Select a page

New season for the French fintech team!

January 31, 2017 | Press Releases

Key figures for the sector, 2019 panorama of French fintechs and major ecosystem events.

Paris, le 30 janvier 2019

France FinTech, the professional association of French fintech, today publishes key figures illustrating the acceleration of the sector in France and announces the programming for its 2019 season.

In four years, France FinTech, association created by French fintech entrepreneurs, has established itself as a privileged interlocutor and a trusted player in the financial ecosystem.

The association is committed to;

  • à represent young shoots, start-ups and independent scale-ups with the public authorities, the regulator, the media and various stakeholders,
  • à animate the ecosystem, promoting the excellence of the sector in France and abroad,
  • and participate to the development of an environment favorable to the development of champions and to the attractiveness of the Place de Paris!

For France FinTech, its members and its partners, the year 2018 ended around the annual Christmas dinner where more than 160 French fintech decision-makers gathered, public and private supporters who support the association. The opportunity to present a retrospective of the past year and to launch the 2019 season.

 

Some data on the sector:

  • € 365m raised for 72 deals in 2018 compared to € 318 million for 61 deals in 2017, i.e. + 15% and € 5,2 million in average tickets.
  • FinTech is the 2nd sector in terms of fundraising in 2018. It represents more than 8,5% of start-up fundraising in France (2018), behind Adtech.
  • The reason for the levies is interesting: it is very often a question of financing theacceleration and internationalization. Otherwise + 52% of French fintechs develop activities abroad (EU & International) and 70% are aiming for a foreign establishment by 2019/2020.
  • 3 French fintechs appear in the 2018 list of 100 Fintech leaders in the world ; October (ex-Lendix) ranks 45th among the "Leading 50", + Simple.fr and Shift Technology are positioned in the"Emerging 50».
  • 1 French fintech received an “Innovation Award” at CES from Las Vegas in early January; Ledger, for its new hardware wallet, the Ledger Nano X.
  • 6 fintech received the French Tech pass : Famoco, Lemonway, Linxo, Sesamm, Utocat, Younited Credit.
  • A strong dominance of new generation financing, investment and savings activities since French fintechs are distributed as follows: 43,9% Financing, investment and savings services (39% in 2018), 20,3% Payment services (19% in 2018), 16,1% Regtech , operations and infrastructure (17% in 2018), 10,8% Assurtech (14% in 2018), 8,9% Banking / PFM (11% in 2018).
  • Local dynamism with 25% of fintechs created in the regions and numerous initiatives to support research and entrepreneurship.  
  • 33% of French fintech teams were made up of women at the end of 2018, an encouraging figure given the figures for the global financial sector and that of the tech sector.

 

 2019, a year of acceleration

The year which begins will be marked by intense activity.

France FinTech is happy to count on his sides ofs partners committed trust to make France a stronghold for global fintech; we would like to thank Arkéa, Société Générale, Mazars, Banque Casino, CNP, Mastercard, Oliver Wyman, Suravenir, Blackfin CP, Roland Berger, Claranet, Oney, Google, Mangopay, Morning, One Point for their support. There is still time to join us to participate in this dynamic!  

Our fintechs are resolutely committed to an internationalization movement, in particular within the Single Market (but not only), the search for critical size and the viability of economic models.

"We now have internationally recognized champions and this will continue: many start-ups are ready to take over, in all service segments.. ” comments Alain Clot, President of France FinTech

The consequences of regulatory projects (PSD2, RGPD in particular) will be major, in particular for fintechs involved in payments, aggregators, neo-banks and insurance companies. After a first wave rather focused on individuals, players are strongly diversifying their developments towards business services, asset management, service platforms, etc.

Finally, entrepreneurs will be able to draw on leading local skills in cognitive science, artificial intelligence, blockchain and the internet of things, as well as on the very numerous partnerships concluded with players in the banking and insurance system, telecom operators, mass distribution, technology.

So many exciting prospects for fintechs and their association!

 

 

 First announcements of the 2019 season:

  • Panorama of French fintech 2019 France FinTech x BlackFin Tech: 

    Like every year, France FinTech publishes in partnership with BlackFin Tech the original panorama of French fintechs.
    Nearly 500 companies were listed this year, a promising vintage which reflects the acceleration of the sector in France. These were classified in 5 distinct families, then in sub-category of activity.

