Select a page

France FinTech takes stock of its carbon emissions with Greenly during Fintech R: Evolution and aims for neutrality with EcoTree.

November 20, 2020 | News, Press Releases

Paris, the 19 November 2020

France FinTech has partnered with Greenly, the leader in automated carbon footprint monitoring, to measure and offset its emissions relating to its annual Fintech R: Evolution event. France FinTech uses the Greenly platform to manage its carbon footprint and supports EcoTree forests to balance its balance sheet.

  • France FinTech establishes its greenhouse gas emissions report with Greenly, the specialist in the automatic measurement of the carbon footprint of individuals and companies. The association aims for carbon neutrality relative to Fintech R: Evolution, the benchmark event organized every year to bring together the fintechs of the French ecosystem, the last edition of which was held on October 15 at Station F.
  •  

  • The event's footprint was estimated by Greenly at 33 tonnes of CO2, or 33 kg per person (3 kg more than the daily emissions of an average French person). The methodology used is that of GHG-Protocol, international standard for carbon accounting. These emissions should be compared to the 4 tonnes per person at CES in Las Vegas.
  • The association thus intends to initiate a process of continuous improvement of its ecological balance sheet. The levers to be operated to further reduce the emissions of the next edition of Fintech R: Evolution have moreover been identified with Greenly: favor suppliers of sound and light services which are themselves committed to a carbon strategy, encourage carbon-free transport and, as far as possible, switch to vegetarian meals.
  • France FinTech relied to measure its emissions on Greenly's experience. The startup intends to innovate in the traditional carbon footprint market by automating data collection via open banking, in particular with the know-how of Linxo, another fintech. Greenly is thus able to estimate companies' emissions more quickly and more precisely. This methodology, enriched by an analysis of physical flows, allows Greenly to edit a carbon footprint more economically and reach more companies.
  • France FinTech now measures its emissions continuously beyond the event and no longer only during ad hoc and retrospective reviews, which constitute the approach adopted so far.
  • To offset its emissions, France FinTech has called on another startup in the ecosystem, EcoTree, the French forestry specialist, which intends to transform greenhouse gases into forests. The project currently being labeled by Bureau Véritas aims to create a “green lung” in the Louargat forest in the Côtes d'Armor. It will help prevent more than 2 tonnes of CO076 emissions. Taken over by EcoTree in 2, soil study and windrowing work was carried out as part of a project to reconstitute the Louargat forest. Douglas, red oak, Sitka spruce, Scots pine are planted and managed in irregular high forest favoring stands of different age classes. the Trico (natural repellent based on sheep fat) and individual protections for deciduous trees are placed after planting to preserve the natural balance of this ecosystem and biodiversity. Natural regeneration will be favored there by occasional interventions. The project, PEFC certified, is insured against climatic hazards and open to the general public. 

***

For Alexis Normand, CEO and co-founder:
« Everyone should follow and reduce their carbon footprint, not just big companies as they are today. The Citizen's Climate Convention has proposed extending the regulatory obligation to carry out an annual carbon footprint to all companies, compared to once every four years for very large companies. This is only possible if we have previously developed technologies to automate this tracking. We have no other choice but to innovate !" 

FRANCE FINTECH IS COMMITTED TO ENERGY TRANSITION

For France FinTech, this initiative falls within the broader framework of the ambition to involve the French tech ecosystem in the acceleration of the energy transition. This first assessment sets in motion an improvement process and makes it possible to highlight several good practices, in particular the involvement of France FinTech suppliers in the measurement and reduction effort.

For Kristen Charvin, CEO of France FinTech:
“This unprecedented partnership between France FinTech and Greenly is a new manifestation of our ambition for the fintech ecosystem in France. It mobilizes two other fintechs from our ecosystem: Linxo et EcoTree. Our entrepreneurs are increasingly seeking to integrate climate impact into their business model and the imperatives of sustainable development. French fintechs, always at the forefront of innovation and bearers of values, are aware of the need to deploy innovations that will accelerate the transition. Their association is committed to their side in this essential fight. In this regard, we are pleased to have selected a project on French territory to offset our CO2 emissions. The impact begins locally!

***

About Greenly

Created in October 2019 by Alexis Normand (CEO, former Health Director of Withings, HEC, Sciences-Po, passed through the Boston office of Withings and Techstars), Matthieu vegreville (CTO, X-Telecom, data scientist at Withings and Embleema) and Arnaud Delubac (UX / UI, ESSEC-Centrale, INSEE, previously in charge of digital communication at the office of the Prime Minister), the company Offspend SAS, launched in January 2020 the Greenly application, to allow everyone to measure and reduce their ecological impact , by analyzing its banking expenses and offering rewards and coaching to avoid emissions.

