Select a page

"Green" Fintech: announcement effect or underlying trend?

July 21, 2020 | Publications

Often overused, does the notion of “green” in finance keep its promises today?

Among the proliferation of French fintechs, new startups dedicated to green finance are starting to emerge. After crowdfunding platforms like We do good ou Lita.co, bots helping to find sustainable investments or startups facilitating the calculation of its carbon footprint such as Greenly, it is the turn of the neobanks dedicated to responsible finance to make their appearance. The green is in the spotlight but what is it really hiding?

[...]

The European Union and France on the bridge

« A classification of sustainable activities or taxonomy has just been adopted by the Council of the European Union, which is a very important step«  , explains Alain Clot, president of France FinTech. " This political agreement classifies the different economic activities according to their contribution to the low carbon economy transition ”, Gabrielle Siry continues, but it will not come into force before 2022. Far from being trivial, this definition will provide a common definition at European level of what a "green" investment is. " Other texts, such as the European regulation known as Disclosure, want to impose mandatory reporting of the harmful impact of investments by financial institutions. These texts must be articulated between them ” , continues the economist. All this work, which follows on from the 2015 law on energy transition, will certainly take time. The problem is that the " generation of "millennials" is not ready to wait " , continues Alain Clot.

[...]

Millennials, a target of choice

"The generation of under 30s is very sensitive to sustainable development, much more than previous generations", Alain Clot analysis. Its consumption patterns are evolving towards the purchase of organic products, in short circuits and more generally towards consumption that is as environmentally friendly as possible.

Digitally fed since their birth, they adopt different uses from their parents. "They no longer hesitate to change supplier when the services no longer suit them" , emphasizes Alain Clot and are great influencers. Now they are the ones who pass on their knowledge to their parents and grandparents. By combining digital and sustainable development, green finance is a formidable market for startups and traditional financial institutions. The royal texts should do a little cleaning to give it a little more legitimacy.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Fintech “green” : effet d’annonce ou tendance de fond ?

Juil 21, 2020 | Parutions

Souvent galvaudée, la notion de “green” dans la finance tient-elle aujourd’hui ses promesses ?

Parmi le foisonnement de fintech françaises, de nouvelles startups dédiées à la finance verte commencent à émerger. Après les plateformes de crowdfunding comme We Do Good ou Lita.co, les bots aidant à trouver des investissements durables ou les startups facilitant le calcul de son empreinte carbone comme Greenly, c’est au tour des néobanques dédiées à la finance responsable de faire leur apparition. Le green est à l’honneur mais que cache t-il vraiment ?

[…]

L’Union Européenne et la France sur le pont

« Une classification des activités durables ou taxonomie vient d’être adoptée par le Conseil de l’Union européenne, ce qui constitue une étape très importante«  , explique Alain Clot, président de France FinTech. « Cet accord politique classifie les différentes activités économiques en fonction de leur contribution à la transition économie bas carbone » , poursuit Gabrielle Siry, mais il n’entrera pas en vigueur avant 2022. Loin d’être anodine, cette définition permettra de disposer d’une définition commune au niveau européen de ce qu’est un investissement « vert ». « D’autres textes, comme le règlement européen dit Disclosure, veulent imposer un reporting obligatoire de l’impact néfaste des investissements des institutions financières. Il faut que ces textes s’articulent entre eux » , poursuit l’économiste. Tout ce travail, qui fait suite à la loi relative à la transition énergétique de 2015, prendra certainement du temps. Le problème c’est que la « génération des « millennials » n’est pas prête à attendre » , poursuit Alain Clot.

[…]

Les “millenials”, une cible de choix

« La génération des moins de 30 ans est très sensible au développement durable, bien plus que les générations précédentes » , analyse Alain Clot. Ses modes de consommation évoluent vers l’achat de produits bio, en circuits courts et plus généralement vers une consommation aussi respectueuse que possible de l’environnement.

Biberonnés au numérique depuis leur naissance, ils adoptent des usages différents de leurs parents. « Ils n’hésitent plus à changer de fournisseur quand les services ne leur conviennent plus » , souligne Alain Clot et sont de grands influenceurs. Désormais ce sont eux qui transmettent leur savoir à leurs parents et grands-parents.  En alliant numérique et développement durable, la finance verte est un formidable marché pour les startups comme les institutions financières traditionnelles. Les textes régaliens devraient faire un peu de ménage pour lui donner un peu plus de légitimité.

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...

Conquête #6

Conquête#6 - Comment encourager l'épargne grâce à une UX incroyable ? - Raphaël Ronot (Cashbee)Raphaël Ronot est CMO/Designer chez Cashbee, une solution d'épargne via app. La société a levé plus de 1M€ depuis sa création.