Select a page

FRANCE FINTECH 2022 REPORT: FRENCH FINTECH STAYING THE COURSE

December 29, 2022 | Barometers, Press Releases

Paris, December 30, 2022,

France FinTech, the professional association of French fintech, insurtech and regtech, publishes the annual review of its ecosystem. The year 2022 is part of the very sustained development movement that French fintechs have been experiencing for several years.

With less than 100 fintech in 2015, France lists almost ten times more today. These cover all areas of innovative finance: banking and insurance services, asset management, payments, crypto-assets, regtech, business services, etc.

Our players, although still young, have already created nearly 40 jobs and have significantly begun their internationalization (one fintech in four is already present internationally). They have strongly developed their sales (a third achieves more than one million in turnover) and their profitability (000% say they are already profitable), even though a high proportion is still in a start-up phase.

In this field, France has many champions of European and even global stature. It ranks first in the European Union, in terms of both amounts raised and number of unicorns (10 including 4 new ones in 2022: Qonto, Payfit, Spendesk and Younited – our first centaur). In first position in the Next40 and in second place in the FT120, fintech is at the forefront of French tech.

Our entrepreneurs once again raised a record amount of equity this year: 2,9 billion euros for 146 transactions (i.e. an average ticket of 20 million euros).

This amount, which does not take into account the debt, represents almost 30% more than that of 2021

The development concerned all the verticals with particular emphasis on some of them:

  • The most dynamic compartments this year were:
    • insurtech;
    • banking services;
    • operational services;
    • fundraising activities.
  • A marked growth of innovative solutions concerning:
    • ESG criteria (carbon footprint measurement, responsible investment solutions, etc.);
    • cybersecurity, which responds to the rise in risks, particularly among VSEs and SMEs;
    • real estate/proptech (investment, rental management, guarantee of unpaid rents, real estate loans, etc.);
    • “new generation” savings (offers oriented “impact”, crypto-assets, or accessible from reduced amounts);
    • so-called embedded finance “embedded finance” (services and financing associated in particular with e-commerce, local commerce, BNPL – Buy Now, Pay Later -, packaged offers).

The year 2022 also sees our major players becoming more and more hybrid in terms of deployment, with a concomitant development of B2C and B2B offers.

Two verticals faced difficult circumstances:

  • The Web3-crypto-decentralized finance compartment went through a contrasting year. With 6 of the top 10 operations in Europe carried out in France, our country is asserting itself as the benchmark for the continent. The global crypto sector is experiencing a very choppy end to the year following the bankruptcy of the FTX platform, with losses recorded by some participants and strong corrections in valuation. Our ecosystem, very focused on security and execution solutions, should however prove resilient.

  • Activities related to split payment (BNPL) also experienced turbulence linked, on the one hand, to the rise in rates and, on the other, to the European directive relating to consumer credit. These were reflected in particular by a sharp correction in the valuations of the European leaders.

A record year, therefore, with, however, the first consequences of a rise in macro-economic and geopolitical uncertainties. These lead to distinguish two periods: the first half, in full extension of the years 2020-2021 and the second affected by the global economic crisis.

  • The first half of the year saw strong growth in the sector, as illustrated by fundraising: €2,2 billion ;
  • The total amount raised in the second half was significantly lower: €715 million in 62 operations. Their analysis calls for a few remarks:
    • These mainly concerned medium or small transactions (only 4 transactions over €50 million and only one over €100 million) and the start-up phase. In this regard, our entrepreneurs benefit from the development of the offer: several funds have recently increased their seed financing solutions (Alven, BlackFin, Iris, Partech, Resonance, etc.);
    • Moreover, the number of transactions involving Business Angels has doubled in 2022, as many tech entrepreneurs have reinvested their funds;
    • The main transactions this year were mainly carried out with investors already present in the capital of the start-ups. Venture capital (VC) funds seem to be concentrating on their portfolio, while waiting to take advantage of new opportunities offered by the good level of activity and falling valuations;
    • Major international investors, especially Americans, for the most part did not carry out major operations with French fintechs in the second half of the year.

