Select a page

FinTech fundraising: 2020 barometer

January 31, 2017 | News, Publications

“France FinTech, the professional association of French fintech, insurtech and regtech, publishes its annual fundraising barometer.

2020 will have been a year with an atypical profile, like a global economic environment heavily impacted by the crisis generated by the coronavirus pandemic. On the whole, companies in the sector resisted well and raised € 828,2 million in 63 transactions, an increase of 18,5% compared to 2019.

2020: a “three-beat waltz”…

The year started vigorously with major operations such as Qonto (neo-bank for professionals) € 104m and Lydia (banking / PFM and payments) € 40m, both of which welcomed international investors. € 253M were raised in the first quarter, or 36% of the total amount for 2019, as an extension of the strong growth of recent years.

From the second quarter, the movement slowed down significantly due to the consequences of the first confinement and the resulting climate of uncertainty. The gradual deconfinement made it possible to re-establish a certain momentum with € 123,2 million raised in June. Summer and autumn were marked by a wait-and-see attitude, apart from the significant fundraising of € 100M from Dataiku (Financial decision-making tool by data) in August.

The year ends, as it started, on a very positive trend. The amounts invested in December (€ 143,9 million) are close to those in January, with three major operations in particular: Luko (Home insurance) € 47,5 million, Pigment (financial decision-making tool by data) € 24,1 million and Lydia, € 72M, which thus completes its financing round at the start of the year of € 40M to reach € 112M over the year as a whole, i.e. the most important series B for a French fintech.

 

In this extremely disturbed context, French fintechs post a fine annual performance with € 828,2 million. They do significantly better than the European market (-7%) and represent an increased proportion of fundraising in the digital sector in France (15% of fundraising in 2020 against 13% in 2019).

Acceleration and development of new uses

The analysis of transactions reveals some interesting trends that confirm the maturity of the ecosystem:
• the very purpose of these surveys, focused on commercial development, diversification of models, a more assertive technological component and internationalization,
• increase in the average ticket (€ 13,1 million, or + 20,6%) with continued seed operations (43,5% of fundraising, 37,1% for series A)
• the ability to raise major tickets: 3 transactions over 100 million, 6 over 40 million euros.
• the arrival of several international investors (USA, UK, China, Singapore in particular), which demonstrates the attractiveness of our players and of the French market, a privileged gateway to Europe.
• finally, a marked growth in the valuations of leading players, which thus reduced part of the gap compared to European (UK in particular) and American champions.

 
The acceleration of sectors that are already well established:
• Insurtechs are experiencing the strongest growth (21% of fundraising, 5 points more than in 2019) with the development of neo-insurers, on-demand and parametric insurance providers or of data management functionalities.
• Payment (15,3% of fundraising) and neo-banking (31%) services are strengthening, in particular thanks to strong growth in digital uses and effective implementation of DSP2 (applications linked to open banking ).
 

Finally, beyond this phenomenon of acceleration and emergence of leaders, vertical by vertical, certain innovative uses have appeared such as:
• so-called “operational” services, dealing in a very innovative way with invoice and expense reports, or offering solutions dedicated to the purchasing or HR function. These represented almost a quarter of the raises (23,5%).
• impact models: green neo-banks, responsible investments, carbon footprint measurement, financial education.

It is of course not possible to envisage the profile of the year 2021 at this stage, as the health and economic uncertainties are great. Our ecosystem still faces the new year with resolve and confidence. »

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Levées de fonds Fintech : baromètre 2020

Jan 4, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

“France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech, insurtech et regtech françaises, publie son baromètre annuel des levées de fonds.

2020 aura été une année au profil atypique, à l’image d’un environnement économique global fortement impacté par la crise générée par la pandémie du coronavirus. Les entreprises du secteur ont dans l’ensemble bien résisté et levé 828,2 millions d’euros en 63 opérations, soit une progression de 18,5% par rapport à 2019.

2020 : une “valse à trois temps”…

L’année avait vigoureusement démarré avec d’importantes opérations comme celles de Qonto (néo-banque pour les pro) 104 M€ et Lydia (banking/PFM et paiements) 40M€, qui ont toutes deux accueilli des investisseurs de dimension internationale. 253M€ ont été levés au premier trimestre, soit 36% du montant total de 2019, en prolongement de la forte croissance des dernières années.

A partir du second trimestre, le mouvement a significativement ralenti du fait des conséquences du premier confinement et du climat d’incertitude qui en a résulté. Le déconfinement progressif a permis de rétablir une certaine dynamique avec 123,2 M€ levés au mois de juin. L’été et l’automne ont été marqués par l’attentisme, hormis l’importante levée de 100M€ de Dataiku (Outil de décision financière par la donnée) en août.

L’année se termine, comme elle avait débuté, sur une tendance très positive. Les montants investis en décembre (143,9 M€) avoisinent ceux de janvier avec notamment trois opérations d’envergure: Luko (Assurances habitation) 47,5 M€, Pigment (Outil de décision financière par la donnée) 24,1M€ et Lydia, 72M€, qui complète ainsi son tour de financement du début d’année de 40M€ pour atteindre 112 M€ sur l’ensemble de l’année, soit la plus importante série B pour une fintech française.

 

Dans ce contexte extrêmement perturbé, les fintech françaises signent une belle performance annuelle avec 828,2 M€. Elles font nettement mieux que le marché européen (-7%) et représentent une proportion accrue des levées du secteur du numérique en France (15% des levées de fonds en 2020 contre 13% en 2019).

Accélération et développement de nouveaux usages

L’analyse des transactions révèle certaines tendances intéressantes qui confirment l’arrivée à maturité de l’écosystème :
• l’objet lui même de ces levées, centré sur le développement commercial, la diversification des modèles, une composante technologique plus affirmée et l’internationalisation,
• l’accroissement du ticket moyen (13,1 M€ soit +20,6%) avec un maintien des opérations d’amorçage ( 43,5% des levées, 37,1% pour les séries A)
• la capacité à lever des tickets importants : 3 opérations de plus de 100 millions, 6 de plus de 40 M€.
• l’arrivée de plusieurs investisseurs internationaux (USA, UK, Chine, Singapour notamment), qui démontre l’attractivité de nos acteurs et du marché français, porte d’entrée privilégiée en Europe.
• enfin une croissance marquée des valorisations des acteurs leaders qui réduisent ainsi une partie de l’écart par rapport aux champions européens (UK notamment) et américains.

 
L’accélération de secteurs déjà bien installés :
• Les insurtech connaissent la plus forte croissance (21% des levées, 5 points de plus qu’en 2019) avec le développement de néo-assureurs, fournisseurs d’assurance à la demande et paramétrique ou de fonctionnalités de gestion de données.
• Les services de paiement (15,3% des levées) et de néo-banque (31%) se renforcent, notamment grâce à une forte progression des usages numériques et une mise en œuvre effective de DSP2 (applications liées à l’open banking).
 

Enfin, au-delà de ce phénomène d’accélération et d’émergence de leaders, verticale par verticale, sont apparus certains usages innovants tels que :
• les services dits “opérationnels”, traitant de façon très novatrice les problématiques de facture et note de frais, ou proposant des solutions dédiées à la fonction achat ou RH. Ceux-ci ont représenté presque un quart des levées (23,5%).
• les modèles à impact : néo-banques vertes, investissements responsables, mesure de l’empreinte carbone, éducation financière.

Il n’est bien entendu pas possible d’envisager à ce stade le profil de l’année 2021, tant les incertitudes sanitaires et économiques sont grandes. Il reste que notre écosystème aborde la nouvelle année avec résolution et confiance.”