Select a page

đź’  Data: The new black gold for banks (and especially fintechs)?

March 30, 2018 | Publications

by Jonathan Herscovici, co-founder & CEO of WeSave, member of the management committee of France FinTech

$ 75 billion. In one week, Facebook's valuation suffered the biggest stock market drop in its history following the announcement on March 16 of the Cambridge Analytica scandal. The British company illegally used the personal data of more than 50 million users of the famous social network.

This story clearly shows to what extent data and its use have become ultra-strategic issues in the global economy both in terms of business model but also security and regulatory framework. In the banking and financial world, we are still in the infancy on all these aspects. Fortunately, fintechs are taking on the role of true market emulators.

The data banking gold rush

Thanks to the generalization of Internet technologies, adopted by banks and insurers at different scales (as revealed by an ACPR study published on March 20 - The digital revolution in the French banking sector), fintechs will be able to exploit extremely valuable data pools to nurture the exclusive relationship they want to maintain with end customers.

Current regulatory changes are contributing to these data-related upheavals, the PSD2 being the perfect example. This European directive, which has been (and still is) the subject of much discussion, will make it possible to offer end customers a service which can retrieve all the data available in its bank concerning each of its accounts. Very concretely, the banks will make APIs available - by September 2019 - which allow end customers (mainly through fintech) to have all their banking information. The main leitmotiv of these fintech disruptors is to take over the relationship with end customers, forcing banks to reinvent themselves. The starting point of this new banking era is undeniably data. Problem, the banks themselves do not know how to extract the data they have always had; involved, the technical debt accumulated over decades and the use - still too important - of obsolete technologies such as Cobol, created in 1959. While banks ardently criticize - for security reasons - the scraping technologies currently used by fintechs, they themselves resort to these methods to recover the data, to put it mildly.

Beyond the extraction of this data, the major stake lies in their exploitation, because it is obvious that the raw data is not sufficient on its own. Again, the banks don't seem to be doing it right. Thus, they will therefore have to call on fintechs to help them get there. Be careful, however, not to transform fintech into an “improved” IT services company which has both know-how, IT development expertise and a faster execution capacity thanks to its “lean startup” approach. Other fintech players, taking advantage of their agility in the use of data and their scientific and technological know-how, are competing with banks to bring more value to the end customer according to their needs. . Among the hundreds of possible applications of the use of data, it will first improve transparency with in particular the advent of intelligent comparators of the various players in the financial sector and of the financial products themselves. The client will, among other things, have access to the details of the costs and will be able to assess the objectivity of an advice: “Is the bank's economic model built on the sale of the product rather than on the advice it lavish me? ”. The customer will see for example - as further revealed by the AMF in its latest report on financial advisers - that retro-commissions represent more than 90% of the advisor's remuneration. It is moreover to avoid conflicts of interest between the advisor and the end customer that the regulator proposed the MiFID2 directive - whose implementation, which was to come into force on January 3, has been postponed for another three months - and encourages remuneration in the form of fees. This is a major upheaval for the banks which are still, for the majority of them, far from being fully prepared for it.

Towards much more “data-driven” economic models

The classic economic model of banks is losing momentum - reduced margin, new competition, regulatory pressure - all the more so as the frequentation of agencies has fallen sharply in recent years. As we have just seen, fintech threatens existing economic models by creating services that focus on better customer knowledge, a redesigned user journey and an objective match between customer expectations and the range of services / products designed for him. The fintechs are betting that knowing the customer better - thanks to the use of data - will necessarily lead to a meteoric increase in their satisfaction. The legitimacy of these new players to invoice a financial service will be even stronger. These findings are all opportunities to build new hybrid services, which combine the “human” support of a financial advisor and new technologies. If fintechs find the right balance between the two, through a single interface of financial products / services, to become the client's main point of contact as an “augmented financial advisor”, they will be able to relegate the bank to a simple role of designer of financial services. financial products, risk manager and fund custodian. A disaster for the banks.

Existing business models will not disappear that easily, however. They will first be optimized to the extreme by improving the efficiency of the entire banking value chain. The use of the data will obviously be the main contributor to this optimization. For example in the analysis of credit to companies, rather than going through a traditional analysis process, fintechs offer an automated analysis of the data of the bank accounts of these companies but also those generated by their business, such as the payment of suppliers. , or by their activity on social networks. This credit analysis is constantly updated because the feeds are updated daily - whether via the scraping method or the API. The granting of credit could be almost instantaneous. Banking data - already plethora of data - is therefore not the only usable data and can be crossed with other data as we have just seen. The web giants are the world champions in the use of all types of data, which is why they are increasingly interested in data produced by the financial industry. These analyzes of customer data (not only banking) are also starting to interest all merchants who, too, face a context that pushes them to innovate and better meet the personalization expectations of their consumers, whatever the channels used. Other fintechs are therefore rushing towards the business virtues of a “customer-centric” strategy that benefits everyone.

