Select a page

Is FinTech the cradle of innovation?

September 20, 2021 | News, Publications

record fundraising for the fintech sector

Finance startups are able to instill a culture of innovation in a highly regulated sector. To do this, they benefit from increasingly peaceful relations with the regulator and traditional banks. Lighting.

New means of payment, crowdfunding, cryptocurrencies… The solutions offered by FinTechs have become essential in our daily lives. By making financial services more accessible, these finance startups are a prerequisite for innovation and are forcing traditional banks to reinvent themselves. As part of Maddykeynote 2021, Kristen Charvin, Thierry Maurer, Bernard-Louis Roques and Claire Balva, experts on the subject, questioned the role of FinTech in French innovation, during a round table.

Managing Director of the France FinTech professional association, Kristen Charvin recalls that France has taken the wave of fintechs after the rest of Europe, the United States or Asia. " Our country was the first to launch online banks, but it still faced the conservatism of the regulator and a lack of funding sources.  Since then, the French market is catching up. According to France FinTech and Bpifrance barometer, the French fintechs raised in the first half of 2021 nearly a billion and a half euros, or 3,3 times more than the previous year over the same period. With this record level, the French market is experiencing the strongest European growth while remaining behind the United Kingdom and Germany, according to the EY venture capital barometer.

If France does not have to be ashamed of the number of fundraisers, it still lacks "Mega deals" like the Californian fintech Stripe which, by raising $ 600 million last March, is now valued at $ 95 billion. " Private equity has long ignored fintechs, Judge Bernard-Louis Roques, Managing Director of the Truffle Capital investment fund. They now occupy the first segment with 20% of investments by European funds. However, this remains insufficient in view of the weight of the banking-finance market. »

While the front is clearing up on the venture capital side, the environment is also more conducive to the development of fintechs. Kristen Charvin observes that the hatchet between fintechs and traditional banks is buried, each side finding an interest in collaborating. The first bring their culture of innovation and the right to make mistakes and the second full-scale application cases.

Dust off the bank's image

[...]

France, soon to be a crypto-nation?

 

If fintech technologies become commonplace, crypto-currencies continue to suffer from a sulphurous reputation amid accusations of speculation. The market also prefers to highlight the blockchain technology that underlies them, which is more politically correct. " Crypto is a disruptive innovation that has long faced resistance from traditional players for regulatory or reputation reasons. », Observes Claire Balva, CEO of Blockchain Partner. All things considered, it makes the comparison with the rivalry between VTCs and taxis occupying the same playing field, but with different rules.

However, it notes a democratization of crypto-assets with open source virtual currencies such as Bitcoin or Ether, accessible to everyone and not just to financial institutions. The announcement of Facebook's Libra project or the recent Coinbase IPO should also participate in this trivialization.

Despite the creation of a authorization of a digital asset service provider (PSAN) by the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), Claire Balva considers the regulatory framework to be stricter in France than in our neighbors. " There is a compromise to be found. The necessary protection of citizens must not hamper innovation. Another obstacle remains funding. From a certain amount, entrepreneurs in the crypto world turn to Anglo-Saxon investors. To retain them, it is necessary, according to her, to create a benevolent environment. In this regard, she welcomes the speech of the Minister of the Economy Bruno Le Maire who aims to make France a “crypto-nation”.

SEE THE REPLAY

Sélectionner une page

La Fintech est-elle le berceau de l’innovation ?

Sep 20, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

record des levées de fonds pour le secteur fintech

Les startups de la finance parviennent à insuffler une culture de l’innovation dans un secteur pourtant très réglementé. Elles bénéficient pour cela de relations de plus en plus apaisées avec le régulateur et les banques traditionnelles. Éclairage.

Nouveaux moyens de paiement, crowdfunding, cryptomonnaies… Les solutions proposées par les Fintechs se sont imposées dans notre quotidien. En rendant les services financiers plus accessibles, ces startups de la finance font figure d’antichambre de l’innovation et obligent les banques traditionnelles à se réinventer. Dans le cadre de la Maddykeynote 2021, Kristen Charvin, Thierry Maurer, Bernard-Louis Roques et Claire Balva, experts du sujet, ont questionné le rôle de la Fintech dans l’innovation française, à l’occasion d’une table ronde.

Directrice générale de l’association professionnelle France FinTech, Kristen Charvin rappelle que la France a pris la vague des fintechs après le reste de l’Europe, des États-Unis ou de l’Asie. « Notre pays a été le premier à lancer des banques en ligne mais il restait confronté au conservatisme du régulateur et à un déficit de sources financement.  » Depuis, le marché hexagonal rattrape son retard. Selon le baromètre de France FinTech et Bpifrance, les fintechs tricolores ont levé au premier semestre 2021 près d’un milliard et demi d’euros, soit 3,3 fois plus que l’année précédente sur la même période. Avec ce niveau record, le marché français connaît la plus forte croissance européenne tout en restant derrière le Royaume-Uni et l’Allemagne, d’après le baromètre EY du capital-risque.

Si la France n’a pas à rougir du nombre de levées de fonds, elle manque encore de « mega deals » à l’image de la fintech californienne Stripe qui, en levant 600 millions de dollars en mars dernier, est désormais valorisée à 95 milliards de dollars. « Le private equity a longtemps ignoré les fintechs, juge Bernard-Louis Roques, directeur général du fonds d’investissement Truffle Capital. Elles occupent aujourd’hui le premier segment avec 20 % des investissements des fonds européens. Cela reste néanmoins insuffisant au regard du poids du marché de la banque-finance. »

Si le front s’éclaircit du côté du capital risque, l’environnement est aussi davantage propice au développement des fintechs. Kristen Charvin observe que la hache de guerre entre les fintechs et les banques traditionnelles est enterrée, chaque camp trouvant un intérêt à collaborer. Les premières apportent leur culture de l’innovation et du droit à l’erreur et les secondes des cas d’application grandeur nature.

Dépoussiérer l’image de la banque

[…]

La France, bientôt une crypto-nation ?

 

Si les technologies des fintechs se banalisent, les crypto-monnaies continuent, elles, à souffrir d’une réputation sulfureuse sur fond d’accusations de spéculation. Le marché préfère d’ailleurs mettre en avant la technologie de blockchain qui les sous-tend, plus politiquement correct. « La crypto est une innovation de rupture qui s’est longtemps confrontée à la résistance des acteurs traditionnels pour des raisons réglementaires ou réputationnelles » , observe Claire Balva, PDG de Blockchain Partner. Toutes proportions gardées, elle fait la comparaison avec la rivalité qui oppose les VTC et des taxis occupant le même terrain de jeu, mais avec des règles différentes.

Elle note toutefois une démocratisation des crypto-actifs avec des monnaies virtuelles open source comme Bitcoin ou Ether, accessibles à tous et pas seulement aux institutions financières. L’annonce du projet Libra de Facebook ou la récente introduction en Bourse de Coinbase devraient aussi participer à cette banalisation.

En dépit de la création d’un agrément de prestataire de services sur actifs numériques (PSAN) par l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), Claire Balva juge le cadre réglementaire plus stricte en France que chez nos voisins. « Il y a un compromis à trouver. La nécessaire protection des citoyens ne doit pas brider l’innovation. » Un autre frein demeure le financement. À partir d’un certain montant, les entrepreneurs du monde crypto se tournent vers des investisseurs anglo-saxons. Pour les retenir, il faut, selon elle, créer un environnement bienveillant. À cet égard, elle salue le discours du ministre de l’Économie Bruno Le Maire qui ambitionne de faire de la France une « crypto-nation ».

VOIR LE REPLAY