Select a page

France FinTech and BlackFin Tech publish the 2020 panorama of French fintech

January 31, 2017 | Press Releases, panorama

Paris, January 24, 2020 - Update October 15, 2020

For the fourth consecutive year, France FinTech and BlackFin Tech publish the Annual panorama of French fintech. In this new edition, nearly 600 innovative financial services companies operating in banking, insurance, regtech and asset management are presented. The activity of each one can be discovered by clicking directly on the logo concerned in the document.

This publication lists fintechs at all stages of development: start-ups, start-ups and scale-ups. The France FinTech and BlackFin Tech teams have established a precise nomenclature, structured around 7 categories and 27 subcategories, in order to better reflect the diversity of activities, professions and fields of application.

The number of players identified within the ecosystem continues to grow, a sign of the dynamism of the sector. It now covers all aspects of financial services and innovative models.
  • Funding: 22,1% of fintech.
  • Payment services: 14,9%
  • Regtech / Risks: 15,2%
  • Operational services: 14,5%
  • Investments and wealth solutions: 13,4%
  • Insurance: 12,2%
  • Banking / PFM: 7,7%

Data to be put into perspective with the amounts raised by French fintechs in 2019:

  • Operational services: € 379,75 million (or 54,3%) for 13 operations (20,3%).
  • Insurance: € 139,75 million (i.e. 20%) for 10 operations (15,6%).
  • Funding: € 47,4M (6,8%) for 14 operations (21,9%).
  • Payment services: € 43,6M (6,3%) for 7 transactions (11%).
  • Regtech / Risks: € 37,2M (i.e. 5,3%) for 5 operations (7,8%).
  • Banking / PFM: € 33M (or 4,7%) for 7 transactions (10,9%).
  • Investments and heritage solutions: € 18,3M (2,6%) for 8 transactions (12,5%)

Or € 699 million raised for an average ticket of € 10,9 million.

"2019 was seen as a record year in terms of fintech creation and fundraising. Beyond the numbers, our companies have matured and have become strongly internationalized. “Seeds of champions” are appearing everywhere and our leaders are now visible internationally. Much remains to be done, especially in terms of critical size. But the train is on and the prospects are promising ”  _ Alain Clot, President of France Fintech.

France now has two fintech unicorns - Kyriba (Franco-American) and iValua. The large fintech family is also prominently in the Next40 - 8 players - and in the newly created French Tech 120 with, in total, 17 start-ups which obtain the label and, with 13,8% of the ranking, are the sector. the most represented. Several fintechs are also included in international rankings (Fintech 100 KPMG, Sifted), although there is obviously room for improvement compared to American or Chinese players in particular.

2020, a promising start to the year

The challenges of this new year are multiple: internationalization, development and diversification of offers.
The attractiveness of our ecosystem is growing strongly, as confirmed by the first fundraising announcements of the year: Lydia (€ 40M) and Qonto (€ 104M), the largest fundraising campaign carried out to date by a French fintech. Both transactions were supported by global investors.

All these themes will be dealt with during our big annual event, Fintech R: Evolution le 23th April Thursday, October 15 at Station F, subtitled Beyond Frontiers. 

Aboute BlackFin Capital Partner
BlackFin Capital Partners is a sector fund dedicated to financial services in Europe. These businesses include in particular asset management, intermediation on financial markets, distribution and brokerage of insurance or banking products, fund administration, payments, outsourcing and management on behalf of third parties. and, more generally, any technology related to the financial industry.
BlackFin acts as an active and influential investor, providing support to efficient management teams, with a view to enabling their companies to reach important development stages.
BlackFin manages four funds, three of which are development capital and one private equity for a total amount of € 1,8 billion.
BlackFin Capital Partners is an independent management company, led by its four founding partners who have collaborated as managers and entrepreneurs in the financial industry for several decades. Today, the team is made up of 30 investment professionals spread across its three offices in Paris, Brussels and Frankfurt.

More information on : www.blackfincp.comwww.blackfin-tech.com and on Twitter: @BlackFin_tech and on Medium https://medium.com/blackfintech

About France FinTech
Created in June 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech is a non-profit association whose mission is to promote excellence in the sector in France and abroad and to represent French FinTechs to public authorities, the regulator and ecosystem. It brings together French FinTech, AssurTech and Regtech with the potential to become European or global leaders. All the players wishing to support this movement and be recognized as an integral part of the ecosystem have gathered around the start-ups: technology companies, investment funds, law and consulting firms, banks, insurers, industrial companies, public or associative entities, etc. The association is chaired by Alain Clot, and Kristen Charvin is its General Delegate. The Bureau brings together the founders of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, FLUO, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

Join us as a member or partner: https://francefintech.org/nous-rejoindre/
And follow us on Twitter @FranceFintech 
contacts: press@francefintech.org 

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

France FinTech et BlackFin Tech publient le panorama des fintech françaises 2020

Jan 24, 2020 | Barometres, Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 24 janvier 2020 – MAJ 15 octobre 2020

Pour la quatrième année consécutive, France FinTech et BlackFin Tech publient le Panorama annuel des fintech françaises. Dans cette nouvelle édition, près de 600 entreprises innovantes des services financiers opérant sur les métiers bancaires, assurantiels, de la regtech et de la gestion d’actifs sont présentées. L’activité de chacune est à découvrir en cliquant directement sur le logo concerné dans le document.

