Select a page

Alain Clot: "FinTech, a sector of French excellence"

April 29, 2019 | Publications

Interview of Alain Clot by Scribeo for The Point - case Fintech boom

Fintechs are experiencing strong growth. France relies on its strengths to bring out its champions. Explanations with the president of France FinTech, Alain Clot.

SCRIBEO. - How would you define fintech?

Alain CLOT. - These are innovative companies in the financial sector, dealing with banking, insurance and asset management services. But the definition may vary from country to country. The term is old, but the phenomenon really appeared about ten years ago, with a marked acceleration around 2004-2005. 

From the rise of online banking to the need for mobility that we know today. The first wave of fintech mainly concerned individuals, with specific service offers, such as mobile payment or crowdfunding.

Beyond simple uses, they offer a wider range of services, based on a more significant technological component (Artificial Intelligence, BlockChain, Internet of Objects). We are witnessing a form of data liberation which makes it possible to create all kinds of new services.

What are the particularities of France?

First-generation online banks, the bearers of a real breakthrough, developed very early in France, at the end of the 90s.

Fifteen years later, a new generation of innovative financial services has appeared, adapted to new uses, enabled by mobility and data technologies. Rapid changes which have pushed the regulator to adapt and be more favorable to innovation.

In this area, France can rely on an exceptional pool of skills in the two relevant fields, finance and cognitive sciences, as well as on the presence of major leaders in the financial industry. It is in France that we find the most incubators and artificial intelligence laboratories in Europe.

Regulators and the legal framework are very important. How does this translate?

Finance is service more than regulation. The role of regulators is the stability of financial institutions and the protection of consumers. From one country to another this can apply differently, with traditionally a more flexible posture in the Anglo-Saxon countries.

In France, we had a fairly legal and more protective vision for consumers, but less favorable to the emergence of new products. This has evolved with the development of dedicated fintech teams at the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF) and the Prudential Control and Resolution Authority (ACPR) and a practice of continuous exchanges with entrepreneurs, from the first developments, which avoids the risk of being faced with a refusal of approval at the end of these. From now on, most of the regulations applying to financial services are of European origin.

How are these changes perceived by the population?

Customer demand is growing. Especially among those under 35, who are very familiar with digital services, but not only. Already 15% of French people use the services of fintechs. The most used services are payment, transfer and fundraising applications, price and service comparators, crowdfunding.

What are the key figures for the sector?

France has around 500 fintechs, the sector already employing 10 people. 000 million euros were raised by our start-ups in 368, an increase of 2018% compared to 15. France is well represented in the various rankings, with three fintechs in the top 2017 of KPMG: October, + Simple.fr and Shift Technology. The list of our champions also includes United Credit, Lydia, Ledger and Alan. Our fintechs are resolutely internationally oriented, more than half of them already operating outside France and 100% are aiming for a foreign establishment by 70.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Alain Clot : «La fintech, secteur d’excellence française»

Apr 29, 2019 | Parutions

Interview d’Alain Clot par Scribeo pour Le Point – dossier Boom des Fintech

Les fintech connaissent une forte croissance. La France s’appuie sur ses atouts pour faire émerger ses champions. Explications avec le président de France FinTech, Alain Clot.

SCRIBEO. – Comment définiriez-vous la fintech ?

Alain CLOT. – Il s’agit des entreprises innovantes du secteur financier, touchant aux services bancaires, d’assurance et de gestion d’actif. Mais la définition peut varier d’un pays à l’autre. Le terme est ancien, mais le phénomène est réellement apparu il y a une dizaine d’années, avec une nette accélération vers 2004-2005. 

De l’essor des banques en ligne au besoin de mobilité que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. La première vague de fintech a concerné essentiellement les particuliers, avec des offres de service spécifiques, tels que le paiement mobile ou le financement participatif.

Au delà des usages simples, elles proposent une offre élargie de services, s’appuyant sur une composante technologique plus significative (Intelligence Artificielle, BlockChain, Internet des Objet). Nous assistons à une forme de libération de la donnée qui permet de créer toutes sortes de nouveaux services.

Quelles sont les particularités de la France ?

Les banques en ligne de première génération, porteuses d’une réelle rupture, se sont développées très tôt en France, dès la fin des années 90.

Une quinzaine d’années plus tard est apparue une nouvelle génération de services financiers innovants, adaptés aux nouveaux usages, permis par les technologies de la mobilité et des données. Des changements rapides qui ont poussé le régulateur à s’adapter et à se montrer plus favorable à l’innovation.

La France peut, dans ce domaine, s‘appuyer  sur un gisement exceptionnel de compétences dans les deux domaines pertinents, finance et sciences cognitives, ainsi que sur la présence de grands leaders de l’industrie financière. C’est en France que l’on trouve, en Europe, le plus d’incubateurs et de laboratoires d’intelligence artificielle.

Les régulateurs et le cadre légal ont une forte importance. Comment cela se traduit-il ?

La finance, c’est du service plus de la réglementation. Les régulateurs ont pour mission la stabilité des établissements financiers et la protection des consommateurs. D’un pays à l’autre cela peut s’appliquer différemment, avec traditionnellement une posture plus souple dans les pays anglo-saxons.

En France, nous avions une vision assez juridique et plus protectrice par rapport aux consommateurs mais moins favorable à l’émergence de nouveaux produits. Cela a évolué avec le développement d’équipes dédiées à la fintech chez l’Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF) et l’Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) et d’une pratique d’échanges en continu avec les entrepreneurs, dès les premiers développements, ce qui évite le risque d’être confronté à un refus d’agrément à la fin de ceux-ci. Désormais, l’essentiel des règlements s’appliquant aux services financiers est d’origine européenne.

Comment ces changements sont-ils perçus par la population ?

La demande client progresse. En particulier chez les moins de 35 ans, très familiers de services numériques, mais pas seulement. Déjà 15% des français recourent aux services des fintechs. Les services les plus utilisés sont les applications de paiement, de transfert et les cagnottes, les comparateurs de prix et de services, le financement participatif.

Quels sont les chiffres clés du secteur ?

La France compte environ 500 fintech, le secteur employant déjà 10 000 personnes. 368 millions d’euros ont été levés par nos start-ups en 2018, soit une hausse de 15 % par rapport à 2017. La France est bien représentée dans les divers classements, avec trois  fintechs dans le top 100 de KPMG : October,  +Simple.fr et Shift Technology. La liste de nos champions comprend également United Credit, Lydia, Ledger ou encore Alan. Nos fintechs sont résolument tournées vers l‘international, plus de la moitié d’entre elles exerçant déjà hors de France et 70% visent une implantation étrangère à horizon 2019.

#48

#48

Rendez-vous en fin de mail pour revivre le 1er semestre 2019 !