Select a page

Opinion⎥Fintech: making France “the place to be”

January 31, 2017 | Publications

Discover the article Opinion⎥Fintech: making France "the place to be", by Alexandra Kritchmar in Les Echos.

[...]

Since 2016, the Brexit saga has continued to fuel the fears of The City. These uncertainties are all the more legitimate in view of the prospect of a "hard Brexit", a dreaded scenario that would hit British fintechs hard by depriving them of their "financial passport". While the European chessboard is in the process of being redefined, France must do well.

The banking license at the heart of concerns

Revolut, TransferWise, Funding Circle… These British unicorns have enabled London to consolidate its position as the European capital of fintech. A strategic and coveted place that a "hard Brexit" could well undermine given the size of this new financial industry which, in the United Kingdom, has no less than 60 talents from all over the world. In addition, with an increase of 000% compared to 18, the 2017 billion euros raised in 3,3 by the British fintech attest to the confidence of investors ... and reassure.

However, this stability could only be short-lived if Brexit were to deprive these fintechs of their "financial passport" since in the event of an exit without an agreement from the Union, they would no longer be authorized to send their products and services. to the 500 million consumers of the single market, for lack of European banking authorization.

[...]

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Opinion⎥Fintech : faire de la France “the place to be”

Jan 19, 2020 | Parutions

Découvrez l’article Opinion⎥Fintech : faire de la France “the place to be”, par Alexandra Kritchmar dans Les Echos.

[…]

Depuis 2016, la saga Brexit n’a cessé de nourrir les craintes de La City. Des incertitudes d’autant plus légitimes depuis la perspective d’un « hard Brexit », scénario redouté qui toucherait de plein fouet les fintechs britanniques en les privant de leur « passeport financier ». Alors que l’échiquier européen est en passe d’être redéfini, la France doit tirer son épingle du jeu.

La licence bancaire au cœur des préoccupations

Revolut, TransferWise, Funding Circle… ces licornes britanniques ont permis à Londres d’asseoir sa position de capitale européenne de la fintech. Une place stratégique et convoitée qu’un « hard Brexit » pourrait bien mettre à mal compte tenu de l’envergure de cette nouvelle industrie financière qui, au Royaume-Uni, compte pas moins de 60 000 talents provenant du monde entier. En outre, avec une progression de 18% par rapport à 2017, les 3,3 milliards d’euros levés en 2018 par la fintech britannique attestent de la confiance des investisseurs… et rassurent.

Or, cette stabilité pourrait n’être que de courte durée si le Brexit venait à priver ces fintechs de leur « passeport financier » puisqu’en cas de sortie sans accord de l’Union, elles ne seraient plus habilitées à adresser leurs produits et services aux 500 millions de consommateurs du marché unique, faute d’agrément bancaire européen.

[…]

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...