The banking experience of tomorrow will first and foremost be “customer centric”

As we have just seen, the financial industry will undergo major upheavals in the years to come. Competition in financial services will no longer be played out only on the price / product / brand triptych but more and more on data and its use, ultra-personalization for example. The players in the ecosystem - bank or fintech - who will stand out and who will generate longevity in their customer interaction are those who will be based on the values ​​and emotions of the end customer. Customer-centric companies have understood that a product whose promise is based only on simple technical characteristics can easily be substituted: a car can be replaced by another car. If we were to quote Tesla, we would focus on its disruptive electric car technology but also on Elon Musk's vision of the customer experience in which he invests heavily. The creation of value is based on the amplified customer experience, through attention to detail, ranging from the acceleration power of Model S(unbelievable to have tested it) until interactive design of its stores.

What makes these strategies successful is the actor's ability to create a competitive advantage based on the customer experience which can even be empathetic at times: it is the ultra-personalization of the customer relationship. However, the importance of customer confidence in brand awareness and in the solidity of the company when making the purchase, and particularly in financial services, should not be overlooked.

***********************

This article is part of a series of posts published as part of the annual event organized by France Fintech: Fintech R: Evolution 2018, which will be held April 10 at Station F in Paris, on the theme “Data Liberation”. To share, comment and like on LinkedIn with the hashtag # FFT18.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

SĂ©lectionner une page

💠 La donnĂ©e : Le nouvel or noir des banques (et surtout des fintech) ?

Mar 30, 2018 | Parutions

par Jonathan Herscovici, co-founder & CEO de WeSave, membre du comité directeur de France FinTech

75 milliards de dollars. En une semaine, la valorisation de Facebook a subi la plus grosse chute boursiĂšre de son histoire suite Ă  l’annonce le 16 mars dernier du scandale Cambridge Analytica. La sociĂ©tĂ© britannique a utilisĂ© illĂ©galement les donnĂ©es personnelles de plus 50 millions d’utilisateurs du cĂ©lĂšbre rĂ©seau social.

Cette histoire montre bien Ă  quel point la donnĂ©e et son exploitation sont devenues des enjeux ultra-stratĂ©giques dans l’économie mondiale Ă  la fois sur les aspects de business model mais aussi de sĂ©curitĂ© et d’encadrement rĂ©glementaire. Dans le milieu bancaire et financier, nous n’en sommes qu’aux balbutiements sur tous ces aspects. Heureusement, les fintech prennent le rĂŽle de vĂ©ritables Ă©mulateurs de marchĂ©.

La ruĂ©e vers l’or de la data bancaire

GrĂące Ă  la gĂ©nĂ©ralisation des technologies Internet, adoptĂ©es par les banques et les assureurs Ă  diffĂ©rentes Ă©chelles (ce que rĂ©vĂšle une Ă©tude de l’ACPR publiĂ©e le 20 mars – La rĂ©volution numĂ©rique dans le secteur bancaire français), les fintech seront en mesure d’exploiter des gisements de donnĂ©es extrĂȘmement prĂ©cieux pour nourrir la relation exclusive qu’elles veulent entretenir avec les clients finaux.

Les Ă©volutions rĂ©glementaires en cours sont en train de contribuer Ă  ces bouleversements liĂ©s Ă  la donnĂ©e, la DSP2 en est l’exemple parfait. Cette directive europĂ©enne, qui a fait (et fait encore) l’objet de nombreuses discussions, permettra de proposer aux clients finaux un service qui peut rĂ©cupĂ©rer l’ensemble des donnĂ©es disponibles dans sa banque concernant chacun de ses comptes. TrĂšs concrĂštement, les banques vont mettre Ă  disposition des API – d’ici septembre 2019 – qui permettent aux clients finaux (Ă  travers des fintech principalement) de disposer de toutes leurs informations bancaires. Le leitmotiv principal de ces disrupteurs fintech est de reprendre Ă  leur compte la relation avec les clients finaux, obligeant les banques Ă  se rĂ©inventer. Le point de dĂ©part de cette nouvelle Ăšre bancaire est indĂ©niablement la donnĂ©e. ProblĂšme, les banques elles-mĂȘmes ne savent pas extraire la donnĂ©e qu’elles possĂšdent depuis toujours ; en cause, la dette technique accumulĂ©e depuis des dizaines d’annĂ©es et l’utilisation – encore trop importante – des technologies obsolĂštes comme le Cobol, crĂ©Ă© en 1959. Alors que les banques critiquent ardemment – pour des raisons de sĂ©curitĂ© – les technologies de scraping utilisĂ©es actuellement par les fintech, elles ont elles-mĂȘmes recours Ă  ces mĂ©thodes pour rĂ©cupĂ©rer les donnĂ©es, un comble.

