Select a page

Despite the crisis, French fintechs continued to attract capital in 2020

December 31, 2020 | News, Publications

“Despite a year 2020 with an atypical profile, with a global economic environment strongly impacted by the crisis, French fintechs performed much better in terms of fundraising than their European counterparts.

The technology and its effects, which are persistent connectivity and dematerialization, are shaking up markets and redistributing the cards. The platformization of cars is a telling example. From the primary function of means of transport, they are in the process of being transformed into true multimedia and multifunction terminals. Car manufacturers accustomed to selling vehicles, parts and services will have to broaden their field of expertise and reorient their supply chain to evolve, within a few years, into developers of applications, cybersecurity and connected services. In financial services, the revolution is also radical.

The sector has recently seen the emergence of new technological innovations and process disruptions. From operations management to algorithm-based technological innovations associated with payments, cryptocurrency, blockchains, AI and ML, and cross-border payments open up opportunities for successful business models. Many startups have sprung up to interfere in the interstices of a disrupted market, not only by technology-based innovations, but also by changing regulations.

A booming start slowed down by confinement ...

This is one of the reasons why fintechs have done better than withstand the crisis that shook the economy in 2020. This is shown by the annual barometer of fundraising from France FinTech, the professional association French fintech, insurtech and regtech. The companies in the sector have generally held up well, reveals the barometer. They raised € 828,2 million in 63 operations, an increase of 18,5% compared to 2019.

Yet the year 2020 has not been a long quiet river. After a booming start in the first quarter with fundraising totaling € 253m, or 36% of the total fundraising for 2019, the flow of financing suddenly dried up in the second quarter, under the paralyzing effect of the first confinement and the resulting uncertainties. The gradual deconfinement made it possible to re-establish a certain momentum with € 123,2 million raised in June. Summer and autumn were marked by the wait, apart from the significant fundraising of € 100 million from Dataiku (Financial decision-making tool by data) in August.

... then a vigorous recovery at the end of the year

"The year ends, as it started, on a very positive trend," rejoices France FinTech. The amounts invested in December (€ 143,9 million) are close to those in January, with three major operations in particular: Luko (Home insurance) € 47,5 million, Pigment (financial decision-making tool by data) € 24,1 million and Lydia, € 72 million, which thus completes its financing round at the start of the year of € 40 million to reach € 112 million over the year as a whole, the largest series B for a French fintech.

“In this extremely disturbed context, French fintechs are posting a good annual performance with €828,2 million. They are doing significantly better than the European market (-7%) and represent an increased proportion of fundraising in the digital sector in France (15% of fundraising in 2020 compared to 13% in 2019)”, concludes the France FinTech report. »

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Malgré la crise, les fintech française ont continué à attirer les capitaux en 2020

Déc 31, 2020 | Actualité, Parutions

“Malgré une année 2020 au profil atypique, avec un environnement économique global fortement impacté par la crise, les fintech françaises ont bien mieux performé en termes de levées de fond que leurs homologues européennes.

La technologie et ses effets, que sont la connectivité persistante et la dématérialisation, bousculent les marchés et redistribuent les cartes. La plateformisation des voitures en est un exemple parlant. De la fonction première de moyen de transport, elles sont en train de se transformer en véritables terminaux multimédia et multifonction. Les fabricants de voitures habitués à vendre des véhicules, des pièces détachées et des services devront élargir leur champ de compétences et réorienter leur chaîne d’approvisionnement pour se muer, en quelques années, en développeurs d’applications, de cybersécurité et de services connectés. Dans les services financiers, la révolution est aussi radicale.

Le secteur a connu récemment l’émergence de nouvelles innovations technologiques et des perturbations de processus. De de la gestion des opérations aux innovations technologiques basées sur les algorithmes et associées aux paiements, à la cryptomonnaie, aux chaînes de blocs, à l’IA et au ML, et aux paiements transfrontaliers ouvrent des opportunités à des modèles économiques fructueux. De nombreuses startups ont vu le jour pour s’immiscer dans les interstices d’un marché perturbé, non seulement par les innovations basées sur la technologie, mais aussi par l’évolution des régulations.

Un démarrage en trombe ralenti par le confinement…

C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles les fintech ont fait mieux que résister à la crise qui a secoué l’économie en 2020. C’est ce que montre le baromètre annuel des levées de fonds de France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech, insurtech et regtech françaises. Les entreprises du secteur ont dans l’ensemble bien résisté révèle le baromètre. Elles ont levé 828,2 millions d’euros en 63 opérations, soit une progression de 18,5 % par rapport à 2019.

Pourtant l’année 2020 n’a pas été un long fleuve tranquille. Après un démarrage en trombe au premier trimestre avec des levées de fond d’un montant total de 253 M€, soit 36 % du total des levées de fond de 2019, le flux des financements s’est soudainement tari au second trimestre, sous l’effet paralysant du premier confinement et des incertitudes qui en ont résulté. Le déconfinement progressif a permis de rétablir une certaine dynamique avec 123,2 M€ levés au mois de juin. L’été et l’automne ont été marqués par l’attentisme, hormis l’importante levée de 100 M€ de Dataiku (Outil de décision financière par la donnée) en août.

… puis une reprise vigoureuse en fin d’année

« L’année se termine, comme elle avait débuté, sur une tendance très positive », se réjouit France FinTech. Les montants investis en décembre (143,9 M€) avoisinent ceux de janvier avec notamment trois opérations d’envergure : Luko (Assurances habitation) 47,5 M€, Pigment (Outil de décision financière par la donnée) 24,1 M€ et Lydia, 72 M€, qui complète ainsi son tour de financement du début d’année de 40 M€ pour atteindre 112 M€ sur l’ensemble de l’année, soit la plus importante série B pour une fintech française.

« Dans ce contexte extrêmement perturbé, les fintech françaises signent une belle performance annuelle avec 828,2 M€. Elles font nettement mieux que le marché européen (-7 %) et représentent une proportion accrue des levées du secteur du numérique en France (15 % des levées de fonds en 2020 contre 13 % en 2019) », conclut le rapport de France FinTech.”