Select a page

The governor of the Banque de France whistles the end of the recreation between fintech and banks

October 11, 2021 | News, Publications

While the tone has surprisingly risen between banks and fintech companies in recent weeks, the Governor of the Banque de France, François Villeroy de Galhau, took the floor to stop these exchanges of courtesies and on the contrary encourage cooperation.

At the end of September, Nicolas Théry, president of the French Banking Federation (FBF), went up to the front to question the ability of fintechs to protect customer banking data, in the era of open banking. “The gigantic valuations of Fintech correspond to the anticipation by the markets of a commodification of individuals and their personal data. However, it is not a question of a market choice, but of society ”, he argued. The response of Alain Clot, president of France Fintech, was not long in coming, the latter regretting a position taken " in contradiction with its members ”, rather militant for a strengthening of cooperation. An opinion shared by the Governor of the Banque de France François Villeroy de Galhau.

At the opening of the second FinTech forum organized by the Prudential Control and Resolution Authority (ACPR) and the Financial Markets Authority (AMF). he has just called on banks to better support the development of fintech, these young shoots offering financial services via digital technologies. “I call on the banks to support the transformations of the financial system in a constructive way, without showing excessive fears ”, said the governor. “If banks and fintech did not each know how to innovate, and often innovate together, the big techs (often American or Chinese digital giants, editor's note) would pick up the stake ”, he underlined, after having asked the banking institutions not to “tbreak opponent ”.

The governor said he hoped that " the difficulties of implementing open banking", That is to say the possibility offered to companies - financial or not - to connect to the services of a bank via standardized channels, and this, in order to develop their own applications,"be behind us ”.

[...]

Sélectionner une page

Le gouverneur de la Banque de France siffle la fin de la récréation entre les fintech et les banques

Oct 11, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

Alors que le ton est monté de façon surprenante entre banques et entreprises fintech ces dernières semaines, le gouverneur de la Banque de France, François Villeroy de Galhau, a pris la parole pour stopper ces échanges d’amabilités et encourager au contraire la coopération.

Fin septembre, Nicolas Théry, président de la Fédération bancaire française (FBF), montait au front pour mettre en doute la capacité des fintech à protéger les données bancaires des clients, à l’ère de l’open banking. “Les gigantesques valorisations des Fintech correspondent à l’anticipation par les marchés d’une marchandisation des individus et de leurs données personnelles. Or, il ne s’agit pas d’un choix de marché, mais de société”, arguait-il. La réponse d’Alain Clot, président de France Fintech, n’avait pas tardé, ce dernier regrettant une prise de position « en contradiction avec ses membres”, militant plutôt pour un renforcement de la coopération. Un avis partagé par le gouverneur de la Banque de France François Villeroy de Galhau.

À l’ouverture du deuxième forum Fintech organisé par l’Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) et l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF). il vient d’appeler les banques à mieux accompagner le développement des fintech, ces jeunes pousses proposant des services financiers via les technologies numériques. “J’appelle les banques à accompagner les transformations du système financier de manière constructive, sans faire preuve de craintes excessives”, a déclaré le gouverneur. “Si les banques et les fintech ne savaient pas chacune innover, et souvent innover ensemble, les big tech (les géants du numérique souvent américains ou chinois, ndlr) ramasseraient la mise”, a-t-il souligné, après avoir demandé aux institutions bancaires de ne pas se “tromper d’adversaire”.

Le gouverneur a dit espérer que « les difficultés de la mise en œuvre de l’open banking« , c’est-à-dire la possibilité offerte aux entreprises – financières ou non – de se connecter aux services d’une banque via des canaux standardisés, et ce, afin de développer leurs propres applications, “soient derrière nous”.

[…]

 

 

#113

#113

Vous n’avez pu vous joindre à nous ? 🧐