porter; des coups de projecteurs destinĂ©s Ă  faire connaĂźtre le rĂŽle essentiel qu’elles occupent, il faut dans un premier temps identifier les talents fĂ©minins qui travaillent au dĂ©veloppement de la finance de demain. S’agissant de la fintech, il faut se retrousser les manches.

Women in FinTech ‱ The French Power List contribue à ce mouvement

DĂ©couvrir la Women in FinTech ‱ The French Power List

Elle est la premiĂšre Ă©tape d’un programme qui contribuera Ă  susciter de nouvelles vocations, Ă  encourager les femmes Ă  s’engager dans cette voie d’avenir, Ă  fĂ©dĂ©rer les talents fĂ©minins de la fintech.

Qu’elles soient entrepreneures, manager, chercheuses ou journalistes, qu’elles Ă©voluent au sein d’une start-up, d’une banque, d’un cabinet de conseil, d’un groupe technologique, d’une association, d’une organisation gouvernementale ou politique, en France ou Ă  l’Ă©tranger, ces femmes Ɠuvrent pour le dĂ©veloppement de la filiĂšre fintech et participent au rayonnement de notre Ă©cosystĂšme.

Nous sommes extrĂȘmement fiĂšre que ce premier appel Ă  recensement ait rencontrĂ© un tel succĂšs et Ă©patĂ©e par la diversitĂ© et la richesse des profils que nous avons pu recueillir ; toutes les fonctions sont reprĂ©sentĂ©es. Le secteur fintech se fĂ©minisent et plus rapidement qu’on ne le pense.

A ce titre, seconde fiertĂ© ; la programmation 2018 de Fintech R:Evolution, l’évĂ©nement annuel de France FinTech, fera intervenir de nombreuses femmes sur le thĂšme de Data Liberation!. Nous sommes mĂȘme ravis de constater une prĂ©dominance de la reprĂ©sentation fĂ©minine sur certaines de nos tables rondes ! Il est encore temps de rĂ©server votre billet pour venir les rencontrer et les Ă©couter Ă  Station F, le 10 avril lors de Data Liberation! Rejoignez-nous !

La fintech française est fiĂšre de ses visages fĂ©minins. Signe de rĂ©ussite ; les rangs de la power list grandissent chaque jour et celle-ci sera actualisĂ©e chaque mois. Sa constitution est une Ă©tape essentielle pour que la fintech rejoigne les premiers rangs du mouvement de l’égalitĂ© professionnelle.

Pour ce faire, nous avons besoin d’Ɠuvrer tous ensemble ; Alors, Messieurs, nous vous invitons Ă  partager sans modĂ©ration notre initiative et Ă  inciter votre entourage Ă  la diffuser largement. Mesdames, rejoignez-le mouvement et faites-vous connaĂźtre, la fintech française a besoin de vous !

——————————————————————————————————————————-

(1) Source : France Fintech

(2) Consultation Financi’elles 2017 (auprĂšs de 11 groupe : “plus de 2/3 des hommes considĂšrent dĂ©sormais que la mixitĂ© est facteur de croissance et de crĂ©ation de valeur ainsi que de pĂ©rennitĂ© et de vision de long terme.”

************************************************************************************

Cet article fait partie d’une sĂ©rie de billets publiĂ©s dans le cadre de l’Ă©vĂšnement annuel organisĂ© par France Fintech : Fintech R:Evolution 2018, qui aura lieu le 10 Avril à Station FĂ  Paris, sur le thĂšme “Data Liberation”. A partager, commenter et liker sur LinkedIn avec le hashtag #FFT18.