Au-delĂ  de l’extraction de ces donnĂ©es, l’enjeu majeur se trouve dans leur exploitation, car il est Ă©vident que la donnĂ©e brute ne se suffit pas Ă  elle mĂȘme. LĂ  encore, les banques ne semblent pas parvenir Ă  le faire correctement. Ainsi, elles devront donc faire appel Ă  des fintech pour les aider Ă  y arriver. Attention nĂ©anmoins Ă  ne pas transformer la fintech en une SSII “amĂ©liorĂ©e” qui a, Ă  la fois, le savoir-faire, l’expertise de dĂ©veloppement informatique et une capacitĂ© d’exĂ©cution plus rapide grĂące Ă  son approche de “lean startup”. D’autres acteurs de la fintech, profitant de leur agilitĂ© dans l’utilisation de la donnĂ©e et de leur savoir-faire en matiĂšre scientifique et technologique, se positionnent en concurrence des banques pour apporter plus de valeur au client final en fonction de leur besoin. Parmi les centaines d’applications possibles de l’exploitation de la donnĂ©e, celle-ci va d’abord permettre d’amĂ©liorer la transparence avec notamment l’avĂšnement de comparateurs intelligents des diffĂ©rents acteurs du secteurs financiers et des produits financiers eux-mĂȘmes. Le client va, entre autres, avoir accĂšs au dĂ©tail des frais et pourra Ă©valuer l’objectivitĂ© d’un conseil : “Est-ce que le modĂšle Ă©conomique de la banque est construit sur la vente du produit plutĂŽt que sur le conseil qu’elle me prodigue ?”. Le client pourra constater par exemple – comme l’a encore rĂ©vĂ©lĂ© l’AMF dans son dernier rapport sur les conseillers financiers – que les rĂ©tro-commissions reprĂ©sentent plus de 90% de la rĂ©munĂ©ration du conseiller. C’est d’ailleurs pour Ă©viter les conflits d’intĂ©rĂȘt entre le conseiller et le client final que le rĂ©gulateur a proposĂ© la directive MIFID2 – dont la mise en application qui devait entrer en vigueur le 3 janvier a encore Ă©tĂ© repoussĂ©e de trois mois – et encourage la rĂ©munĂ©ration sous forme d’honoraires. C’est un bouleversement majeur pour les banques qui sont encore, pour une majoritĂ© d’entres-elles, loin d’y ĂȘtre prĂ©parĂ©es complĂštement.

Vers des modĂšles Ă©conomiques beaucoup plus “data-driven”

Le modĂšle Ă©conomique classique des banques est en perte de vitesse – marge rĂ©duite, nouvelle concurrence, pression rĂ©glementaire – d’autant plus que la frĂ©quentation des agences a fortement diminuĂ© ces derniĂšres annĂ©es. Comme on vient de le voir, les fintech viennent menacer les modĂšles Ă©conomiques existants en crĂ©ant des services qui se concentrent sur une meilleure connaissance client, un parcours utilisateur repensĂ© et une adĂ©quation objective entre les attentes du client et la gamme de services/produits conçu pour lui. Les fintech font le pari que mieux connaĂźtre le client – grĂące Ă  l’exploitation des donnĂ©es – entraĂźnera nĂ©cessairement une progression fulgurante de leur satisfaction. La lĂ©gitimitĂ© de ces nouveaux acteurs Ă  facturer un service financier n’en sera que plus forte. Ces constats sont autant d’opportunitĂ©s pour construire de nouveaux services hybrides, qui mĂȘlent l’accompagnement “humain” d’un conseiller financier et les nouvelles technologies. Si les fintech trouvent le bon Ă©quilibre entre les deux, Ă  travers une interface unique de produits/services financiers, pour devenir le principal interlocuteur du client en tant que “conseiller financier augmentĂ©â€, elles pourront relĂ©guer la banque Ă  un simple rĂŽle de concepteur des produits financiers, de gestionnaire du risque et de dĂ©positaire des fonds. Une catastrophe pour les banques.

