Select a page

The frugalist or the mythology of the businessman of the post-Covid world

October 14, 2020 | News, grandstands

In 2050, the frugalist is the new symbol of social success. In 2020, the frugalist is the symbol of the contradictions of our society.

We are in 2050. Social morphology is very different from what we know in 2020. The symbols of socio-professional success have changed. A successful professional career no longer means climbing the ladder within a sector of activity, but being able to live frugally, and even to be assimilated, in a positive way, to the figure of a retiree. A particular retiree, of course, but who stands out from the image conveyed by this status in 2019 for example, during demonstrations against the pension reform. They even become the new figure of the businessman, far from the image of that of Carlos Ghosn or Bernard Tapie. 

Initially frugalism is derived from the masculine adjective frugal (from the Latin frugalis), meaning sober. This term, generally used to describe the way of life of a person who “feeds on little, who lives in a simple way”, describes since the beginning of the 2010s a completely different reality. The frugal represents an individual who decides to retire early (early retirement: from the age of 35) thanks to the financial independence acquired thanks to the world of work and that, before 40 years. This movement (FIRE) was born in the United States (one of the founding works of the movement was published there), it advocates deconsumption through a simple way of life. It is worn by individuals from the middle and upper classes, and higher education graduates (and sometimes even the largest schools). 

The emergence and spread of this movement at the start of the XNUMXst century went hand in hand with a set of conjectures with which Western individuals had to contend: quest for professional meaning, weakening of confidence in state institutions, loss of steam in the meritocratic principle in the face of a reproduction of the global elites, financial insecurity vis-à-vis social regimes, increasingly thwarted promise of social advancement, the lack of steam in the cult of performance, etc. In reaction, new values ​​linked to social success have gradually taken root in the Western imagination in order to make the plan of life in society acceptable. These new values ​​are geared towards reinsurance and personal development practices. The professional rise advocated by the cult of performance, as A. Ehrenberg theorized, no longer arouses passions, at least in appearance. 

Success takes on new contours, such as those linked to free time and the notion of life projects. A “new time available” is made possible by obtaining financial independence. It is an objective which requires many sacrifices, a drastic management of daily finances and judicious investments (stock market, real estate). In a way, it is a matter of a life of asceticism which carries the hope of a future daily life detached from the constraints linked to the need to generate income in order to survive. Relieved of this constraint, frugalists can thus flourish in all spheres of their life, and even teach aspiring frugalists the methods to achieve this.

Paradoxically (or not) of the situation, it is precisely their life objective that will lead them to enrichment (accumulate as many resources as possible during the period when they have a professional activity) in order to generate a situation rent, guaranteeing a comfortable retirement. Once retired, frugalists continue to accumulate capital, particularly related to the income generated by their new consulting activities on the subject, precisely of frugalism. 

In 2020, the frugalist is the symbol of the contradictions of our society

Let's go back to 2020. The world of Covid-19 is not very different from the one before, but the weak signals observed before the pandemic are becoming more and more structuring in the lives of Western individuals. The values ​​advocated by this sometimes elitist way of life are now resonating with the fears of the population. The FIRE movement even seems to bring solutions to individuals who are wondering about work that no longer seems to be able to be accomplished, to fears about an uncertain future, to the desire to change the way people work. life and consumption that seizes more and more individuals, etc. The attraction for this movement raises many questions concerning the rise of survivalist and collapsological ideologies that can have a significant impact in the medium and long term on our lifestyles: emancipation vis-à-vis the market system, non-adherence to operations. companies (work, retirement, savings), enhancement of autonomy (economic, food, etc.), etc. 

While the syndrome of postmodernism would push the individual to live in the instantaneity and to no longer believe in the future, the frugalists seem to have succeeded in the tour de force of making social success the fact of capitalizing on financial resources and social resources they have in order to be able to live without working: the businessman even becomes a humanist individual with a virtuous way of life!

