Select a page

2020 Atypical and dynamic year… 2021: year of new functionalities?

January 31, 2017 | grandstands

MasterCard is partner of France FinTech and many fintechs. Alexandra Zana, talks to us about Mastercard's commitment to fintechs through this forum.

In light of a year 2020 when the coronavirus pandemic will have upset our daily lives and strongly impacted the global economic environment, it is clear that it will also have been a surprising year from the point of view of FinTech.

Who would have bet that companies in the sector would have resisted more or less well and that they would have raised some 828,2 million euros in 63 operations ?

The past few months have demonstrated the resilience and agility of fintechs and we can undoubtedly say that despite the crisis, 2020 will have been a dynamic year for fintechs in France.

At Mastercard, which confirms itself as the partner of choice for fintechs in France and Europe, we support, within French Tech, partners such as Qonto, Swile, and Spendesk. We have supported many launches and partnerships in 2020. For example SWAN as a new European Bank as a Service partner of Mastercard- but also the launch of Betterway, Handsome, Self, and Money walkie with Treezor which joined the Mastercard Fintech Express program and is today a privileged partner of Mastercard in France and in Europe.

We are committed to supporting innovation and the development of fintechs and thus supporting the emergence of new payment experiences that meet consumer expectations. These new offers make it possible, for example, to strengthen financial inclusion (eg from Finense, Handsome) or even competition via the possibilities offered by Open Banking (aggregation of accounts, credit scoring, payment initiation, etc.).

So what about our challenges in 2021?

If the year 2020 was the year of creation of many Fintechs, 2021 will be, for us Mastercard, the year of the consolidation and European development of the fintechs that we support. Acquiring critical size will be a key issue in staying in the race. Like Nickel alongside which we have been present since its launch on the French market in 2014 and which chose Mastercard as its exclusive partner for its establishment in 8 European countries by 2024 or N26 now present in 24 countries in Europe.

To support the new players in the payment market in France and in Europe, Mastercard relies on its international network and its consulting, technological and marketing expertise.. Our unique positioning in the field of fintechs makes it an accelerator of choice because, beyond international development, we have the capacity to strongly support the implementation of technological innovations for the benefit of fintech customers.

A technological company in the global payments industry, Mastercard will also strengthen its positioning for more than ten years with all players in the ecosystem. We will continue to share the culture of innovation, support the digitization of the economy and support new smart experiences.

To this end, I am sharing with you 4 innovations that we have identified and on which we will base our efforts and which we will develop during the coming year.

1 / The Request to Pay / bill payment (and the Bill Pay solution)

The French EBPP (electronic bill payment and presentment) market represents € 500 billion, with 80% direct debits and 15% checks.

Mastercard's Bill Pay solution, which is part of the Request to Pay standard, developed at European level within the framework of the EPC (European Payment Council), allows users to take control of their payment. invoices. Indeed, Bill Pay interfaces between the major billers such as Orange, EDF, etc. and the issuing banks, to offer the dematerialization of the bill, the presentation of the bill on the customer's online banking space, the call of the payment (compatible with any card payment method, transfer, direct debit, etc.) and automatic reconciliation.

As a result, the solution makes it possible to give back control on the one hand to end consumers over the payment of their invoices and on the other hand to issuing banks to enhance remote banking with new services, and finally, for the biller a optimization of costs through better collection of payments and better reconciliation.

2 / Payment in installments

The pandemic has accelerated the use of payment in installments. Since confinement, companies specializing in payment in three or four installments have thus seen their activity grow, or even explode in some cases. According to the firm McKinsey, companies offering this type of service (“point of sell financing”) have experienced “growth of 40 to 50%” in recent years.

This is particularly the case of the Klarna company, whose valuation has reached record highs with more than 10 billion dollars, higher than those of certain large European banks.

A decrease in the use of credit / revolving cards and an increase in the use of payment in installments, directly integrated into the shopping experience and within a merchant environment is a paradigm shift. Indeed, the large merchants offer more and more these possibilities of payment in several installments or of deferred payment.

In France, these offers are popularized by players such as Floa, Oney, Cofidis, Cofinoga and more recently new players such as Alma, Cresh or Pledg for B2C or Finexkap for B2B. Mastercard supports them through commercial and technological partnerships.