     

  • Fintech R: Evolutionⓒ - Tuesday April 9, 2019 • Station F • 13 pm to 20 pm: 

    Destination: Excellence! will be the theme of Fintech R: Evolution 2019 # FFT19.
    => Early bird tickets
    This 4th edition will address key topics that contribute to the influence of the sector, such as the performance of French fintechs. in terms of security (standards, regulations, compliance), innovation and technological mastery (AI, open banking, blockchain) and of course the key factors that propel our entrepreneurs towards excellence (capitalization, ambition, entrepreneurial vision, etc.).

     

  • New - 10 Fintech Days: 

    Welcome to France ! French fintechs welcome you for a spring in Paris.
    Du April 2 to 11, 2019, a series of events will be organized to reveal France's potential in digital finance. University conferences, open innovation weekends, discovery of research centers and incubators, events on gender diversity, closing of the Fintech Tour are just some of the events that will be offered.

     

     About France FinTech:

    Created in 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech brings together companies using operational, technological or economic, innovative and disruptive models, aimed at addressing existing or emerging issues in the financial services industry and representing the main components of the Faculty.

    The association's mission is to promote excellence in the sector in France and abroad and to represent French fintechs to public authorities, the regulator and the ecosystem. It is chaired by Alain Clot and Kristen Charvin is its general delegate. Its steering committee brings together the founders and directors of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, FLUO, LYDIA, OCTOBER, QONTO, SMART ANGELS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

    Contact : press [at] francefintech.org 

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Nouvelle saison pour l’équipe de France de la fintech !

Jan 30, 2019 | Communiqués de presse

Chiffres clés du secteur, panorama 2019 des fintech françaises et grands rendez-vous de l’écosystème.

Paris, le 30 janvier 2019

France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech françaises, publie aujourd’hui les chiffres clés illustrant l’accélération du secteur en France et annonce la programmation de sa saison 2019.

En quatre ans, France FinTech, association créée par les entrepreneurs de la fintech française, s’est imposée comme un interlocuteur privilégié et un acteur de confiance dans l’écosystème financier.

L’association s’attache à ;

  • à représenter les jeunes pousses, start-up et scale-up indépendantes auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur, des médias et des différentes parties prenantes,
  • à animer l’écosystème, promouvoir l’excellence de la filière en France et à l’étranger,
  • et à participer à l’essor d’un environnement favorable au développement de champions et à l’attractivité de la Place de Paris !

Pour France FinTech, ses membres et ses partenaires, l’année 2018 s’est clôturée autour du dîner de Noël annuel où se sont retrouvés plus de 160 décideurs de la fintech française, soutiens publics et privés qui accompagnent l’association. L’occasion de présenter une rétrospective de l’année écoulée et de lancer la saison 2019.

 

Quelques données sur le secteur :

  • 365 M€ levés pour 72 deals en 2018 contre 318 M€ pour 61 deals en 2017 soit +15% et 5,2M€ de ticket moyen.
  • La Fintech est le 2ème secteur en termes de levées de fonds en 2018. Elle représente plus de 8,5% des levées de start-up en France (2018), derrière les Adtech.
  • Le motif des levées est intéressant : il s’agit très souvent de financer l’accélération et l’internationalisation. Par ailleurs +52% des fintechs françaises développent des activités à l’étranger (EU & International) et 70% visent une implantation étrangère à horizon 2019/2020.
  • 3  fintech françaises figurent dans le palmarès 2018 des 100 Fintech leaders dans le monde ; October (ex-Lendix) se classe à la 45ème place parmi les  «Leading 50», +Simple.fr et Shift Technology se positionnent quant à elles dans les  «Emerging 50».
  • 1 fintech française a reçu un «Innovation Award» au CES de Las Vegas début janvier ; Ledger, pour son nouveau hardware wallet, le Ledger Nano X.
  • 6 fintech ont reçu le pass French Tech : Famoco, Lemonway, Linxo, Sesamm, Utocat, Younited Credit.
  • Une forte dominante d’activités de financement, d’investissement et d’épargne nouvelle génération puisque les fintech françaises sont réparties comme suit : 43,9% Services de financement , d’investissement et d’épargne (39% en 2018), 20,3% Services de paiement (19% en 2018), 16,1% Regtech, opérations et infrastructures (17% en 2018), 10,8% Assurtech (14% en 2018) , 8,9% Banking /PFM (11% en 2018).
  • Un dynamisme local avec 25% des fintech créées en région et de nombreuses initiatives de soutien à la recherche et à l’entrepreneuriat.  
  • 33% des équipes de la fintech française sont constituées de femmes fin 2018, un chiffre encourageant au regard des chiffres du secteur financier global et de celui de la tech.