Frugalism can then be seen as the individual response to the paradoxical injunctions of postmodern society: to succeed in life (not only professional but in all areas) by being part of a personal development process guided by a quest for meaning necessary for l 'attainment of happiness. While money sets itself up as a “monetary religion” (to use D. Chidester's terminology) for the frugalist, other typologies of individuals also advocate an alternative and modest way of life: like A. Fogh Jensen ( 2012) or P. Colombot (2011) - both authors of manifestos not accessible online. They advocate, like some authors of degrowth, more flexibility on the part of institutions on the capacity of individuals to undertake (regulations, standards, laws, taxes, etc.) in order to be able to release the energies which, when they emerge, will work “to the greatest benefit of the general interest” (quote from Pierre Colombot's manifesto). 

While some see postmodernism as a decrease in trust in abstract systems (rules, institutions) in favor of building an emotional self, the frugalists are said to be reclaiming these values ​​in order to redefine the contours of happiness and by extension to ensure a certain reproduction of the elites and the maintenance of their capital (social, economic, cultural).

SOURCE> Newspaper

#117

#117

Goodbye to 2021, a record year for fintech! 👋

Le frugaliste ou la mythologie de l’homme d’affaires du monde post-Covid

Oct 14, 2020 | Actualité, Tribunes

En 2050, le frugaliste est le nouveau symbole de la réussite sociale. En 2020, le frugaliste est le symbole des contradictions de notre société.

Nous sommes en 2050. La morphologie sociale est très différente de celle que nous connaissons en 2020. Les symboles de la réussite socio-professionnelle ont changé. Réussir sa carrière professionnelle ne signifie plus gravir les échelons au sein d’un secteur d’activités, mais être capable de vivre de manière frugale, et même d’être assimilé, de manière positive, à la figure d’un retraité. Un retraité particulier certes, mais qui détonne de l’image véhiculée par ce statut en 2019 par exemple, lors des manifestations contre la réforme des retraites. Ils deviennent même la figure nouvelle de l’homme d’affaires, loin de l’image de celle de Carlos Ghosn ou de Bernard Tapie. 

Initialement le frugalisme est dérivé de l’adjectif masculin frugal (du latin frugalis), signifiant sobre. Ce terme, généralement utilisé pour qualifier le mode de vie d’une personne qui se “nourrit de peu, qui vit d’une manière simple”, décrit depuis le début des années 2010 une toute autre réalité. Le frugal représente un individu qui décide de prendre sa retraite de manière précoce (early retirement : à partir de l’âge de 35 ans) grâce à l’indépendance financière acquise grâce au monde du travail et cela, avant 40 ans. Ce mouvement (FIRE) est né aux États-Unis (un des ouvrages fondateurs du mouvement y a été publié), il prône la déconsommation à travers un mode de vie simple. Il est porté par des individus issus des classes moyennes et supérieures, et diplômés du supérieur (et même parfois des plus grandes écoles). 

L’émergence et la diffusion de ce mouvement du début du XXIème siècle vont de pair avec un ensemble de conjectures avec lesquelles les individus occidentaux devaient composer : quête de sens professionnelle, affaiblissement de la confiance envers les institutions étatiques, essoufflement du principe méritocratique face à une reproduction des élites mondiales, insécurité financière vis-à-vis des régimes sociaux, promesse d’ascension sociale de plus en plus contrariée, essoufflement du culte de la performance, etc. En réaction, de nouvelles valeurs liées à la réussite sociale se sont progressivement ancrées dans l’imaginaire occidental afin de rendre acceptable le dessein d’une vie en société. Ces nouvelles valeurs sont tournées vers des pratiques de réassurance et d’épanouissement personnel. L’ascension professionnelle prônée par le culte de la performance, comme l’a théorisé A. Ehrenberg, n’attise plus les passions, du moins en apparence. 

