Select a page

Why fintech doesn't like women

April 5, 2019 | Publications

Article by Jean-Jacques Manceau for Forbes following the publication of the study France FinTech x Arkea x Roland Berger - Gender diversity in fintech: where are the women?. A study that points to a problem: women are too little present in the fintech ecosystem.

[...]

The latest study by France FinTech, Arkéa and the Roland Berger firm has just thrown a stone in the pond. Fintech doesn't like women! In 2019, women represented 33% of French FinTech teams. But they are only 12% to occupy a management position and even less to be the founders or to direct this type of company (9%).

[...]

The causes ? In the disorder one can quote the education and the orientation biases which exist in favor of the boys towards the scientific studies providing talent in FinTech, the cultural representation of the financial, banking and technological environment which results from it, more hermetic to the participation of women, and the fact that women internalize several self-censorship mechanisms that influence their career choices, especially entrepreneurial ones.

[...]

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Pourquoi la fintech n’aime pas les femmes

Avr 5, 2019 | Parutions

Article par Jean-Jacques Manceau pour Forbes à la suite de la publication de l’étude France Fintech x Arkea x Roland BergerMixité dans la fintech : où sont les femmes ?. Une étude qui vient pointer du doigt une problématique : les femmes sont trop peu présentes dans l’écosystème fintech.

[…]

La dernière étude de France FinTech, Arkéa et du cabinet Roland Berger vient jeter un pavé dans la mare. La Fintech n’aime pas les femmes ! En 2019, les femmes représentent 33% des équipes FinTech Françaises. Mais elles ne sont que 12% à occuper un poste de direction et moins encore à en être les fondatrices ou à diriger ce type d’entreprises (9%).

[…]

Les causes ? Dans le désordre on peut citer l’éducation et les biais d’orientation qui existent en faveur des garçons vers les études scientifiques pourvoyeuses de talents dans les FinTech, la représentation culturelle du milieu financier, bancaire et technologique qui en découle, plus hermétique à la participation des femmes, et le fait que les femmes intériorisent plusieurs mécanismes d’autocensure qui influencent leur choix de carrière, notamment entrepreneuriaux.

[…]