For more information, please visit the website https://www.greenly.earth/corporate
Follow Greenly on Twitter: @Greenly_en, LinkedIn et LinkedIn

GREENLY CONTACTS

CEO & Co-Founder
Alexis Normand
+33676980643 - alexis@greenly.earth 

Press relations :
Jean-Francois Kitten
+33 6 11 29 30 28 - jf@licencek.com

Stephane Laurain
+33 (0) 1 45 03 21 77 - s.laurain@licencek.com

About France Fintech

Created in 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech brings together companies using innovative and disruptive operational, technological or economic models aimed at addressing existing or emerging issues in the financial services industry and representing the main components of the sector. The association's mission is to promote the excellence of the sector in France and abroad and to represent French fintech to the public authorities, the regulator and the ecosystem. France FinTech is today the largest sectoral association of start-ups in France and in Europe. It is chaired by Alain Clot and Kristen Charvin is its general delegate. Its steering committee brings together the founders and directors of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT. In addition to its actions in regulatory and legislative fields, its numerous publications, its workshops and various meetings, the association every year organizes the benchmark ecosystem event, Fintech R: Evolution. 

France FinTech is a member of the AMF-ACPR Fintech Forum and a founding member of theEDFA (European Digital Finance Association).

www.francefintech.org | Twitter | LinkedIn | Youtube | Discover our , and our partners | Join us !

CONTACT FRANCE FINTECH 

Kristen Charvin, General Delegate
press@francefintech.org
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

France FinTech fait le bilan de ses émissions de carbone avec Greenly à l’occasion de Fintech R:Evolution et vise la neutralité avec EcoTree.

Nov 20, 2020 | Actualité, Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 19 novembre 2020

France FinTech s’est associé à Greenly, le leader du suivi automatisé de l’empreinte carbone, pour mesurer et compenser ses émissions relatives à son événement annuel Fintech R:Evolution. France FinTech utilise la plateforme Greenly pour piloter son empreinte carbone et soutient les forêts d’EcoTree pour équilibrer son bilan.

  • France FinTech établit son bilan d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre avec Greenly, le spécialiste de la mesure automatique de l’empreinte carbone des particuliers et des entreprises. L’association vise la neutralité carbone relative à Fintech R:Evolution, l’événement de référence organisé chaque année pour réunir les fintech de l’écosystème français et dont la dernière édition s’est tenue le 15 octobre dernier à Station F.

  • L’empreinte de l’événement a été estimée par Greenly à 33 tonnes de CO2, soit 33 kg par personne (3 kg de plus que les émissions quotidiennes d’un Français moyen). La méthodologie utilisée est celle du GHG Protocol, standard international de la comptabilité carbone. Ces émissions sont à comparer aux 4 tonnes par personne du CES de Las Vegas.

  • L’association entend ainsi initier une démarche d’amélioration continue de son bilan écologique. Les leviers à actionner pour réduire encore les émissions de la prochaine édition de Fintech R:Evolution ont d’ailleurs bien été identifiés avec Greenly : privilégier des fournisseurs de prestations de sons et lumières eux-mêmes engagés dans une stratégie carbone, encourager les transports décarbonés et dans toute la mesure du possible basculer vers des repas végétariens.

  • France FinTech s’est appuyée pour mesurer ses émissions, sur l’expérience de Greenly. La startup entend innover dans le marché traditionnel du bilan carbone en automatisant la collecte de données via l’open banking, notamment avec le savoir-faire de Linxo, autre fintech. Greenly est ainsi en capacité d’estimer plus rapidement et plus précisément les émissions des entreprises. Cette méthodologie, enrichie par une analyse des flux physiques, permet à Greenly d’éditer un bilan carbone de façon plus  économique et de toucher plus d’entreprises.

  • France FinTech mesure désormais ses émissions en continu au-delà de l’événement et non plus seulement à l’occasion de bilans ponctuels et rétrospectifs, qui constituent l’approche jusqu’ici adoptée.

  • France FinTech a fait appel, pour compenser ses émissions,  à une autre startup de l’écosystème, EcoTree, le spécialiste français de la sylviculture, qui entend transformer les gaz à effet de serre en forêts. Le projet en cours de labellisation par le Bureau Véritas, vise à créer un «poumon vert » dans la forêt de Louargat dans les Côtes d’Armor. Il va permettre d’éviter plus de 2 076 tonnes d’émissions CO2. Reprise par EcoTree en 2019, des travaux d’étude de sol et de mise en andain ont été réalisés dans le cadre d’un projet de reconstitution de la forêt de Louargat. Douglas, chêne rouge, épicéa de Sitka, pin sylvestre sont plantés et conduits en futaie irrégulière privilégiant des peuplements de différentes classes d’âge. Le Trico (répulsif naturel à base de graisse de mouton) et des protections individuelles pour les feuillus sont posés après la plantation pour préserver l’équilibre naturel de cet écosystème et la biodiversité. La régénération naturelle y sera favorisée par des interventions ponctuelles. Le projet, certifié PEFC, est assuré contre les aléas climatiques et ouvert au grand public. 

