Select a page

Political courage of analytical sovereignty

October 14, 2020 | News, grandstands

Analytical sovereignty makes it possible to guarantee the economic and social freedom of countries and of individuals, while guaranteeing a certain balance between nations in order to avoid any dominant position that destroys value.

The emergence of digital tools during periods of confinement and teleworking, discussions onStopCovid application or the choice of a foreign actor to accommodation the country's health data, paradoxically had the advantage of massively sensitizing the general public on the subject of digital sovereignty, hitherto reserved in reality to a relatively small number. An understanding of the ins and outs of the operation of these tools today requires talking about analytical sovereignty, which more accurately describes the mechanisms and issues of this sovereignty which relates to user data and not to software functionalities.

Indeed, digital tools are, among other things, vectors for collecting personal data from the individuals who use them. These data can then be analyzed and / or used within more or less advanced numerical models to describe a situation, understand its mechanisms, or even provide prediction elements. One can easily imagine the added value of such results for purposes of marketing, advertising targeting, or even more sadly, opinion manipulation. We then understand the importance of analytical sovereignty on the part of France and more strategically the European Union to guarantee the economic and social freedom of countries as well as that of individuals, while guaranteeing a certain balance between nations in order to to avoid any dominant position that destroys value.

While we regularly advance the technical argument to justify the choice of a foreign actor, often powerful, to meet the needs of a country of the Union, the choice raises much more of a political courage. The courage to support, to accompany, to make grow, or quite simply to believe in its own actors, even if it means accepting to answer entirely to the Specifications and the needs of the country in a longer time frame. It must be emphasized that Europe is also a well of talents and skills that should be put to good use as a matter of urgency. Time is playing against the EU through the acceleration effect of technological developments observed for a decade, widening every day a little more the gaps between the technological maturity of European tools and those of dominant foreign players.

All in all, this is good news. Europe has actors whose skills are waiting to be deployed freely with the unconditional support of their countries. Analytical sovereignty has never been so easy to access, through a courageous political decision… quite simply!

SOURCE> Newspaper

#117

#117

Goodbye to 2021, a record year for fintech! 👋

Courage politique d’une souveraineté analytique

Oct 14, 2020 | Actualité, Tribunes

La souveraineté analytique permet de garantir la liberté économique et sociale des pays et celles des individus, tout en garantissant un certain équilibre entre les nations afin d’éviter toute position dominante destructrice de valeur.

L’émergence d’outils numériques en période de confinement et de télétravail, les discussions sur l’application StopCovid ou encore le choix d’un acteur étranger pour l’hébergement des données de santé du pays, ont eu paradoxalement l’avantage de sensibiliser massivement le grand public sur le sujet de la souveraineté numérique jusque-là réservé en réalité à un nombre relativement restreint. Une compréhension des tenants et des aboutissants du fonctionnement de ces outils impose aujourd’hui de parler de souveraineté analytique, qui décrit plus justement les mécanismes et les enjeux de cette souveraineté qui porte sur les données des utilisateurs et non pas sur les fonctionnalités logiciels.

En effet, les outils numériques sont entre autres des vecteurs de collecte de données personnelles des individus qui les utilisent. Ces données peuvent ensuite être analysées et/ou utilisées au sein de modèles numériques plus ou moins avancés pour décrire une situation, en comprendre des mécanismes, voire en apporter des éléments de prédiction. On imagine facilement la valeur ajoutée de tels résultats à des fins de marketing, de ciblage publicitaire, voire plus tristement de manipulation d’opinion. On comprend alors l’importance d’une souveraineté analytique de la part de la France et plus stratégiquement de l’Union Européenne pour garantir la liberté économique et sociale des pays ainsi que celles des individus, tout en garantissant un certain équilibre entre les nations afin d’éviter toute position dominante destructrice de valeur.

Alors qu’on avance régulièrement l’argument technique pour justifier le choix d’un acteur étranger, souvent puissant, pour répondre aux besoins d’un pays de l’Union, le choix soulève bien plus d’un courage politique. Le courage de soutenir, d’accompagner, de faire grandir, ou tout simplement de croire en ses propres acteurs, quitte à accepter de répondre entièrement au cahier des charges et aux besoins du pays dans un lapse de temps plus long. Force est de souligner que l’Europe est également un puits de talents et de compétences à valoriser urgemment. Le temps joue contre l’UE par l’effet d’accélération des développements technologiques observé depuis une décennie, élargissant chaque jour un peu plus les écarts entre la maturité technologique des outils européens et ceux d’acteurs étrangers dominants.

Tout compte fait, c’est une bonne nouvelle. L’Europe possède des acteurs dont les compétences n’attendent que d’être déployées librement avec le soutien inconditionnel de leurs pays. La souveraineté analytique n’aura jamais été si simple d’accès, par une décision politique courageuse… tout simplement !

SOURCE > Journal Du Net