3 / Open banking

Open Banking is one of the main structuring movements in the market. Many use cases have been enabled thanks to access to accounts or the initiation of payment (account / card reloading, initiation of a transfer to pay at a merchant, instant credit scoring and eligibility, billing management , aggregation of accounts and budget management, etc.).

Mastercard has been investing in open banking for several years, notably with the launch in 2019 of a complete set of solutions in Europe (Open Banking Connect, Open Banking Protect, Open Banking Resolve). More recently, Mastercard accelerated its open banking strategy with the acquisition of Finicity, one of North America's leading providers of real-time access to financial data and information.

4 / The tap on phone

VSEs / SMEs which, let us remember, represent 90% of companies around the world, need to have solutions that allow them to accept payments at a lower cost, on their phone. This is what the Tap on phone Mastercard offers, which accompanies the launch of pilots both on the technical and certification side as well as on the commercial deployment side. This contactless technology is currently totally relevant because it helps the digitization of traders. In addition, for large retailers, the Tap on phone is a “queue busting” solution because it also offers the possibility of paying on the tablet of a salesperson in store and therefore reducing queues at the checkout.

This year 2021, which we see as the year of consolidation and scalability, will allow us, I am sure, to be the development partner of the European champions of tomorrow!

Sélectionner une page

2020 Année Atypique et dynamique… 2021 : année de nouvelles fonctionnalités ?

Jan 27, 2021 | Tribunes

Mastercard est partenaire de France FinTech et de nombreuses fintech. Alexandra Zana, nous parle de l’engagement de Mastercard auprès des fintech au travers de cette tribune.

A l’aune d’une année 2020 où la pandémie du coronavirus aura bouleversé notre quotidien et fortement impacté l’environnement économique mondial, force est de constater qu’elle aura également été une année surprenante du point de vue des Fintech.

Qui aurait parié que les entreprises du secteur auraient plus ou moins bien résisté et qu’elles auraient levé quelques 828,2 millions d’euros en 63 opérations ?

Ces derniers mois ont démontré la résilience et l’agilité des fintechs et nous pouvons sans aucun doute affirmer que malgré la crise, 2020 aura été une année dynamique pour les fintechs en France.

Chez Mastercard, qui se confirme comme le partenaire de choix des fintechs en France et en Europe, nous soutenons, au sein de la French Tech, des partenaires tels que Qonto, Swile, et Spendesk. Nous avons accompagné de nombreux lancements et partenariats en 2020. Citons par exemple SWAN en tant que nouvelle Bank as a Service européenne partenaire de Mastercard- mais également le lancement des Betterway, Handsome, Zelf, et Money Walkie avec Treezor qui a rejoint le programme Mastercard Fintech Express et qui est aujourd’hui partenaire privilégié de Mastercard en France et en Europe.

Nous avons à cœur de soutenir l’innovation et le développement des fintechs et d’accompagner ainsi l’émergence de nouvelles expériences de paiement, répondant aux attentes des consommateurs. Ces nouvelles offres permettent par exemple de renforcer l’inclusion financière (ex. de Finense, Handsome) ou encore la concurrence via les possibilités offertes par l’Open Banking (agrégation de comptes, scoring crédit, initiation de paiement…).

Quid alors de nos enjeux en 2021 ?

Si l’année 2020 a été l’année de création de nombreuses Fintech, 2021 sera, pour nous Mastercard, l’année de la consolidation et du développement européen des fintech que nous accompagnons. L’acquisition d’une taille critique sera un enjeu clé pour rester dans la course. A l’image de Nickel au côté de laquelle nous sommes présents depuis son lancement sur le marché français en 2014 et qui a choisi Mastercard pour partenaire exclusif pour son implantation dans 8 pays Européens d’ici à 2024 ou de N26 désormais présent dans 24 pays en Europe.

Pour accompagner les nouveaux acteurs du marché du paiement en France et en Europe, Mastercard s’appuie sur son réseau international et son expertise conseil, technologique et marketing. Notre positionnement unique dans le domaine des Fintechs en fait un accélérateur de choix car au-delà du développement international, nous avons la capacité de soutenir fortement la mise en place d’innovations technologiques au bénéfice des clients des fintech.

Société technologique dans l’industrie mondiale des paiements, Mastercard renforcera également son positionnement depuis plus de dix ans auprès de l’ensemble des acteurs de l’écosystème. Nous continuerons à partager la culture de l’innovation, d’accompagner la digitalisation de l’économie et de soutenir les nouvelles expériences intelligentes.

