Select a page

The characteristics of an optimal "data hub" to have a single customer view

November 20, 2020 | grandstands

Experian is partner of France FinTech and is involved in the fintech ecosystem. David Zydron, Pre-sales consultant at Experian France, tells us about the characteristics of an optimal “data hub” to have a single customer view through this forum.

95% of companies admit that the lack of data quality impacts their business. Governance of this information was also ranked as the number one priority for CIOs in 2020, according to Gartner. Companies therefore need tools that allow them to manage data quality, governance and even regulation - three issues that often require the use of several distinct management systems. This weakens deployment times, the adoption rate of teams sometimes having to be trained in several tools, but also the level of risk and associated costs. So which solution to choose to meet this challenge, when the volume of data continues to increase? How to transform raw data into real business insights via a single management platform? 

The need to consolidate tools 

There are multiple stages of data processing, ranging from collection to integration, validation, harmonization, deduplication, categorization or analysis. Many companies are therefore multiplying the tools to carry out these different stages and try to exploit the potential of the data collected. But technological advances have not only made it possible to perfect machine learning or artificial intelligence models but also to rethink the connectivity of these different tools. In fact, today there are unique platforms making it possible to manage the entire data processing process. The data services and functions are then brought together in a single “data hub”, thus reducing technical complexity as well as use. 

A simple to deploy and scalable solution 

Resources, both budgetary and human, are certainly the first obstacle to any initiative related to data management. Companies are indeed reluctant to the idea of ​​long, tedious and complex deployments for teams sometimes having no internal IT resources, but also by the costs imposed and the return on investment in the more or less long term.

Solution providers have understood this and are starting to offer more and more easily deployable solutions that do not require any IT support. This is the case with cloud-based solutions allowing very rapid deployment, without IT effort and with immediate availability.

Faced with the explosion in the volume of data; in particular recently observed by the largest retailers having faced the sudden increase in e-commerce linked to the COVID-19 crisis; it is imperative that companies be able to rely on scalable technologies capable of adapting to the development of society without requiring too much additional investment.

 

A single customer view in three steps: collection, enrichment and analysis

The potential of data is infinite and among its ultimate goals is customer knowledge. Having become a real competitive advantage, it also represents a major technological challenge for companies then having to collect data, sometimes crossing several sources, then analyzing them to provide tailor-made offers and services. 

The “data hub” selected by the company must therefore provide a single customer view. To do this, it is important to ensure that you have the following three functionalities: optimal data recovery, validation and harmonization. The company then has a unique view for each customer, allowing them to get to know them better and to follow their development over time. 

The data management suite Aperture Data Studio, powered by Experian, enables users to easily and quickly develop sophisticated workflows using machine learning algorithms for automatic data tagging, and enrich data from global sources recommended by Experian. It makes it possible to transform information into real commercial values, quickly and easily, while ensuring their monitoring in real time via an ergonomic and versatile platform. Companies benefit from data of verified quality that can be directly exploited in an operational manner, thus optimizing efficiency and ultimately activity.

Les caractéristiques d’un « data hub » optimal pour disposer d’une vue client unique

Nov 20, 2020 | Tribunes

Experian est partenaire de France FinTech et est impliqué dans l’écosystème fintech. David Zydron, Consultant pré-ventes chez Experian France, nous parle des caractéristiques d’un “data hub” optimale pour disposer d’une vue client unique au travers de cette tribune.

95% des entreprises admettent que le manque de qualité des données impacte leur activité. La gouvernance de ces informations a également été classée comme priorité numéro une pour les DSI en 2020, selon Gartner. Les entreprises ont ainsi besoin d’outils leur permettant à la fois de gérer la qualité, la gouvernance ou encore la règlementation des données – trois enjeux qui requièrent souvent l’utilisation de plusieurs systèmes de gestion distincts. Cela fragilise alors les temps de déploiement, le taux d’adoption des équipes devant être parfois formées à plusieurs outils mais également le niveau de risque et les coûts associés. Alors quelle solution choisir pour répondre à ce défi, quand le volume de données ne cesse d’augmenter ? Comment transformer une donnée brute en véritable insights business via une unique plateforme de gestion ? 

La nécessité de consolider les outils 

Les étapes de traitement de la donnée sont multiples, allant de la collecte à l’intégration, la validation, l’harmonisation, le dédoublonnage, la catégorisation ou l’analyse. De nombreuses entreprises multiplient donc les outils pour mener à bien ces différentes étapes et tenter d’exploiter le potentiel de la donnée collectée. Mais les avancées technologiques ont non seulement permis de perfectionner les modèles de machine learning ou d’intelligence artificielle mais aussi de repenser la connectivité de ces différents outils. En effet, il existe aujourd’hui des plateformes uniques permettant de gérer l’ensemble du parcours de traitement de la donnée. Les services et fonctionnalités data sont alors réunis dans un « data hub » unique, réduisant ainsi la complexité technique mais aussi d’utilisation. 

Une solution simple à déployer et évolutive 

Les ressources, aussi bien budgétaires qu’humaines, sont certainement le premier frein à toute initiative liée à la gestion des données. Les entreprises sont en effet réticentes à l’idée de longs déploiement fastidieux et complexes pour des équipes n’ayant parfois aucune ressource IT en interne, mais aussi par les coûts imposés et le retour sur investissement à plus ou moins long terme.

Les fournisseurs de solutions l’ont compris et commencent à proposer de plus en plus de solutions au déploiement facile ne nécessitant aucun support IT. C’est le cas des solutions basées dans le cloud permettant un déploiement très rapide, sans effort IT et avec une disponibilité immédiate.

Face à l’explosion du volume de données ; notamment constatée récemment par les plus importants retailers ayant fait face à l’augmentation soudaine du e-commerce liée à la crise de la COVID-19 ; les entreprises doivent impérativement pouvoir s’appuyer sur des technologies évolutives capables de s’adapter au développement de la société sans demander un trop grand investissement supplémentaire.

 

Une vue client unique en trois étapes : collecte, enrichissement et analyse

Le potentiel de la donnée est infini et parmi ses buts ultimes figure la connaissance client. Devenue un véritable avantage concurrentiel, elle représente également un défi technologique de taille pour les entreprises devant alors collecter les données, en croisant parfois plusieurs sources, puis les analyser pour fournir des offres et services sur mesure. 

Le « data hub » sélectionné par l’entreprise doit donc impérativement fournir une vue client unique. Pour cela, il convient de s’assurer de disposer des trois fonctionnalités suivantes : une récupération, une validation et une harmonisation optimales des données. L’entreprise dispose alors d’une visualisation unique par client permettant de mieux le connaître et de suivre son évolution au fil du temps. 

La suite de gestion de données Aperture Data Studio, proposée par Experian, permet aux utilisateurs de développer facilement et rapidement des flux de travail sophistiqués grâce aux algorithmes de machine learning pour le balisage automatique des données, et d’enrichir les données à partir de sources mondiales recommandées par Experian. Elle permet de transformer les informations en véritables valeurs commerciales, de manière simple et rapide, tout en assurant leur suivi en temps réel via une plateforme ergonomique et polyvalente. Les entreprises bénéficient de données à la qualité vérifiée et directement exploitable de manière opérationnelle, optimisant ainsi l’efficacité et in fine l’activité.