Select a page

SOS Retraite: the French need help

October 13, 2020 | News, grandstands

When it comes to approaching retirement savings, we tend to kick in! Yet we are all more or less aware that our pensions are in danger.

Money, finance, investments… terms that are still taboo in France! So when it comes to approaching retirement savings, we tend to kick in! However, because we have been told it for years in the media, and the subject comes back to the table with each new five-year term, we are all more or less aware that our pensions are in danger. A concern expressed by at least two thirds of French people who believe that the amount of their future pensions will not be sufficient to live properly in retirement. If they rely solely on the current pension system, their concern may be confirmed. Indeed, the current system will not be sufficient for a majority of French retirees in an increasingly near future. Also, once we have the capacity, it is essential to anticipate and start saving to compensate as much as possible for this drop in future income. However, it would still be necessary to know how to do it. And in this game, the French are far from having all the cards in hand to play the game well.

A historically generous French retirement system that is running out of steam!

The system of pay-as-you-go retirement that we know, generalized in France during the Second World War in a context of baby boom and strong economic growth, made it possible to provide French employees with “decent” pensions for years, without them worrying about preparing for their personal retirement. Also, with the exception of some socio-professional categories who benefited from less advantageous systems (craftsmen, traders, farmers, liberal professions, business managers, etc.), the low discount between earned income and pensions paid thanks to the pension schemes in place until now n did not encourage the French to be far-sighted and to save to supplement their pensions. The majority of French people are therefore not very experienced and knowledgeable in terms of savings products compared to their European neighbors.

However, in view of the evolution of current demographics (increase in life expectancy, difference between the proportion of working people and retirees in particular), the budget of the pension system is now totally unbalanced. It is obvious that the current system will not be sufficient to serve the same levels of pension than before to all French people, whatever their level of income in activity. It is therefore essential that everyone be aware of this. We hear a lot of people say, especially among the younger generations, that retirement “there won't be!”. It is precisely because it is partly true that it is advisable to anticipate it and to take charge in order to prepare for it.

French people angry with finance

Even though there is growing concern in the country on the subject of pensions, only 1 in 5 French people say they have already taken steps to prepare them financially. And this is not surprising: 77% of French people believe they have little or no knowledge of savings! This lack of financial knowledge leads them to postpone this moment of preparation for retirement, which comes much later in France than among the average of our fellow Europeans, for example. When we know that the amount of savings necessary to obtain around 1 euros of monthly pension at retirement is around 000 euros, the urgency of this anticipation becomes immediately more concrete!

Because they do not master them sufficiently, the French are also very suspicious of savings products in the broad sense, and even more of retirement savings products that they often consider opaque and above all too risky. They often prefer to rely on more secure and liquid precautionary savings products such as A booklet or the euro fund of their life insurance or more tangible such as real estate. Products whose yields have been declining for more than a decade, which are not suited to preparing for their retirement and which are in many cases underperforming (the livret A rate has been lower than the rate for years. inflation).

A duty to educate and support institutional actors

The lack of transparency, advice and support on the part of the majority of financial players is a major contributor to this mistrust and lack of interest on the part of most French people towards financial institutions. financial products. The lack of economic and financial education in France must also be questioned when we know that in some of our European neighbors, these concepts are addressed from primary school.

For the French to become fully aware on an individual basis of the need to prepare well for their retirement, and to adopt the right methods to do so, they must have all the cards in hand. And for this, a collective awareness on the part of the State, savings managers and insurers as to their essential role in financial education is just as essential.

The first initiatives were born to overcome this lack of knowledge and simplify existing products such as the creation of the Retirement Savings Plan (PER) or more recently, the “Savings meeting”, online conferences to promote the financial culture of French people created at the initiative of ACPR et AMF. All this is not enough. Although, since the beginning of the year, we have been proud of the success of this famous PER in terms of collection, this collection remains concentrated on too small a fringe of the population.

And the companies in all this?