Overall, funds are more demanding in terms of plan analysis of business (BP), the level of expenses and valuations. The valuations of tech players have undergone corrections which have reached spectacular proportions for certain companies (fall in the overall valuations of European tech start-ups from $3 billion in 100 to $2021 billion in 2). French fintechs are of course not spared by this trend, but it seems that the amplitude of the movement is less in our ecosystem. It is true that the absence, until now, of very large valuations (décacornes and beyond) and the good performance of BPs, have rather preserved our players.

The deterioration of the economic environment and, even more, the uncertainty about the period to come, have led entrepreneurs to adapt their systems. In particular, they sought to:

  • extend the duration of coverage of their capital requirements with drawdowns often going up to 12-18-24 months;
  • reduce their expenses with efforts relating to operating costs (rent, consumables, etc.); 
  • postpone certain investments (foreign establishments in particular), developments (offers of products and services) and certain recruitments (in some cases carry out reductions in the workforce);
  • rationalize some activities that are difficult to monetize in this context.

Certainly cautious, entrepreneurs remain rather optimistic (62% of them declare themselves as such) and maintain the main development objectives, in particular to consolidate what already exists.

The tensions mentioned have accelerated the selection of the best models. Around fifteen failures, a proportion in line with previous years, were recorded.

The market gives a premium to the best (“flight to quality") and some compartments are consolidating. About twenty acquisition transactions, including takeovers of foreign competitors (Qonto, +Simple, etc.) took place this year. It is possible that we will see in the coming quarters other initial public offerings (IPO) French leaders in the sector, who now have the critical mass and the necessary growth.

Facing an uncertain economic context, the French fintech ecosystem is adapting in order to continue the sustained development it has been able to drive for the past ten years. In particular, he ensures that he focuses on the monetization of offers and the profitability of models.

Our entrepreneurs are in a good position to take advantage of the fundamental trends in innovative finance: they are resolutely heading for 2023! 

Certain trends identified this year should be confirmed in the months to come, in particular: 

  • A greater role for technology: artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning – AA – (user experience, risk analysis) as well as blockchain (payments and transfers, token creation, corporate financing, etc.);
  • Innovative fintech solutions contribute to securing operations: cybersecurity, algorithmic analysis, compliance, etc. ;
  • Offers to companies and investors: cash flow management, financing, liquidity-accounting management and human resources services (particularly social benefits). Fintechs are increasingly attracting large companies and are beginning to win major tenders;
  • A new acceleration of innovation in insurance services: climate risks, cyber risks, connected objects and on-board insurance;
  • The platformization of models with the expansion of services (super app) and the construction of complete pathways;
  • And finally the internationalization of the models.

For Alain Clot, President of France FinTech:

“2022 will have been a unique year for the French fintech ecosystem, marked by both sustained growth of our fintechs, record fundraising, and a tremendous enrichment of the service offer to individual and business customers. But also by the rise in uncertainties linked to the global macroeconomic environment. Our entrepreneurs have been able to adapt to this particular climate and are in a good position to continue their expansion. They are giving France a sector of excellence”.

Aware of the responsibilities conferred on it by its position as the spearhead of French tech, fintech is committed to contributing to themes that are dear to it, such as social and environmental responsibility and the just transition, in particular through financing. of the local economy, the creation of skilled jobs, diversity, financial inclusion, financial education and national sovereignty.

ABOUT FRANCE FINTECH: 

Created in 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech brings together companies using innovative and disruptive operational, technological or economic models, aimed at addressing existing or emerging issues in the financial services industry and representing the main components of the sector. The association's mission is to promote excellence in the sector in France and abroad and to represent French fintech to public authorities, regulators and the ecosystem. France FinTech is today the largest sectoral association of start-ups in France and in Europe. It is chaired by Alain Clot and Kristen Charvin is its general delegate. Its steering committee brings together the founders and managers of Anaxago, Epsor, Jenji (Silae), Kriptown, Lydia, +Simple, October, Younited. Beyond its actions on the regulatory and legislative grounds, its numerous publications, its workshops and various meetings, the association organizes each year the reference event of the ecosystem, Fintech R: Evolution

France FinTech is a member of the AMF-ACPR Fintech Forum and a founding member of theEDFA (European Digital Finance Association).