***

Pour Alexis Normand, DG et co-fondateur :
« Tout le monde devrait suivre et réduire son empreinte carbone, pas seulement les grandes entreprises comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui. La Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat a proposé d’élargir à toutes les entreprises l’obligation réglementaire de réaliser un bilan carbone annuel, contre une fois tous les quatre ans pour les très grandes entreprises. Ce n’est possible que si nous avons au préalable développé des technologies pour automatiser ce suivi. Nous n’avons plus d’autre choix que d’innover ! 

FRANCE FINTECH S’ENGAGE POUR LA TRANSITION ÉNERGÉTIQUE

Pour France FinTech, cette initiative s’inscrit dans le cadre plus large de l’ambition de faire participer l’écosystème de la tech française à l’accélération de la transition énergétique. Ce premier bilan enclenche une démarche d’amélioration et permet de mettre en valeur plusieurs bonnes pratiques, notamment l’implication des fournisseurs de France FinTech dans l’effort de mesure et de réduction.

Pour Kristen Charvin, DG de France FinTech :
“Ce partenariat inédit entre France FinTech et Greenly est une nouvelle manifestation de notre ambition pour l’écosystème fintech en France. Il mobilise deux autres fintech de notre écosystème : Linxo et EcoTree. Nos entrepreneurs cherchent de plus en plus à intégrer l’impact climatique dans leur modèle d’affaires et les impératifs du développement durable. Les fintech françaises, toujours à la pointe de l’innovation et porteuses de valeurs, sont conscientes de la nécessité de déployer des innovations qui permettront d’accélérer la transition. Leur association est engagée à leur côté dans ce combat essentiel. Nous sommes à cet égard heureux d’avoir sélectionné un projet sur le territoire français pour compenser nos émissions de CO2. L’impact commence localement !

***

A propos de Greenly

Créée en Octobre 2019 par Alexis Normand (DG, ex Directeur santé de Withings, HEC, Sciences-Po, passé par le bureau de Boston de Withings et Techstars), Matthieu Vegreville (CTO, X-Telecom, data scientist chez Withings et Embleema) et Arnaud Delubac (UX/UI, ESSEC-Centrale, INSEE, précédemment chargé de communication digitale au cabinet du premier ministre), la société Offspend SAS, a lancé en janvier 2020 l’application Greenly, pour permettre à chacun de mesurer et de réduire son impact écologique, en analysant ses dépenses bancaires et en proposant des récompenses et du coaching pour éviter les émissions.

Pour plus d’informations merci de visiter le site https://www.greenly.earth/corporate
Suivez Greenly sur Twitter : @Greenly_fr, Linkedin et Instagram

CONTACTS GREENLY

CEO & Co-Fondateur
Alexis Normand
+33676980643 – alexis@greenly.earth 

Relations Presse :
Jean-François Kitten
+33 6 11 29 30 28 – jf@licencek.com

Stéphane Laurain
+33 (0)1 45 03 21 77 – s.laurain@licencek.com

A propos de France Fintech

Créée en 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech fédère les sociétés utilisant des modèles opérationnels, technologiques ou économiques, innovants et disruptifs, visant à traiter des problématiques existantes ou émergentes de l’industrie des services financiers et représentant les principales composantes de la filière. L’association s’est donnée pour mission de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les fintech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. France FinTech est aujourd’hui la plus grande association sectorielle de start-up en France et en Europe. Elle est présidée par Alain Clot et Kristen Charvin en est sa déléguée générale. Son comité directeur rassemble les fondateurs et dirigeants d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.Outre ses actions sur les terrains réglementaires et législatifs, ses nombreuses publications, ses ateliers et rencontres diverses, l’association organise chaque année l’événement de référence de l’écosystème, Fintech R:Evolution. 

France FinTech est membre du Forum Fintech AMF-ACPR et membre fondateur de l’EDFA (European Digital Finance Association).

www.francefintech.org | Twitter | LinkedIn | Youtube | Découvrez nos membres et nos partenaires | Rejoignez-nous !

CONTACT FRANCE FINTECH 

Kristen Charvin, Déléguée générale
presse@francefintech.org
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org