Select a page

In 2020, French Fintech is doing much better than resisting!

January 31, 2017 | News, Publications

“France Fintech, the professional association of French Fintech, Insurtech and Regtech, publishes its annual fundraising barometer. 2020 will have been a year with an atypical profile, reflecting a global economic environment strongly impacted by the crisis generated by the coronavirus pandemic. »

On the whole, companies in the sector resisted well and raised € 828,2 million in 63 transactions, an increase of 18,5% compared to 2019.

2020: a "three-beat waltz"

The year got off to a strong start with major deals such as Qonto and Lydia, both of which welcomed international investors. 253 million euros were raised in the first quarter, or 36% of the total amount for 2019, as an extension of the strong growth of recent years.

From the second quarter, the movement slowed down significantly due to the consequences of the first confinement and the resulting climate of uncertainty. The gradual deconfinement made it possible to restore a certain momentum with 123,2 million euros raised in June. Summer and autumn were marked by the wait, apart from the significant fundraising of 100 million euros from Dataiku (financial decision-making tool by data) in August.

The year ends, as it started, on a very positive trend. The amounts invested in December (143,9 million euros) are close to those of January with in particular three large-scale operations: Luko, Pigment and Lydia, which thus completes its financing round at the start of the year to reach 112 million over the year. overall of the year, the most important B series for a French FinTech.

In this extremely disturbed context, French Fintechs post a good annual performance with 828,2 million euros. They do significantly better than the European market (-7%) and represent an increased proportion of fundraising in the digital sector in France (15% of fundraising in 2020 against 13% in 2019).

Acceleration and development of new uses

The analysis of transactions reveals some interesting trends that confirm the maturity of the ecosystem:

  • the very object of these surveys, centered on commercial development, the diversification of models, a more assertive technological component and internationalization;
  • the increase in the average ticket (+ 20,6%) with a continuation of seed operations (43,5% of fundraising, 37,1% for series A);
  • the ability to raise important tickets: three operations of more than 100 million euros;
  • the arrival of several international investors (United States, United Kingdom, China, Singapore in particular) which demonstrates the attractiveness of the players and of the French market, a privileged gateway to Europe;
  • finally, marked growth in the valuations of leading players, which thus reduced part of the gap compared to European and American champions.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

En 2020, la Fintech française fait bien mieux que résister !

Jan 14, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

“France Fintech, l’association professionnelle des Fintech, Insurtech et Regtech françaises, publie son baromètre annuel des levées de fonds. 2020 aura été une année au profil atypique, à l’image d’un environnement économique global fortement impacté par la crise générée par la pandémie du coronavirus.”

Les entreprises du secteur ont dans l’ensemble bien résisté et levé 828,2 millions d’euros en 63 opérations, soit une progression de 18,5 % par rapport à 2019.

2020 : une « valse à trois temps »

L’année avait vigoureusement démarré avec d’importantes opérations comme celles de Qonto et Lydia, qui ont toutes deux accueilli des investisseurs de dimension internationale. 253 millions d’euros ont été levés au premier trimestre, soit 36 % du montant total de 2019, en prolongement de la forte croissance des dernières années.

A partir du deuxième trimestre, le mouvement a significativement ralenti du fait des conséquences du premier confinement et du climat d’incertitude qui en a résulté. Le déconfinement progressif a permis de rétablir une certaine dynamique avec 123,2 millions d’euros levés au mois de juin. L’été et l’automne ont été marqués par l’attentisme, hormis l’importante levée de 100 millions d’euros de Dataiku (outil de décision financière par la donnée) en août.

L’année se termine, comme elle avait débuté, sur une tendance très positive. Les montants investis en décembre (143,9 millions d’euros) avoisinent ceux de janvier avec notamment trois opérations d’envergure : Luko, Pigment et Lydia, qui complète ainsi son tour de financement du début d’année pour atteindre 112 millions sur l’ensemble de l’année, soit la plus importante série B pour une Fintech française.

Dans ce contexte extrêmement perturbé, les Fintech françaises signent une belle performance annuelle avec 828,2 millions d’euros. Elles font nettement mieux que le marché européen (- 7%) et représentent une proportion accrue des levées du secteur du numérique en France (15 % des levées de fonds en 2020 contre 13 % en 2019).

Accélération et développement de nouveaux usages

L’analyse des transactions révèle certaines tendances intéressantes qui confirment l’arrivée à maturité de l’écosystème :

  • l’objet lui même de ces levées, centré sur le développement commercial, la diversification des modèles, une composante technologique plus affirmée et l’internationalisation ;
  • l’accroissement du ticket moyen (+ 20,6 %) avec un maintien des opérations d’amorçage (43,5 % des levées, 37,1 % pour les séries A) ;
  • la capacité à lever des tickets importants : trois opérations de plus de 100 millions d’euros ;
  • l’arrivée de plusieurs investisseurs internationaux (Etats-Unis, Royaume-Uni, Chine, Singapour notamment) qui démontre l’attractivité des acteurs et du marché français, porte d’entrée privilégiée en Europe ;
  • enfin, une croissance marquée des valorisations des acteurs leaders qui réduisent ainsi une partie de l’écart par rapport aux champions européens et américains.

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française !

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Succès! Vous recevrez bientôt votre première newsletter!