Follow us on twitter @FranceFintech and on LinkedIn France FinTech.

contacts: 

Alain Clot
Chairman

Kristen charvin 
General Delegate
press@francefintech.org

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

LE BILAN FRANCE FINTECH 2022 : LA FINTECH FRANÇAISE MAINTIENT LE CAP

Déc 29, 2022 | Barometres, Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 30 décembre 2022,

France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech, assurtech et regtech françaises, publie le bilan annuel de son écosystème. L’année 2022 s’inscrit dans le mouvement de développement très soutenu que connaissent les fintech françaises depuis plusieurs années.

Comptant moins de 100 fintech en 2015, la France en répertorie près de dix fois plus aujourd’hui. Celles-ci couvrent tous les compartiments de la finance innovante : services bancaires et d’assurance, gestion d’actifs, paiements, crypto-actifs, regtech, services aux entreprises, etc.

Nos acteurs, quoi qu’encore jeunes, ont déjà créé près de 40 000 emplois et ont significativement amorcé leur internationalisation (une fintech sur quatre est déjà présente à l’international). Ils ont fortement développé leurs ventes (un tiers réalise plus d’un million de chiffre d’affaires) et leur rentabilité (27% se déclarent déjà rentables), alors même qu’une proportion élevée se situe toujours dans une phase d’amorçage.

La France dispose dans ce domaine de nombreux champions d’envergure européenne voire mondiale. Elle se classe première de l’Union européenne, en termes tant de montants levés, que de nombre de licornes (10 dont 4 nouvelles en 2022 : Qonto, Payfit, Spendesk et Younited – notre premier centaure).  En première position du Next40 et à la seconde place du FT120, la fintech se situe à la pointe de la tech française.

Nos entrepreneurs ont levé, cette année encore, un montant record de fonds propres : 2,9 milliards d’euros pour 146 transactions (soit un ticket moyen de 20 millions d’euros).

Ce montant, qui ne prend pas en compte la dette, représente près de 30% de plus que celui de 2021

Le développement a concerné l’ensemble des verticales avec un accent particulier sur certaines d’entre elles :

  • Les compartiments les plus dynamiques cette année ont été :
    • l’assurtech ;
    • les services bancaires ;
    • les services opérationnels ;
    • les activités de financement.
  • Une croissance marquée de solutions innovantes concernant :
    • les critères ESG (mesure empreinte carbone, solutions d’investissement responsable, etc.) ;
    • la cybersécurité, qui répond à la montée des risques, notamment chez les TPE-PME ;
    • l’immobilier/proptech (investissement, gestion locative, garantie de loyers impayés, crédits immobiliers, etc.) ;
    • l’épargne “nouvelle génération” (offres orientées “impact”, crypto-actifs, ou accessibles à partir de montants réduits) ;
    • la finance embarquée dite « embedded finance” (services et financements associés notamment au e-commerce, commerce de proximité, BNPL – Buy Now, Pay Later -, offres packagées).

L’année 2022 voit également nos grands acteurs devenir de plus en plus hybrides en matière de déploiement, avec un développement concomitant des offres B2C et B2B.

Deux verticales ont fait face à des circonstances difficiles :

  • Le compartiment Web3-crypto-finance décentralisée a traversé une année contrastée. Avec 6 des 10 premières opérations en Europe réalisées en France, notre pays s’affirme comme la place de référence du continent. Le secteur mondial de la crypto connaît une fin d’année très agitée à la suite de la faillite de la plateforme FTX, avec des pertes enregistrées chez certains participants et de fortes corrections de valorisation. Notre écosystème, très centré sur des solutions de sécurisation et d’exécution, devrait cependant se montrer résilient.

