Select a page

Paris looks sweet to British fintechs

March 30, 2021 | News, Publications

Since Brexit, fintechs have been seeking approval to operate in the European Union. Paris is trying to get out of the game.

Due to Brexit, British fintechs have lost their European passport, which allows them to operate in all countries of the European Union. To continue their activity within the European economic area, they seek to obtain an authorization in another European country.

[...]

116 projects related to Brexit

Nowadays, “No European country is really doing well because of Brexit. Arbitrations will take place later ”, says Mia Dassas. When the Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA) draft regulation is adopted and comes into force, "I have high hopes that Paris will get ahead of its European neighbors thanks to the experience acquired by our regulators during the implementation of the French regime ddigital asset service providers (PSAN) from which MiCA seems to be partly inspired ”, she adds.

According to a report by Choose Paris Region et Paris Europlace, 116 projects (or 3.517 jobs) related to the Brexit of establishment, investment or relocation have chosen Ile-de-France as the host country. Among these projects, 16 concern the fintech sector, representing 300 jobs. It is the third most dynamic sector, behind 33 asset management projects (360 jobs) and 29 banking projects (2.080 jobs), ahead of insurance or financial advice.

Alain Clot, president of France FinTech, does not expect massive relocations to Paris. If we see that foreign investors have been betting more on French fintechs for a year and a half, "The direct link with Brexit has not been established", he believes. The latter is betting more on the maturity of French nuggets. "These are not battalions that will move from London to Paris, but it is clear that the incentive to base new projects with us has clearly increased. ”

Since the start of the year, French fintechs have raised 350 million euros on 28 operations with an average ticket of 13 million euros, or 40% more than last year at the same period. The share of foreign investors is more important there: among them, 40% of Americans, 13% of British, 7% of Chinese. "Obviously, something is happening with regard to the attractiveness of our ecosystem", he concluded.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Paris fait les yeux doux aux fintechs britanniques

Mar 30, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

Depuis le Brexit, les fintech cherchent à obtenir des agréments pour opérer dans l’Union européenne. Paris tente de tirer son épingle du jeu.

En raison du Brexit, les fintechs britanniques ont perdu leur passeport européen, qui permet d’opérer dans tous les pays de l’Union européenne. Pour continuer leur activité au sein de l’espace économique européen, elles cherchent à obtenir un agrément dans un autre pays européen.

[…]

116 projets en lien avec le Brexit

A ce jour, «aucun pays européen ne tire vraiment son épingle du jeu du fait du Brexit. Les arbitrages s’opéreront plus tard», estime Mia Dassas. Lorsque le projet de règlement Markets in Crypto-Assets Régulation (MiCA) sera adopté et entrera en vigueur, «j’ai bon espoir que Paris devancera ses voisins européens grâce à l’expérience acquise par nos régulateurs lors de la mise en œuvre du régime français des prestataires de services sur actifs numériques (PSAN) dont MiCA semble en partie s’inspirer», ajoute-t-elle.

Selon un rapport de Choose Paris Région et Paris Europlace, 116 projets (soit 3.517 emplois) en lien avec le Brexit d’implantation, d’investissement ou de relocalisation ont choisi l’Ile-de-France comme terre d’accueil. Parmi ces projets, 16 concernent le secteur des fintechs, représentant 300 emplois. Il s’agit du troisième secteur le plus dynamique, derrière 33 projets en gestion d’actifs (360 postes) et 29 projets en banque (2.080 postes), devant l’assurance ou le conseil financier.

Alain Clot, président de France Fintech, ne s’attend pas à des relocalisations massives à Paris. Si l’on constate que les investisseurs étrangers misent davantage sur les fintechs françaises depuis un an et demi, «le lien direct avec le Brexit n’est pas établi», estime-t-il. Ce dernier parie plutôt sur l’arrivée à maturité des pépites françaises. «Ce ne sont pas des bataillons qui vont se déplacer de Londres à Paris, mais il est clair que l’incitation à baser de nouveaux projets chez nous a nettement crû.»

Depuis le début de l’année, les fintechs françaises ont levé 350 millions d’euros sur 28 opérations avec un ticket moyen de 13 millions d’euros, soit 40% de plus que l’an dernier à la même période. La part des investisseurs étrangers y est d’ailleurs plus importante : parmi eux , 40% d’Américains, 13% de Britanniques, 7% de Chinois. «A l’évidence, il se passe quelque chose pour ce qui concerne l’attractivité de notre écosystème», conclut-il.