 

 2019, une année d’accélération

L’année qui commence sera marquée par une activité intense.

France FinTech est heureuse de compter à ses côtés des partenaires de confiance engagés pour faire de la France une place forte de la fintech mondiale ; nous remercions Arkéa, Société Générale, Mazars, Banque Casino, CNP, Mastercard, Oliver Wyman, Suravenir, Blackfin CP, Roland Berger, Claranet, Oney, Google, Mangopay, Morning, One Point pour leur soutien. Il est encore temps de nous rejoindre pour participer à cette dynamique !  

Nos fintech sont résolument engagées dans un mouvement d’internationalisation, en particulier au sein du Marché unique (mais pas seulement), de recherche de taille critique et de viabilisation des modèles économiques.

Nous disposons désormais de champions reconnus internationalement et cela va perdurer : de nombreuses start-up sont prêtes pour la relève, dans tous les segments de services.” commente Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech

Les conséquences des chantiers réglementaires (DSP2, RGPD notamment) seront majeures, en particulier pour les fintech impliquées dans les paiements, les agrégateurs, les néo-banques et les assurtech. Après une première vague plutôt centrée vers les particuliers, les acteurs diversifient fortement leurs développements vers les services aux entreprises, la gestion d’actifs, les plateformes de services, etc.

Enfin, les entrepreneurs pourront s’appuyer sur les compétences locales de premier plan en matière de sciences cognitives, intelligence artificielle, blockchain et internet des objets, tout comme sur les partenariats très nombreux conclus avec les acteurs du système bancaire et d’assurance, les opérateurs de télécom, de la grande distribution, de la technologie.

Autant de perspectives exaltantes pour les fintech et leur association !

 

 

 Premières annonces de la saison 2019  :

  • Panorama des fintech françaises 2019 France FinTech x BlackFin Tech : 

    Comme chaque année, France FinTech publie en partenariat avec BlackFin Tech le panorama original des fintechs françaises.
    Près de 500 entreprises ont cette année étaient recensées, un cru prometteur qui reflète l’accélération du secteur en France. Celles-ci ont été classées en 5 familles distinctes, puis en sous-catégorie d’activité.

     

  • Fintech R:Evolutionⓒ – Mardi 9 avril 2019 • Station F • 13h à 20h : 

    Destination : Excellence ! sera le thème de Fintech R:Evolution 2019 #FFT19.
    => Early bird tickets
    Cette 4ème édition permettra d’aborder des sujets essentiels qui contribuent au rayonnement du secteur, telles que les performances des fintech françaises en termes de sécurité (standards, réglementation, conformité), d’innovation et de maîtrise technologique (IA, open banking, blockchain) et bien évidemment les facteurs clés qui propulsent nos entrepreneurs vers l’excellence (capitalisation, ambition, vision entrepreneuriale etc).

     

  • Nouveauté – 10 Fintech Days  : 

    Welcome in France ! Les fintechs françaises vous accueillent pour un printemps à Paris.
    Du 2 au 11 avril 2019, une série d’événements sera organisée pour révéler le potentiel de la France en matière de finance digitale. Conférences universitaires, week-end d’open innovation, découverte de centres de recherche et d’incubateurs, événements sur la mixité, clôture du Fintech Tour sont autant de RDV qui seront proposés.

     

     A propos de France FinTech :

    Créée en 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech fédère les sociétés utilisant des modèles opérationnels, technologiques ou économiques, innovants et disruptifs, visant à traiter des problématiques existantes ou émergentes de l’industrie des services financiers et représentant les principales composantes de la filière.

    L’association s’est donnée pour mission de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les fintech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. Elle est présidée par Alain Clot et Kristen Charvin en est sa déléguée générale . Son comité directeur rassemble les fondateurs et dirigeants d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, FLUO, LYDIA, OCTOBER, QONTO, SMART ANGELS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

    Contact : presse [at] francefintech.org