Select a page

Banking, Insurance, Savings… 7 years later, where are the fintechs?

January 31, 2017 | Publications

France had less than 100 fintechs in 2015. Seven years later, there are nearly 10 times more. Banking services, insurance, asset management, payments… All sectors of finance are affected by this tech surge.
Full throttle. In 2022, French fintechs continued to grow. In its annual barometer, the France Fintech association lists more than 146 fundraisers. This is 30% more than in 2021. Amount of funding collected: 2,9 billion euros. Or an average ticket of 20 million euros.

The sums collected place France in first place within the European Union. France is also illustrated by the number of "unicorns", these companies valued at more than 1 billion euros. The country now has 10. That is 4 more than last year (Qonto, Payfit, Spendesk and Younited).

Still according to France Fintech, the small world of fintech today represents more than 40 jobs. And the gaze of these actors is now turning to the international. A sign of the dynamism of the ecosystem, more than a quarter of French fintechs are already established abroad.

Weaknesses

In growth, the sector however experienced a year 2022 at two speeds. After 2,2 billion euros raised in the first half, financing evaporated in the second half. The amounts collected over this period fell to 715 million euros following the deterioration of the economic environment in the United States and in the euro zone.

Despite its excellent performance, the sector remains fragile. A high proportion of players are still “in the start-up phase”, notes France Fintech. And it shows: barely a third of French fintechs today generate more than 1 million euros in turnover. And only 27% of them say they are already profitable.

[...]

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Banque, Assurance, Epargne… 7 ans après, où en sont les fintechs ?

Jan 3, 2023 | Parutions

La France comptait moins de 100 fintechs en 2015. Sept ans plus tard, elles sont près de 10 fois plus. Services bancaires, assurances, gestion d’actifs, paiements… Tous les secteurs de la finance sont touchés par cette déferlante tech.
Plein gaz. En 2022, les fintechs tricolores ont poursuivi leur essor. Dans son baromètre annuel, l’association France Fintech recense ainsi plus de 146 levées de fonds. C’est 30% de plus qu’en 2021. Montant des financements collectés : 2,9 milliards d’euros. Soit un ticket moyen à 20 millions d’euros.

Les sommes réunies classent la France en première place au sein de l’Union européenne. L’Hexagone s’illustre également sur le nombre de « licornes », ces sociétés valorisées à plus de 1 milliard d’euros. Le pays en compte aujourd’hui 10. Soit 4 de plus que l’année dernière (Qonto, Payfit, Spendesk et Younited).

Toujours selon France Fintech, le petit monde de la fintech représente aujourd’hui plus de 40 000 emplois. Et le regard de ces acteurs se tourne désormais vers l’international. Signe du dynamisme de l’écosystème, plus d’un quart des fintechs françaises seraient déjà implantées à l’étranger.

Fragilités

En croissance, le secteur a toutefois connu une année 2022 à deux vitesses. Après 2,2 milliards d’euros levés au premier semestre, les financements se sont évaporés au second semestre. Les montants collectés sur cette période sont tombés à 715 millions d’euros suite à la dégradation de l’environnement économique aux Etats-Unis et en zone euro.

Malgré ses excellentes performances le secteur demeure fragile. Une proportion élevée des acteurs sont encore « en phase d’amorçage », note France Fintech. Et cela se voit : à peine un tiers des fintechs françaises réalisent aujourd’hui plus de 1 million d’euros de chiffre d’affaires. Et seules 27% d’entre elles se déclarent déjà rentables.

[…]

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française!

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Vous vous êtes enregistré avec succès!