Select a page

Recruitment tightens in fintechs

June 1, 2022 | Publications

Finding the right profiles, attracting them and retaining them requires a thorough review of HR and benefits processes.

Will the gray matter end up failing the fintechs French ? What is certain is that the approximately 2,3 billion euros raised last year, up 174% compared to 2020, are primarily aimed at expanding the teams. Which, in three years, have more than doubled (+131%). According to the study published at the end of 2021 by France FinTech, 10.000 hires (excluding foreigners) are planned for 2022, which would bring the workforce in the sector to nearly 40.000 employees. And perhaps 10.000 more in 2023. A very relative forecast, specifies Alain Clot, president of the association (read 'The Word to…'), who has "the feeling that it could go faster than expected".

In detail, current needs primarily concern “tech” profiles (35% of recruitment intentions), far ahead of salespeople (14%). This is followed by customer services (13%), products (12%), operations (11%) and marketing and communication services (9%). The human resources, financial and legal services should equally distribute the remaining 6% of hires.

Fierce competition

The high proportion of qualified jobs does not facilitate the task of fintechs, underlines Alain Clot, who has observed an increase in recruitment times over the past six months. Giulia Mazzolini, responsible for France for the European investment platform Bitpanda, agrees: “It is increasingly difficult to recruit new talent. Competition is fierce with all technology companies, and candidates who combine skills and experience are scarce.”

“Today, this does not hinder the development of our activity, considers, however, the president of France FinTech, who highlights the attractiveness of the sector. But the need for 'tech' profiles is such that the situation could well become tense within a few quarters. »

This hypergrowth in a post-Covid context where employees, as a whole, have reviewed their priorities in any case requires companies to work on their employer offer. According to a multi-sector recruitment survey published by HelloWork on May 10, the approximately 1.700 candidates questioned are demanding transparency on job offers. The first element, cited by 87%, being the indication of remuneration, ahead of corporate culture: atmosphere, management, values… (83%), and financial benefits (68%).

Bitpanda (nearly 1.000 employees), which has opened more than 300 positions in Europe, including marketing profiles in France, says it has successfully relied on this transparency throughout the recruitment process. “We clearly explain who we are and how we work, says Giulia Mazzolini. The latest benefits policy, including our unlimited time off offer, is the icing on the cake. »

But wages are the sinews of war. In the fintech, they have been going up for two years, "in a controlled manner", assures Alain Clot. Clearer, Pierre-Antoine Dusoulier, CEO and founder ofiBanFirst, observe “A real inflation in certain professions. We were no longer competitive in terms of remuneration and we are in the process of remedying this, he underlines. In particular, we have decided to increase the base salary in the 'sales' profession by 25%. And we will indicate this in our offers. »

[...]

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Le recrutement se tend dans les fintechs

Juin 1, 2022 | Parutions

Débusquer les bons profils, les séduire et les retenir nécessite une révision en règle des processus RH et avantages sociaux.

La matière grise finira-t-elle par faire défaut aux fintechs françaises ? Ce qui est sûr, c’est que les quelque 2,3 milliards d’euros levés l’an dernier, en hausse de 174% par rapport à 2020, visent d’abord à étoffer les équipes. Qui, en trois ans, ont fait plus que doubler (+131 %). Selon l’étude publiée fin 2021 par France FinTech, 10.000 embauches (hors étranger) sont envisagées pour 2022, ce qui porterait les effectifs du secteur à près de 40.000 salariés. Et peut-être 10.000 de plus en 2023. Une prévision toute relative, précise Alain Clot, président de l’association (lire ‘La Parole à…’), qui a, lui, « le sentiment que cela pourrait aller plus vite que prévu ».

Dans le détail, les besoins actuels concernent en premier lieu les profils «tech» (35% des intentions de recrutements), loin devant les commerciaux (14%). Suivent les services client (13%), les produits (12%), les opérations (11%) et les services marketing et communication (9%). Les services ressources humaines, financiers et juridiques devraient se répartir à parts égales les 6% d’embauches restantes.

Concurrence féroce

La forte proportion d’emplois qualifiés ne facilite pas la tâche des fintechs, souligne Alain Clot, qui observe un allongement des délais de recrutement ces six derniers mois. Giulia Mazzolini, responsable pour la France de la plateforme d’investissement européenne Bitpanda, en convient : «Il est de plus en plus difficile de recruter de nouveaux talents. La concurrence est féroce avec toutes les entreprises technologiques, et les candidats alliant compétences et expérience se font rares.»

«Aujourd’hui, cela ne freine pas le développement de notre activité, considère cependant le président de France FinTech, qui met en avant l’attractivité du secteur. Mais le besoin de profils ‘tech’ est tel que la situation pourrait bien se tendre d’ici à quelques trimestres. »

Cette hypercroissance dans un contexte post-Covid où les salariés, dans leur ensemble, ont revu leurs priorités impose en tout cas aux entreprises de travailler leur offre employeur. Selon une enquête de recrutement multisectorielle publiée par HelloWork le 10 mai, les quelque 1.700 candidats interrogés réclament de la transparence sur les offres d’emploi. Le premier élément, cité à 87 %, étant l’indication de la rémunération, devant la culture d’entreprise : ambiance, management, valeurs… (83 %), et les avantages financiers (68 %).

Bitpanda (près de 1.000 salariés) qui a ouvert plus de 300 postes en Europe, dont des profils marketing en France, dit miser avec succès sur cette transparence tout au long du processus de recrutement. « Nous expliquons clairement qui nous sommes et comment nous travaillons, déclare Giulia Mazzolini. La politique d’avantages sociaux la plus récente, y compris notre offre de congés illimités, est la cerise sur le gâteau. »

Mais les salaires sont le nerf de la guerre. Dans la fintech, ils montent depuis deux ans, « de manière contrôlée », assure Alain Clot. Plus tranché, Pierre-Antoine Dusoulier, directeur général et fondateur d’iBanFirst, observe « une véritable inflation sur certains métiers. Nous n’étions plus compétitifs en termes de rémunération et nous sommes en train d’y remédier, souligne-t-il. Nous avons notamment décidé d’augmenter de 25 % le salaire de base sur le métier de ‘sales’. Et nous allons l’indiquer dans nos offres. »

[…]

#148

#148

L’ENGAGEMENT SOBRIÉTÉ : UNE PRIORITÉ 🌎

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française!

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Vous vous êtes enregistré avec succès!