2 in 3 French people also believe that it is up to the company to participate in improving the level of retirement of its employees, and they are even 72% to consider that companies should be obliged to set up a system of retirement. retirement savings like the company mutual. So that the French can prepare for their retirement under the best conditions, companies indeed have a real social role to play for their employees. The State is starting to push in this direction, with tax incentives in particular, although sometimes timid (exemption of employer contributions, premiums paid deductible from taxable profit, social package at 16% instead of 20%), but there are still too few companies that set up this type of system for all of their employees.

If the French continue to think that they can only count on a welfare state for a peaceful retirement, and that the preparation for their retirement begins after 45 years, they are deluding themselves. If the state, banks and insurers think that the French will reconcile with finance tomorrow and save massively for their retirement, they are deluding themselves just as much. It is urgent that a collective and individual awareness on the need to educate the French to prepare for their retirement takes place on the part of all stakeholders if we do not want to leave some of our future seniors on the side of the road! Individuals, companies, institutional players, the State, tomorrow's retirement must be everyone's business.

SOURCE> Newspaper

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

SOS Retraite : les Français ont besoin d’aide

Oct 13, 2020 | Actualité, Tribunes

Quand il s’agit d’aborder l’épargne retraite, on a tendance à botter en touche ! Pourtant, nous sommes tous plus ou moins conscients que nos retraites sont en danger.

Argent, finance, placements… des termes toujours aussi tabous en France ! Alors quand il s’agit d’aborder l’épargne retraite, on a tendance à botter en touche ! Pourtant, parce qu’on nous le répète depuis des années dans les médias, et que le sujet revient sur la table à chaque nouveau quinquennat, nous sommes tous plus ou moins conscients que nos retraites sont en danger. Une inquiétude exprimée par au moins deux tiers des Français qui estiment que le montant de leurs futures pensions ne sera pas suffisant pour vivre correctement à la retraite. S’ils comptent uniquement sur le système de retraite actuel, leur inquiétude risque d’être confirmée. En effet, le système actuel ne sera pas suffisant pour une majorité des retraités français dans un futur de plus en plus proche. Aussi, dès lors qu’on en a la capacité, il est primordial d’anticiper et commencer à épargner pour compenser au maximum cette baisse de revenus future. Pour autant, encore faudrait-il savoir comment faire. Et à ce jeu-là, les Français sont loin d’avoir toutes les cartes en main pour bien jouer la partie.

Un système de retraite Français historiquement généreux mais à bout de souffle !

Le système de retraite par répartition que nous connaissons, généralisé en France au cours de la seconde guerre mondiale dans un contexte de baby-boom et de croissance économique forte, a permis de servir aux salariés Français des pensions “convenables” pendant des années, sans qu’ils ne se préoccupent de la préparation de leur retraite à titre personnel. Aussi, à l’exception de certaines catégories socio-professionnelles qui bénéficiaient de systèmes moins avantageux (artisans, commerçants, agriculteurs, professions libérales, dirigeants d’entreprises, etc.), la faible décote entre les revenus d’activité et les pensions servies grâce aux régimes de retraite en place jusqu’à présent n’a pas incité les Français à être prévoyants et à épargner pour compléter leurs pensions. La majorité des Français est donc peu aguerrie et avertie en termes de produits d’épargne par rapport à ses voisins européens.

Cependant, au vu de l’évolution de la démographie actuelle (augmentation de l’espérance de vie, différence entre la proportion d’actifs et de retraités notamment), le budget du régime des retraites est désormais totalement déséquilibré. Il est évident que le système actuel ne sera pas suffisant pour servir les mêmes niveaux de pension qu’auparavant à tous les Français, quel que soit leur niveau de revenu en activité. Il est donc indispensable que chacun en prenne conscience. On entend beaucoup dire, et notamment dans les plus jeunes générations que la retraite “il n’y en aura pas !”. C’est justement parce que c’est en partie vrai qu’il convient de l’anticiper et de se prendre en main pour s’y préparer.