  • Les activités liées au paiement fractionné (BNPL) ont également connu des turbulences liées, d’une part à la remontée des taux  et, d’autre part,  à la directive européenne relative au crédit à la consommation. Celles-ci se sont traduites notamment par une forte correction des valorisations des leaders européens.

Une année record donc, avec toutefois, les premières conséquences d’une montée des incertitudes macro économiques et géopolitiques. Celles-ci conduisent à distinguer deux périodes : le premier semestre, en plein prolongement des années 2020-2021 et le second affecté par la crise économique globale.

  • Le premier semestre a enregistré une forte croissance du secteur, comme l’illustrent les levées de fonds : 2,2 Mds d’€ ;
  • Le montant total levé au second semestre est nettement moindre : 715 M€ en 62 opérations. Leur analyse appelle quelques remarques :
    • Celles-ci ont concerné principalement les transactions moyennes ou petites (seulement 4 opérations supérieures à 50 M€ et une seule supérieure à 100 M€) et la phase d’amorçage. À ce sujet, nos entrepreneurs bénéficient du développement de l’offre : plusieurs fonds ayant récemment accru leurs solutions de financement d’amorçage (Alven, BlackFin, Iris, Partech, Resonance, etc.) ;
    • Par ailleurs, le nombre de transactions impliquant des Business Angels a doublé en 2022, de nombreux entrepreneurs de la tech ayant réinvesti leurs fonds ;
    • Les principales transactions ont été cette année majoritairement réalisées auprès des investisseurs déjà présents au capital des start-up. Les fonds de capital risque (VC)  semblent se concentrer sur leur portefeuille, en attendant de tirer parti des nouvelles opportunités qu’offrent le bon niveau d’activité et la baisse des valorisations ;
    • Les grands investisseurs internationaux, notamment américains, n’ont pour la plupart,  pas réalisé d’opérations majeures auprès des fintech françaises au second semestre.

Globalement, les fonds se montrent plus exigeants en matière d’analyse des plans d’affaires (BP), du niveau des charges et des valorisations. Les valorisations des acteurs de la tech ont connu des corrections qui ont pu atteindre des proportions spectaculaires pour certaines entreprises (baisse des valorisations globales des start-up européennes de la tech passant de 3 100 Mds$ en 2021 à 2 700 Mds$ en 2022). Les fintech françaises ne sont bien entendu pas épargnées par cette tendance, mais il semble que l’amplitude du mouvement est moindre dans notre écosystème. Il est vrai que l’absence, jusqu’à présent, de très grosses valorisations (décacornes et au-delà) et la bonne tenue des BP, ont plutôt préservé nos acteurs.

La dégradation de l’environnement économique  et, plus encore, l’incertitude quant à la période à venir, ont conduit les entrepreneurs à adapter leurs dispositifs. Ils ont notamment cherché à :

  • allonger la durée de couverture de leur besoin en fonds propres avec des tirages allant souvent jusqu’à 12-18-24 mois ;
  • réduire leur dépenses avec des efforts portant sur les frais de fonctionnement (loyers, consommables, etc.) ; 
  • reporter certains investissements (implantations étrangères notamment), développements (offres de produits et services) et certains recrutements (dans quelques cas  procéder à des réductions d’effectif) ;
  • rationaliser quelques activités difficiles à monétiser dans ce contexte.

Certes prudents, les entrepreneurs demeurent plutôt optimistes (62% d’entre eux se déclarent comme tel) et maintiennent les objectifs principaux de développement notamment pour consolider l’existant.

Les tensions évoquées ont accéléré la sélection des meilleurs modèles. Une quinzaine de défaillances, proportion en ligne avec les exercices précédents, a été enregistrée.