Cette publication recense les fintech à tout stade de développement : jeunes pousses, start-up et scale-up. Les équipes de France FinTech et BlackFin Tech ont établi une nomenclature précise, articulée autour de 7 catégories et 27 sous-catégories, afin de mieux refléter la diversité des activités, des métiers et des champs d’application.

Le nombre d’acteurs recensés au sein de l’écosystème continue de progresser, signe du dynamisme du secteur. Il couvre désormais tous les pans des services financiers et des modèles innovants.
  • Financement : 22,1% des fintech.
  • Services de paiement : 14,9%
  • Regtech / Risques : 15,2%
  • Services opérationnels : 14,5%
  • Placements et solutions patrimoniales : 13,4%
  • Assurance : 12,2%
  • Banking / PFM : 7,7%

Des données à mettre en perspective avec les montants levés par les fintech françaises en 2019 :

  • Services opérationnels : 379,75M€ (soit 54,3%) pour 13 opérations (20,3%).
  • Assurance : 139,75M€ (soit 20%) pour 10 opérations (15,6%).
  • Financement : 47,4M€ (soit 6,8%) pour  14 opérations (21,9%).
  • Services de paiement : 43,6M€ (soit 6,3%) pour 7 opérations (11%).
  • Regtech / Risques : 37,2M€ (soit 5,3%) pour 5 opérations (7,8%).
  • Banking / PFM : 33M€ (soit 4,7%) pour 7 opérations (10,9%).
  • Placements et solutions patrimoniales : 18,3M€ (soit 2,6%) pour 8 opérations (12,5%)

Soit 699M€ levés pour un ticket moyen de 10,9M€.

2019 s’est inscrite comme une année record en termes de création de fintech et de levée de fonds. Au delà des chiffres, nos entreprises ont gagné en maturité et se sont fortement internationalisées. Des “graines de champions” apparaissent partout et nos leaders sont désormais visibles internationalement. Beaucoup reste à faire, notamment en termes de taille critique. Mais le train est lancé et les perspectives prometteuses”  _ Alain Clot, Président de France Fintech.

La France compte à présent deux licornes fintech – Kyriba (franco-américaine) et iValua. La grande famille fintech est également en bonne place dans le Next40 – 8 acteurs – et dans le nouvellement créé French Tech 120 avec, au total, 17 start-up qui obtiennent le label et, avec 13,8% du classement, sont le secteur le plus représenté. Plusieurs fintech figurent aussi dans les classements internationaux (Fintech 100 KPMG, Sifted), même si une marge de progression demeure évidemment par rapport aux acteurs américains ou chinois notamment.

2020, un début d’année prometteur

Les défis de cette nouvelle année sont multiples : internationalisation, viabilisation et diversification des offres.
L’attractivité de notre écosystème croit fortement comme le confirment les premières annonces de levées de fonds de l’année : Lydia (40M€) et Qonto (104M€), plus grosse levée de fonds réalisée à date par une fintech française. L’une et l’autre transaction ayant été soutenues par des investisseurs de dimension mondiale.

Tous ces thèmes seront traités lors de notre grand événement annuel, Fintech R:Evolution le 23 avril jeudi 15 octobre prochain à Station F, sous-titré Beyond Frontiers. 

À propos de BlackFin Capital Partner
BlackFin Capital Partners est un fonds sectoriel dédié aux services financiers en Europe. Ces métiers incluent notamment la gestion d’actifs, l’intermédiation sur les marchés financiers, la distribution et le courtage de produits d’assurance ou bancaires,  l’administration de fonds, les paiements, l’externalisation et la gestion pour compte de tiers et, plus généralement, toute technologie liée à l’industrie financière.
BlackFin intervient en tant qu’investisseur actif et influent, en apportant son soutien à des équipes de management performantes, en vue de permettre à leurs sociétés de franchir des étapes importantes de développement.
BlackFin gère quatre fonds dont trois de capital-développement et un de capital-investissement pour un montant total de 1,8 Mds€.
BlackFin Capital Partners est une société de gestion indépendante, dirigée par ses quatre associés-fondateurs qui ont collaboré en tant que managers et entrepreneurs dans l’industrie financière depuis plusieurs décennies. Aujourd’hui, l’équipe est constituée de 30 professionnels de l’investissement répartis à travers ses trois bureaux à Paris, Bruxelles et Francfort.

Plus d’informations sur : www.blackfincp.comwww.blackfin-tech.com et sur Twitter : @BlackFin_tech et sur Medium https://medium.com/blackfintech

À propos de France FinTech
Créée en juin 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech est une association à but non lucratif dont la mission est de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les FinTech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. Elle rassemble les FinTech, AssurTech et Regtech françaises ayant le potentiel de devenir des leaders européens ou mondiaux. Autour des start-ups se sont réunis tous les acteurs souhaitant accompagner ce mouvement et se faire reconnaître comme partie intégrante de l’écosystème : sociétés technologiques, fonds d’investissement, cabinets d’avocats et de conseil, banques, assureurs, entreprises industrielles, entités publiques ou associatives, etc. L’association est présidée par Alain Clot, et Kristen Charvin en est sa Déléguée générale. Le Bureau, rassemble les fondateurs d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, FLUO, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

Rejoignez-nous en tant que membre ou partenaire : https://francefintech.org/nous-rejoindre/
Et suivez-nous sur Twitter @FranceFintech 
Contacts : presse@francefintech.org 

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...