La réussite revêt de nouveaux contours, comme ceux liés au temps libre et à la notion de projets de vie. Un “nouveau temps disponible” est rendu possible par l’obtention de son indépendance financière. C’est un objectif qui demande de nombreux sacrifices, une gestion drastique des finances au quotidien et des investissements (boursiers, immobiliers) judicieux. En quelque sorte, il s’agit d’une vie d’ascèse qui porte l’espoir d’un quotidien futur détaché des contraintes liées à la nécessité de générer des revenus pour pouvoir survivre. Délestés de cette contrainte, les frugalistes peuvent ainsi s’épanouir dans toutes les sphères de leur vie, et même enseigner aux aspirants frugalistes les méthodes pour y parvenir.

Paradoxe (ou non) de la situation, c’est précisément leur objectif de vie qui va les conduire à l’enrichissement (accumuler le maximum de ressources pendant la période où ils ont une activité professionnelle) afin de générer une rente de situation, garante d’un départ à la retraite confortable. Une fois à la retraite, les frugalistes continuent d’accumuler des capitaux notamment liées aux revenus générés par leurs nouvelles activités de conseil sur le thème, justement du frugalisme. 

En 2020, le frugaliste est le symbole des contradictions de notre société

Revenons en 2020. Le monde de la Covid-19 n’est pas très différent de celui d’avant, mais les signaux faibles observés avant la pandémie deviennent de plus en plus structurant dans la vie des individus occidentaux. Les valeurs prônées par ce mode de vie, parfois élitiste, font à présent résonance avec les craintes de la population. Le mouvement FIRE semble même apporter des pistes de solution aux individus qui s’interrogent face au travail qui ne semble plus permettre de s’accomplir, aux craintes vis-à-vis d’un avenir incertain, à la volonté de changer de mode de vie et de consommation qui s’empare de plus en plus d’individus, etc. L’attrait pour ce mouvement soulève de nombreuses questions concernant la montée des idéologies survivalistes et collapsologiques pouvant avoir un impact non négligeable à moyen et à long terme sur nos modes de vie : émancipation vis-à-vis du système marchand, non adhésion aux fonctionnements des sociétés (travail, retraite, épargne), valorisation de l’autonomie (économique, alimentaire, etc.), etc. 

Alors que le syndrome du postmodernisme pousserait l’individu à vivre dans l’instantanéité et à ne plus croire en l’avenir, les frugalistes semblent avoir réussi le tour de force d’ériger en réussite sociale le fait de capitaliser sur les ressources financières et sociales dont ils disposent afin de pouvoir vivre sans travailler : l’homme d’affaires devient même un individu humaniste au mode de vie vertueux !

Le frugalisme peut alors être entrevu comme la réponse individuelle aux injonctions paradoxales de la société postmoderne : réussir sa vie (pas seulement professionnelle mais dans tous les domaines) en s’inscrivant dans une démarche de développement personnel guidée par une quête de sens nécessaire à l’atteinte du bonheur. Alors que l’argent s’érige en “religion monétaire” (pour reprendre la terminologie de D. Chidester) pour le frugaliste, d’autres typologies d’individus prônent également un mode de vie alternatif et modeste : comme A. Fogh Jensen (2012) ou P. Colombot (2011) – tous deux auteurs de manifestes non accessibles en ligne. Ils prônent, comme certains auteurs de la décroissance, plus de souplesse de la part des institutions sur la capacité des individus à entreprendre (règlements, normes, lois, impôts, etc.) afin de pouvoir libérer les énergies qui, lorsqu’elles écloront, œuvreront “au plus grand profit de l’intérêt général” (citation extraite du manifeste de Pierre Colombot). 

Alors que certains voient dans le postmodernisme une diminution de la confiance envers les systèmes abstraits (règles, institutions) au profit de la construction d’un soi émotionnel, les frugalistes seraient en passe de se réapproprier ces valeurs afin de redéfinir les contours du bonheur et par extension d’assurer une certaine reproduction des élites et le maintien de leurs capitaux (sociaux, économiques, culturels).

SOURCE > Journal Du Net