Les modĂšles Ă©conomiques existants ne vont nĂ©anmoins pas disparaĂźtre aussi facilement. Ils seront d’abord optimisĂ©s Ă  l’extrĂȘme en amĂ©liorant l’efficacitĂ© de toute la chaĂźne de valeur bancaire. L’exploitation de la donnĂ©e sera Ă©videmment le principal contributeur de cette optimisation. Par exemple dans l’analyse de crĂ©dit aux entreprises, plutĂŽt que de passer par un procĂ©dĂ© traditionnel d’analyse, des fintech proposent une analyse automatisĂ©e des donnĂ©es des comptes bancaires de ces entreprises mais aussi celles gĂ©nĂ©rĂ©es par leur business, comme le paiement des fournisseurs, ou encore par leur activitĂ© sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux. Cette analyse crĂ©dit est actualisĂ©e en permanence car les flux sont mis Ă  jour quotidiennement – que ce soit via la mĂ©thode du scraping ou de l’API. L’octroi du crĂ©dit pourrait ĂȘtre quasi instantanĂ©. La donnĂ©e bancaire – dĂ©jĂ  plĂ©thorique – n’est, ainsi, pas la seule donnĂ©e exploitable et peut ĂȘtre croisĂ©e avec d’autres donnĂ©es comme on vient de le voir. Les gĂ©ants du web sont les champions du monde dans l’exploitation de tous types de donnĂ©es, c’est d’ailleurs la raison pour laquelle ils s’intĂ©ressent de plus en plus Ă  celles produites par l’industrie financiĂšre. Ces analyses de donnĂ©es clients (pas uniquement bancaires) commencent d’ailleurs Ă  intĂ©resser tous les marchands qui, eux aussi, font face Ă  un contexte qui les pousse Ă  innover et Ă  mieux rĂ©pondre aux attentes de personnalisation de leurs consommateurs, quels que soient les canaux utilisĂ©s. D’autres fintech s’engouffrent donc vers les vertus business d’une stratĂ©gie “customer centric” qui profite Ă  tout le monde.

L’expĂ©rience bancaire de demain sera d’abord “customer centric”

On vient de le voir, l’industrie financiĂšre va subir des bouleversements majeurs dans les annĂ©es Ă  venir. La concurrence dans les services financiers ne va plus se jouer seulement sur le triptyque prix / produit / marque mais de plus en plus sur les donnĂ©es et leur utilisation, l’ultra-personnalisation par exemple. Les acteurs de l’Ă©cosystĂšme – banque ou fintech – qui se dĂ©marqueront et qui gĂ©nĂ©reront de la longĂ©vitĂ© dans leur interaction client sont ceux qui s’appuieront sur les valeurs et les Ă©motions du client final. Les entreprises “customer centric” ont compris qu’un produit dont la promesse ne repose que sur de simples caractĂ©ristiques techniques peut se substituer facilement : une voiture peut ĂȘtre remplacĂ©e par une autre voiture. Si l’on devait citer Tesla, on s’attarderait sur sa technologie disruptive de voiture Ă©lectrique mais aussi sur la vision d’Elon Musk de l’expĂ©rience client dans laquelle il investit massivement. La crĂ©ation de valeur se fait sur l’expĂ©rience client amplifiĂ©e, par le soin du dĂ©tail, cela allant de la puissance d’accĂ©lĂ©ration de la Model S(incroyable pour l’avoir testĂ©e) jusqu’au design interactif de ses boutiques.

Ce qui fait le succĂšs de ces stratĂ©gies, c’est la capacitĂ© de l’acteur Ă  crĂ©er un avantage concurrentiel basĂ© sur l’expĂ©rience client qui pourra mĂȘme ĂȘtre parfois empathique : c’est l’ultra-personnalisation de la relation client. Il ne faudra pas nĂ©gliger, nĂ©anmoins, l’importance de la confiance du client dans la notoriĂ©tĂ© de la marque et dans la soliditĂ© de l’entreprise lorsqu’il fera son acte d’achat, et particuliĂšrement dans les services financiers.

***********************

Cet article fait partie d’une sĂ©rie de billets publiĂ©s dans le cadre de l’Ă©vĂšnement annuel organisĂ© par France Fintech : Fintech R:Evolution 2018, qui aura lieu le 10 Avril à Station F à Paris, sur le thĂšme “Data Liberation”. A partager, commenter et liker sur LinkedIn avec le hashtag #FFT18.