Le marché donne une prime aux meilleurs (“flight to quality) et certains compartiment se consolident. Une vingtaine de transactions d’acquisition, y compris des rachats de concurrents étrangers (Qonto, +Simple, etc.) sont intervenues cette année. Il est possible que l’on assiste dans les trimestres à venir à d’autres introductions en bourse (IPO) des leaders français du secteur, qui disposent désormais de la taille critique et de la croissance nécessaire.

Faisant face à un contexte économique incertain, l’écosystème des fintech françaises s’adapte afin de poursuivre le développement soutenu qu’il a su conduire depuis une dizaine d’années. Il veille notamment à se concentrer sur la monétisation des offres et la rentabilité des modèles.

Nos entrepreneurs sont en bonne position pour tirer parti des tendances de fond de la finance innovante : ils mettent résolument le cap sur 2023 ! 

Certaines tendances identifiées cette année devraient se confirmer dans les mois à venir et notamment : 

  • Un rôle accru de la technologie :  l’intelligence artificielle (IA) et l’apprentissage automatique – AA – (expérience utilisateur, analyse des risques) ainsi que la blockchain (paiements et transferts, création de jetons, financement des entreprises, etc.) ;
  • Les solutions innovantes des fintech apportent leur contribution à la sécurisation des opérations : cybersécurité, analyse algorithmique, conformité, etc. ;
  • Les offres aux entreprises et aux investisseurs : gestion des flux, financement, gestion de la liquidité-comptabilité et les services en ressources humaines (avantages sociaux notamment). Les fintech séduisent de plus en plus les grandes entreprises et commencent à remporter de grands appels d’offre ;
  • Une nouvelle accélération de l’innovation dans les services d’assurance : risques climatiques, risques cyber, objets connectés et assurances embarquées ;
  • La plateformisation des modèles avec l’élargissement des services (super app) et la construction de parcours complets ;
  • Et pour finir l’internationalisation des modèles.

Pour Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech :

“2022 aura été une année singulière pour l’écosystème de la fintech française, marquée à la fois par une croissance soutenue de nos fintech, des levées record, un formidable enrichissement de l’offre de services aux clients particuliers et entreprises. Mais aussi par la montée des incertitudes liées à l’environnement macroéconomique global. Nos entrepreneurs ont su s’adapter à ce climat particulier et sont en bonne position pour poursuivre leur expansion. Ils sont en train de donner à la France un secteur d’excellence”.

Conscient des responsabilités que lui confère sa position de fer de lance de la tech française, la fintech s’attache à contribuer à des thèmes qui lui sont chers, tels que la responsabilité sociale et environnementale et de la transition juste, notamment au travers du financement de l’économie locale, la création d’emplois qualifiés, la diversité, l’inclusion financière, l’éducation financière et la souveraineté nationale.

À PROPOS DE FRANCE FINTECH : 

Créée en 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech fédère les sociétés utilisant des modèles opérationnels, technologiques ou économiques, innovants et disruptifs, visant à traiter des problématiques existantes ou émergentes de l’industrie des services financiers et représentant les principales composantes de la filière. L’association s’est donnée pour mission de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les fintech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. France FinTech est aujourd’hui la plus grande association sectorielle de start-up en France et en Europe. Elle est présidée par Alain Clot et Kristen Charvin en est sa déléguée générale. Son comité directeur rassemble les fondateurs et dirigeants d’Anaxago, Epsor, Jenji (Silae), Kriptown, Lydia, +Simple, October, Younited. Au-delà de ses actions sur les terrains réglementaires et législatifs, ses nombreuses publications, ses ateliers et rencontres diverses, l’association organise chaque année l’événement de référence de l’écosystème, Fintech R:Evolution

France FinTech est membre du Forum Fintech AMF-ACPR et membre fondateur de l’EDFA (European Digital Finance Association).

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FranceFintech et sur LinkedIn France FinTech.

Contacts : 

Alain Clot
Président

Kristen Charvin 
Déléguée Générale
presse@francefintech.org

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française!

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Vous vous êtes enregistré avec succès!