Fintech: assets on the blockchain, the “tokenization” revolution underway, according to PWC

May 21 | Other, Sector views

PwC carried out a study on the contribution of tokenization in different sectors. The document presents concrete use cases of tokenization in the financial sector, in corporate finance and in the industrial and mass distribution sector as well as 4 related challenges of scaling up.

Tokenization, or digital representation of assets on the blockchain, allows traceability, immutability, uniqueness of transactions and permanent accessibility. It has extended to practical applications in the real economy of the financial and non-financial sector.

The document presents concrete use cases of tokenization:

  • The financial sector is gradually resorting to tokenization of assets such as bank deposits, financial securities, commodities for collateral settlement, multi-party trade financing, interbank cash settlements etc.
  • Corporate finance uses tokenization to make financial operations easier to manage
  • The industrial and mass distribution sector backs the digital asset to a physical object, thus serving as a certificate of digital ownership and making it possible to track it throughout its life cycle.

as well as 4 related challenges of scaling up:

  • Adaptation of regulations
  • The development of a secondary market
  • Strengthening interoperability
  • Promoting adoption

DISCOVER THE SUMMARY DOCUMENT

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Fintech : actifs sur la blockchain, la révolution en marche de la « tokenisation », selon PWC

Mai 21, 2024 | Autres, Vues du secteur

PwC a réalisé une étude portant sur l’apport de la tokenisation dans différents secteurs. Le document présente les cas d’usages concrets de la tokenisation dans le secteur financier, dans la finance d’entreprise et dans le secteur de l’industrie et la grande distribution ainsi que 4 défis liés du passage à l’échelle

La tokenisation, ou représentation numérique des actifs sur la blockchain, permet une traçabilité, immuabilité, unicité des transactions et accessibilité permanente. Elle s’est étendue à des applications pratiques dans l’économie réelle du secteur financier et non financier.

Le document présente les cas d’usages concrets de la tokenisation :

  • Le secteur financier a progressivement recours à la tokenisation d’actifs tels que les dépôts bancaires, titres financiers, matières premières pour le règlement de garanties, le financement commercial multipartite, les règlements de trésorerie interbancaires etc.
  • La finance d’entreprise utilise la tokenisation pour faciliter la gestion des opérations financières
  • Le secteur de l’industrie et de la grande distribution adosse l’actif numérique à un objet physique, servant ainsi de certificat de propriété numérique et permettant de le suivre tout au long de son cycle de vie.

ainsi que 4 défis liés du passage à l’échelle :

  • L’adaptation de la réglementation
  • Le développement d’un marché secondaire
  • Le renforcement de l’interopérabilité
  • La promotion à l’adoption

DÉCOUVRIR LE DOCUMENT DE SYNTHÈSE

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française!

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Vous vous êtes enregistré avec succès!