A cet effet, je partage avec vous 4 innovations que nous avons identifiées et sur lesquelles nous allons appuyer nos efforts et que nous développerons durant l’année à venir.

1/ Le Request to Pay / paiement de facture (et la solution Bill Pay)

Le marché français de l’EBPP (electronic bill payment and presentment) représente 500Mds€, avec 80% de prélèvements et 15% de chèques.

La solution Bill Pay de Mastercard qui s’inscrit dans le cadre du standard Request to Pay, développé au niveau européen dans le cadre de l’EPC (European Payment Council), permet de redonner la main à l’utilisateur sur le paiement de ses factures. En effet, Bill Pay s’interface entre les grands facturiers comme Orange, EDF….et les banques émettrices, pour offrir la dématérialisation de la facture, la présentation de la facture sur l’espace banque en ligne du client, l’appel du paiement (compatible avec tout moyen de paiement carte, virement, prélèvement….) et la réconciliation automatique.

Résultat, la solution permet de redonner la main d’une part, aux consommateurs finaux sur le paiement de leurs factures et d’autre part, aux banques émettrices de valoriser la banque à distance avec de nouveaux services, et enfin, pour le facturier une optimisation des coûts via une meilleure captation des paiements et une meilleure réconciliation.

2/ Le paiement en plusieurs fois

La pandémie a accéléré le recours au paiement en plusieurs fois. Depuis le confinement, les entreprises spécialisées dans le paiement en trois ou quatre fois ont ainsi vu leur activité croître, voire exploser dans certains cas. Selon le cabinet McKinsey, les sociétés offrant ce type de service (« point of sell financing ») connaissent ces dernières années « une croissance de 40 à 50 % ».

C’est le cas notamment de la société Klarna dont la valorisation atteint des sommets avec plus de 10 milliards de dollars, supérieure à celles de certaines grandes banques européennes.

Une baisse de l’usage des cartes de crédit / revolving et une hausse du recours au paiement en plusieurs fois, directement intégrée dans l’expérience d’achat et au sein d’un environnement marchand est un changement de paradigme. En effet, les grands marchands proposent de plus en plus ces possibilités de paiement en plusieurs fois ou encore de paiement différé.

En France, ces offres sont popularisées par des acteurs tels que Floa, Oney, Cofidis, Cofinoga et plus récemment de nouveaux acteurs tels que Alma, Cresh ou Pledg pour le B2C ou encore Finexkap pour le B2B. Mastercard les accompagne via des partenariats commerciaux et technologiques.

3/ L’Open banking

L’Open Banking est un des principaux mouvements structurants du marché. De nombreux cas d’usages ont été permis grâce à l’accès aux comptes ou l’initiation de paiement (rechargement de compte / carte, initiation d’un virement pour payer chez un commerçant, scoring et éligibilité crédit instantané, gestion de la facturation, agrégation de comptes et gestion budgétaire…).

Mastercard investit dans l’open banking depuis plusieurs années, notamment avec le lancement en 2019 d’un ensemble complet de solutions en Europe (Open Banking Connect, Open Banking Protect, Open Banking Resolve). Plus récemment, Mastercard a accéléré sa stratégie open banking avec le rachat de Finicity, un des principaux fournisseurs nord-américains d’accès en temps réel aux données et aux informations financières.

4/ Le tap on phone

Les TPE/PME qui, rappelons-le représentent 90% des entreprises à travers le monde, ont besoin d’avoir des solutions qui leur permettent d’accepter les paiements à moindre coût, sur leur téléphone. C’est ce qu’offre le Tap on phone Mastercard qui accompagne le lancement de pilotes tant sur le volet technique et de certification que sur le volet déploiement commercial. Cette technologie sans contact est totalement pertinente actuellement car elle aide à la digitalisation des commerçants. De plus, pour les grands commerçants, le Tap on phone est une solution de « queue busting » car il offre également la possibilité de payer sur la tablette d’un vendeur en magasin et donc de réduire les files d’attentes en caisse

Cette année 2021 que nous voyons comme l’année de la consolidation et du la scalabilité nous permettra j’en suis sûre d’être le partenaire du développement des champions européens de demain !

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française !

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Succès! Vous recevrez bientôt votre première newsletter!