Select a page

Fintechs denounce bank attacks on open banking

September 30, 2021 | Publications

Nicolas Théry, president of the French Banking Federation (FBF), questioned a few days ago the ability of fintechs to protect customer banking data in the era of open banking. Alain Clot, president of France Fintech, responds to these accusations.

If, banks and startups are able to cooperate - like BNP Paribas which, through its subsidiary L'Atelier, accelerates FinTech -  or even to merge - buyouts of the Nickel Account by BNP Paribas, of Pumpkin by Crédit Mutuel Arkéa or Shine by Société Générale - these players in the world of finance also know how to assert their differences. In an interview with Les Echos, Nicolas Théry, arrived in July at the presidency of the French Banking Federation (FBF), went up to the front at the beginning of the week in a rather surprising charge at the address of fintech. " I don't believe in open banking », He affirms bluntly, referring to the model of opening the information systems of banks and the sharing of information of their customers' data to third parties, enacted since 2018 with the second European directive on services payment (DSP2). 

However, it is precisely on this principle that the expansion of fintech and neo-banks is based since the idea is to give customers the possibility of no longer having only a banking interface, and therefore of allow non-banking players to access customer data banks to create new services. A great opportunity to promote competition within this traditional market. But for the leader, " lregulations can sometimes be absurd ", He continues, referring to this directive, which he believes would endanger the protection of banking data.

"Insolent words"

President of the National Confederation of Crédit Mutuel, Nicolas Théry fears a " vaporization of customer data »Adding. than " lThe requirement for confidentiality and digital privacy are not negotiable. Bank data should be inalienable ". The president of the FBF, who is delighted to see the regulators take up the issue of IT risk and security concerns related to open banking, is not going four ways:

“The gigantic valuations of fintech correspond to the anticipation by the markets of a commodification of individuals and their personal data. However, it is not a question of a market choice, but of society, ”he explains to Les Echos.

« Lhe president of the French Banking Federation has pushed the plug very far, in contradiction with its members », Takes offense Alain Clot, president and founder of France Fintech, contacted by Maddyness. The entrepreneur adds, by way of a press release that “ thishe statement goes against the stance taken by many leaders in the banking world, in favor of open banking ”. He adds that while European banks have embarked on this trend, "French banks have also taken their full part in this movement, several of them being at the forefront in this field ». 

[...]

Sélectionner une page

Les fintech dénoncent les attaques des banques sur l’open banking

Sep 30, 2021 | Parutions

Nicolas Théry, président de la Fédération bancaire française (FBF), a mis en doute il y a quelques jours la capacité des fintech à protéger les données bancaires des clients, à l’ère de l’open banking. Alain Clot, président de France Fintech, répond à ces accusations.

Si, banques et startups sont capables de coopérer – à l’instar de BNP Paribas qui, via sa filiale L’Atelier, accélère des Fintech –  ou même de fusionner — rachats de Compte Nickel par BNP Paribas, de Pumpkin par le Crédit Mutuel Arkéa ou de Shine par Société générale –  ces acteurs du monde de la finance savent aussi affirmer leurs différences. Dans un entretien aux Echos, Nicolas Théry, arrivé en juillet à la présidence de la Fédération bancaire française (FBF), est monter au front en début de semaine dans une charge assez surprenante à l’adresse des fintech. « Je ne crois pas en l’open banking », affirme-t-il sans détour, faisant référence au modèle d’ouverture des systèmes d’information des banques et du partage d’information des données de leurs clients à des tiers, acté depuis 2018 avec la deuxième directive européenne sur les services de paiement (DSP2). 

Or, c’est précisément sur ce principe que repose l’expansion des fintech et des néo-banques puisque l’idée est de donner aux clients la possibilité de ne plus avoir uniquement une interface bancaire, et donc de permettre aux acteurs non bancaires d’accéder aux données des clients des banques pour créer de nouveaux services. Une belle opportunité pour favoriser la concurrence au sein de ce marché traditionnel. Mais pour le dirigeant, « la réglementation peut parfois être absurde », poursuit-il en faisant référence à cette directive, qui mettrait selon lui en danger la protection des données bancaires.

« Des propos insolents »

Président de la Confédération nationale du Crédit Mutuel, Nicolas Théry craint une « vaporisation des données des clients » ajoutant. que « l‘exigence de confidentialité et l’intimité numérique ne sont pas négociables. Les données bancaires devraient être inaliénables ». Le président de la FBF, qui se réjouit de voir les régulateurs se saisir de la question du risque informatique et des préoccupations de sécurité liées à l’open banking, n’y va pas par quatre chemins :

“Les gigantesques valorisations des fintech correspondent à l’anticipation par les marchés d’une marchandisation des individus et de leurs données personnelles. Or, il ne s’agit pas d’un choix de marché, mais de société”, explique-t-il aux Echos.

« Le président de la Fédération française bancaire a poussé le bouchon très loin, en contradiction avec ses membres », s’offusque Alain Clot, président et fondateur de France Fintech, contacté par Maddyness. L’entrepreneur ajoute, par voie de communiqué que « cette déclaration va à contre-courant des prises de position de nombreux dirigeants du monde bancaire, favorables à l’open banking » . Il ajoute que, si les banques européennes se sont engagées dans cette tendance, « les banques françaises ont aussi pris leur pleine part dans ce mouvement, plusieurs d’entre elles s’inscrivant en pointe dans ce domaine ». 

[…]