Select a page

French fintech: 455 million euros raised in the first half of 1

July 1, 2020 | Barometers, Press Releases

Paris, the 30 June 2020

France FinTech, the professional association of French fintech, insurtech and regtech, publishes its biannual fundraising barometer.

French fintech fundraising, sustained activity in June 2020

Data from June 2020 demonstrate that the COVID crisis has not interrupted capital raising operations. With 123,2 million euros raised in 5 operations, the average ticket is over 30 million euros.

The lift volume is significantly higher than the previous two months (€ 56,7M in April 2020, € 22M in May 2020), very marked by the wait-and-see attitude of the players.

“It is of course far too early to conclude that the impact of the COVID 19 crisis on capital fintech financing is behind us, but the analysis for June is rather encouraging. Investors still seem to consider that our ecosystem has great development potential. Trend to be confirmed in the coming months ” comments Alain Clot, President of France FinTech

Cumulatively between January 1 and June 30, 2020, 455 million euros were invested for 30 operations, for an average of 15,2 million euros per fundraising. This figure is close to that of the first half of 2019 (508,3 million euros raised in 30 operations)(1), which had been strongly marked by the lifting of Kyriba for 142 million euros.

The year 2020 has had a promising start in particular with the announcement of Lydia (40M €), followed by Qonto (104M €), Cybel Angel (33M €), Alan (50M €) and Swile - ex Lunchr (70M €) . Note the arrival of global investors which tends to confirm the attractiveness of our ecosystem. The trend suggests that the 2020 vintage could ultimately be less impacted by the crisis than one might fear.

A dynamic sector: some data on the ecosystem

  • Nearly 600 fintech, insurtech and regtech make up the French panorama. 
  • 3 French unicorns (Ivalua, Kyriba, Dataiku)
  • 2nd sector in terms of fundraising in 2019 (after Healthtech)(2) 
  • After operational services in 2019 (42,7%), the Banking / PFM category is, for the moment, the most important in value (38,3%), followed by payment services (22,6%) and insurance (16,7%).
  • With operational services remaining to date, the largest category in terms of volume (23,3%), tied with payment services.
  • 8 players are part of Next40 (20%) and 17 of FrenchTech120 (13,8%), making it the most represented sector.
  • Nearly 700 partnerships concluded(3) in 2019 within the French fintech ecosystem.

Besides of course the consequences of the Covid 19 crisis, the challenges of this year are multiple: internationalization, viability and diversification of offers. All these themes will be dealt with during our big annual event, Fintech R: Evolution next Thursday, October 15 at Station F, subtitled Beyond Frontiers. 


(1) Source: France FinTech 2019

(2) Source: In Extenso 2019

(3) Source: JDN 2019

See also:


 

About France FinTech:

Created in 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech brings together companies using operational, technological or economic, innovative and disruptive models, aimed at addressing existing or emerging issues in the financial services industry and representing the main components of the Faculty.
The association's mission is to promote excellence in the sector in France and abroad and to represent French fintechs to public authorities, the regulator and the ecosystem. It is chaired by Alain Clot and Kristen Charvin is its general delegate. Its steering committee brings together the founders and directors of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

contacts: presse@francefintech.org

Kristen charvin
France FinTech - General Delegate
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Fintech françaises : 455 millions d’euros levés au 1er semestre 2020

Juil 1, 2020 | Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 30 juin 2020

France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech, insurtech et regtech françaises, publie son baromètre semestriel des levées de fonds.

Levées des fintech françaises, une activité soutenue en juin 2020

Les données de juin 2020 démontrent que la crise de la COVID n’a pas interrompu les opérations de levées de capitaux. Avec 123,2 millions d’euros levés en 5 opérations, le ticket moyen s’établit à un niveau supérieur à 30 millions d’euros.

Le volume des levées est significativement supérieur à celui des deux mois précédents (56,7M€ en avril 2020, 22M€ en mai 2020), très marqués par l’attentisme des acteurs.

“Il est bien sur bien trop tôt pour conclure que l’impact de la crise de la COVID 19 sur le financement des fintech en capital est derrière nous, mais l’analyse du mois de juin est plutôt encourageante. Les investisseurs semblent toujours considérer que notre écosystème présente un beau potentiel de développement. Tendance à confirmer dans les mois qui viennent” commente Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech

En cumulé entre le 1er janvier et le 30 juin 2020, 455 millions d’euros ont été investis pour 30 opérations, soit une moyenne de 15,2 millions d’euros par levée. Ce chiffre se rapproche de celui du premier semestre 2019 (508,3 millions d’euros levés en 30 opérations)(1), qui avait été fortement marqué par la levée de Kyriba pour 142 millions d’euros.

L’année 2020 a connu un début prometteur notamment avec l’annonce de Lydia (40M€), suivi de Qonto (104M€), Cybel Angel (33M€), Alan (50M€) et Swile – ex Lunchr (70M€). A noter, l’arrivée d’investisseurs de dimension mondiale qui tend à confirmer l’attractivité de notre écosystème. La tendance laisse penser que le millésime 2020 pourrait être finalement moins impacté par la crise que l’on pouvait le craindre.

Un secteur dynamique : quelques données sur l’écosystème

  • Près de 600 fintech, insurtech et regtech composent le panorama français. 
  • 3 licornes francaises (Ivalua, Kyriba, Dataiku)
  • 2ème secteur en terme de levées de fonds en 2019 (après les Healthtech)(2) 
  • Après les services opérationnels en 2019 (42,7%), la catégorie Banking/PFM est, pour le moment, la plus importante en valeur (38,3%), suivi des services de paiement (22,6%) et des assurtech (16,7%).
  • Les services opérationnels demeurant à date, la catégorie la plus importante en volume (23,3%) à égalité avec les services de paiement.
  • 8 acteurs font partie du Next40 (20%) et 17 du FrenchTech120 (13,8%), en faisant le secteur le plus représenté.
  • Près de 700 partenariats conclus(3) en 2019 au sein de l’écosystème fintech français.

Outre bien sûr les conséquences de la crise de la Covid 19, les défis de cette année sont multiples : internationalisation, viabilisation et diversification des offres. Tous ces thèmes seront traités lors de notre grand événement annuel, Fintech R:Evolution le jeudi 15 octobre prochain à Station F, sous-titré Beyond Frontiers. 


(1) Source : France FinTech 2019

(2) Source : In Extenso 2019

(3) Source : JDN 2019

Consultez également :


 

A propos de France FinTech :

Créée en 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech fédère les sociétés utilisant des modèles opérationnels, technologiques ou économiques, innovants et disruptifs, visant à traiter des problématiques existantes ou émergentes de l’industrie des services financiers et représentant les principales composantes de la filière.
L’association s’est donnée pour mission de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les fintech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. Elle est présidée par Alain Clot et Kristen Charvin en est sa déléguée générale . Son comité directeur rassemble les fondateurs et dirigeants d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

Contacts : presse@francefintech.org

Kristen Charvin
France FinTech – Déléguée générale
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org