Select a page

Wider access to credit thanks to better customer knowledge

October 12, 2020 | News, grandstands

Consumer credit is a formidable tool whose societal utility no longer needs to be demonstrated. A number illustrates this social utility: outstandings reached 187 billion euros in 2019.

Consumer credit allows a large number of French people to buy the consumer goods they need and want (car, furniture, household appliances, smartphone, etc.). But this type of credit is the main contributor to over-indebtedness and it is crucial to ensure that lenders lend responsibly; this is why it is so closely monitored by the public authorities. This monitoring is essential, but it is not enough: it is also crucial to empower credit organizations to lend responsibly and improve access to credit through better knowledge of the customer.

The key to this arbitration lies in the data to which credit organizations have access: the more precise their knowledge of the customer, the more these companies can lend serenely to a large population. And this is where the shoe pinches: apart from the information provided by the client and their own database, lenders have little access to data, mainly whether or not the client is registered in the file. incidents of repayment of loans to individuals and in the central check file. This lack of information necessarily leads to a certain reluctance, in particular for young people: more than 2,5 million aged 18-35, although financially stable, do not have access to credit. To help lenders reduce this injustice, more signals must be made available to them.

As such, the creation of a French positive file has been mentioned by several governments, but none has ever been operationalized. This type of file would have a double effect on the sector. First of all, it would allow the actors in place to be more relevant in the analysis and granting of credits. Then, it would energize the market by lifting a barrier to entry, thus allowing new entrants to increase the supply.

Another avenue is opened up by open banking thanks to the PSD2 : the technical possibility for an individual to give access to his banking data to a company. According to some credit organizations, this would allow better scoring than traditional methods because it measures financial agility (the ability to adapt to one's economic situation) rather than past financial stability, estimated mainly on the basis of socio-economic criteria. static demographic. By basing itself on financial resilience and not on socio-professional situation, credit is made less discriminating and opens up to new populations, first and foremost the self-employed.

Faced with the uncertainty of obtaining a consumer credit, consumers are turning to other solutions, including payment facilities, which allow a customer to pay for a purchase in 3 or 4 installments.

The growth in the use of these solutions is being accelerated by the demand of customers to be able to finance their purchases at the time of payment, whether online or in store. This growth is made possible by new technologies such as machine learning, allowing efficient real-time scoring. The leaders in this market offer a high acceptance rate exceeding 90%, but here too, sharing data with lenders would increase the relevance of scoring, and, ultimately, the freedom to consume with confidence.

SOURCE> Newspaper

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Un accès plus large au crédit grâce à une meilleure connaissance client

Oct 12, 2020 | Actualité, Tribunes

Le crédit à la consommation est un formidable outil dont l’utilité sociétale n’est plus à démontrer. Un nombre illustre cette utilité sociale : les encours ont atteint 187 milliards d’euros en 2019.

Le crédit à la consommation permet à de très nombreux Français d’acheter les biens de consommation dont ils ont besoin et envie (voiture, mobilier, électroménager, smartphone etc.). Mais ce type de crédit est le premier contributeur au surendettement et il est crucial de s’assurer que les organismes de crédit prêtent de manière responsable ; c’est pourquoi il est autant surveillé par les pouvoirs publics. Cette surveillance est indispensable, mais elle ne suffit pas : il est également crucial de donner les moyens aux organismes de crédit de prêter de manière responsable et d’améliorer l’accès au crédit grâce à une meilleure connaissance du client.

La clé de cet arbitrage réside dans les données auxquelles les organismes de crédit ont accès : plus leur connaissance du client est précise, et plus ces entreprises peuvent prêter sereinement à une large population. Et c’est là que le bât blesse : à part les informations fournies par le client et leur propre base de données, les prêteurs n’ont accès qu’à peu de données, principalement l’inscription ou non du client dans le fichier des incidents de remboursement des crédits aux particuliers et dans le fichier central des chèques. Ce manque d’informations conduit nécessairement à une certaine frilosité, en particulier pour les jeunes : plus de 2,5 millions de 18-35 ans, bien que stables financièrement, n’ont pas accès au crédit. Pour aider les prêteurs à réduire cette injustice, il faut mettre à leur disposition davantage de signaux.

À ce titre, la création d’un fichier positif français a été évoquée par plusieurs gouvernements, mais aucun n’a jamais été opérationnellement mis en place. Ce type de fichier aurait un double effet sur le secteur. Tout d’abord, il permettrait aux acteurs en place d’être plus pertinents dans l’analyse et l’octroi de crédits. Ensuite, il dynamiserait le marché en levant une barrière à l’entrée, permettant ainsi à de nouveaux entrants d’augmenter l’offre.

Une autre voie est ouverte par l’open banking grâce à la DSP2 : la possibilité technique pour un particulier de donner accès à ses données bancaires à une entreprise. Selon certains organismes de crédit, cela permettrait un meilleur scoring que les méthodes traditionnelles car elle mesure l’agilité financière (la faculté à s’adapter à sa situation économique) plutôt que la stabilité financière passée, estimée essentiellement sur la base de critères socio-démographiques statiques. En se basant sur la résilience financière et non sur la situation socio-professionnelle, le crédit est rendu moins discriminant et s’ouvre à de nouvelles populations au premier rang desquelles les indépendants.

Devant l’incertitude de l’obtention d’un crédit à la consommation, les consommateurs se tournent vers d’autres solutions, notamment les facilités de paiement, qui permettent à un client de régler un achat en 3 ou 4 fois.

La croissance de l’usage de ces solutions est accélérée par la demande des clients de pouvoir financer leurs achats au moment de payer, que ce soit en ligne ou en magasin. Cette croissance est rendue possible par de nouvelles technologies telles que le machine learning, permettant un scoring en temps réel efficace. Les leaders de ce marché offrent un taux d’acceptation élevé dépassant les 90%, mais ici aussi le partage des données avec les prêteurs permettrait d’augmenter la pertinence du scoring, et, in fine, la liberté de consommer sereinement.

SOURCE > Journal Du Net

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...