Des Français fâchés avec la finance

Quand bien même il existe une inquiétude grandissante dans le pays sur le sujet des retraites, seulement 1 Français sur 5 déclare avoir déjà pris des mesures pour la préparer sur le plan financier. Et ce n’est pas surprenant : 77% des Français estiment avoir peu ou pas de connaissances en matière d’épargne ! Ce manque de connaissances financières les amène à repousser ce moment de préparation de la retraite qui intervient beaucoup plus tardivement en France que chez la moyenne de nos concitoyens européens par exemple. Quand on sait que le montant d’épargne nécessaire pour obtenir environ 1 000 euros de rente mensuelle à la retraite est d’environ 300 000 euros, l’urgence de cette anticipation devient tout de suite plus concrète !

Parce qu’ils ne les maîtrisent pas suffisamment, les Français sont aussi très méfiants à l’égard des produits d’épargne au sens large, et encore plus des produits d’épargne retraite qu’ils jugent souvent opaques et surtout trop risqués. Ils préfèrent bien souvent s’en remettre à des produits d’épargne de précaution plus sécurisés et liquides comme le Livret A ou le fonds euros de leur assurance-vie ou plus tangibles comme l’immobilier. Des produits dont les rendements s’étiolent depuis plus d’une décennie, qui ne sont pas adaptés à la préparation de leur retraite et qui sont dans bien des cas sous-performants (le taux du livret A est depuis des années inférieur à l’inflation).

Un devoir de pédagogie et d’accompagnement des acteurs institutionnels

Le manque de transparence, de conseils et d’accompagnement de la part de la majorité des acteurs financiers participe grandement à cette méfiance et à ce désintérêt de la plupart des Français à l’égard des produits financiers. L’absence d’éducation économique et financière en France doit également être mise en cause quand on sait que chez certains de nos voisins européens, ces notions sont abordées dès le primaire.

Pour que les Français prennent pleinement conscience à titre individuel de la nécessité de bien préparer leur retraite, et adoptent les bonnes méthodes pour le faire, il faut qu’ils aient toutes les cartes en main. Et pour cela, une prise de conscience collective de la part de l’État, des gestionnaires d’épargne ou encore des assureurs quant à leur rôle essentiel en matière de pédagogie financière est tout aussi indispensable.

De premières initiatives sont nées pour pallier ce manque de connaissance et simplifier les produits existants comme la création du Plan d’Épargne Retraite (PER) ou plus récemment, les “Rendez-vous de l’épargne”, des conférences en ligne pour promouvoir la culture financière des Français créés à l’initiative de l’ACPR et l’AMF. Tout ça n’est pas suffisant. Bien que l’on se targue en effet depuis le début de l’année du succès de ce fameux PER en matière de collecte, cette collecte reste concentrée sur une frange trop faible de la population.

Et les entreprises dans tout ça ?

2 Français sur 3 estiment par ailleurs qu’il revient à l’entreprise de participer à l’amélioration du niveau de retraite de ses collaborateurs, et ils sont même 72% à estimer que les entreprises devraient être obligées de mettre en place un dispositif d’épargne retraite à l’instar de la mutuelle d’entreprise. Pour que les Français puissent préparer leur retraite dans les meilleures conditions, les entreprises ont effectivement un vrai rôle social à jouer pour leur collaborateur. L’État commence à pousser dans cette direction, avec des incitations fiscales notamment, quoique parfois timides (exonération des charges patronales, primes versées déductibles du bénéfice imposable, forfait social à 16% au lieu de 20%), mais les entreprises qui mettent en place ce type de dispositifs pour l’ensemble de leurs collaborateurs restent encore trop peu nombreuses.

Si les Français continuent à penser qu’ils pourront uniquement compter sur un État providence pour vivre une retraite paisible, et que la préparation de leur retraite commence après 45 ans, ils se leurrent. Si l’État, les banques et les assureurs pensent que les Français vont se réconcilier avec la finance demain et massivement épargner en prévision de leur retraite, ils se leurrent tout autant. Il est urgent qu’une prise de conscience collective et individuelle sur la nécessité d’éduquer les Français à la préparation de leur retraite ait lieu de la part de l’ensemble des parties prenantes si l’on ne veut pas laisser une partie de nos futurs aînés sur le bord de la route ! Individus, entreprises, acteurs institutionnels, État, la retraite de demain doit être l’affaire de tous.

SOURCE > Journal Du Net