Select a page

đź’  Algorithmic bias is FinTech's best enemy

April 3, 2018 | Publications

by Aurélie Jean, PhD, digital scientist, entrepreneur

On April 10, 2018, at Station F, France Fintech will bring together the main players in Fintech: regulators, entrepreneurs, investors. This is the unique opportunity to listen and discuss with those who will be part of the revolution that has affected the financial industry for 5 years.

FinTech is now Digitalo-Analytical

The French financial industry has built its radiant reputation on its quants. Today, digital technology is the way to innovate in market finance and insurance. The recent example of Goldman Sachs which has made a drastic change in its industry by becoming in a way a Tech company, shows this trend. the data scientist and the IT developer become gold commodities for this industry that is reinventing itself. Digital tools are being developed to analyze the markets, to detect fraud and insider trading, to make predictions on stocks, or to identify investment portfolios. In insurance, we use digital tools capable of estimating the cost of coverage based on the profile of the insured, or digital tools capable of simulating the risk of granting a loan. These powerful tools and a priori fairer, can unfortunately create discrimination if they are poorly developed and used. These discriminations imply a different consideration of individuals based on stereotypes and prejudices, also called bias. In addition to the obvious societal and human considerations, algorithmic biases are the risk for FinTech companies to exclude certain populations from their customer segments. These biases are involved in the criteria of the algorithm, as well as in the data chosen to calibrate the algorithm or the model. In the context of machine learning the consequences of these biases are amplified because the possibly biased data will train the algorithm and generate criteria at the end of the training a posteriori strongly biased and often difficult to reverse. Actors in the financial industry must understand the mechanisms of these technologies and artificial intelligence, to become enlightened users.

Algorithmic Biases are an opportunity for FinTech to reinvent itself

En machine learning algorithms are trained on data chosen by humans. In the case of estimating the price of insurance, if we train the algorithms only on policyholder data from the last decades, we will inevitably reproduce the biases of gender, social origins and ethnic origins of the past. This is how in the United States a black insured pays up to three times more for his car insurance than a white insured. Current techniques should be used with caution, such as the techniques used by the company FICO (FICO credit scores) who capture information about their customers by their cellphones to define their credit score. Another example is the German company Kreditech which asks its customers to share their social networks with it in order to characterize the profile of individuals belonging to their circles of friends. According to Kreditech, having friends who have good credit scores is a good indicator of your ability to manage a loan and therefore to repay it. These approaches lock decision-making algorithms into some of our prejudices and stereotypes. Another example is the news & social media sentiment index developed by Bloomberg. This index is calculated, among other things, from the analysis of posts on social networks such as Twitter to define a feeling towards a company present on the public market. It is interesting to look in this index for a lever to decide or confirm an investment strategy in a stock. The general tendency is to say that when tweets have a negative sentiment about a company present in the market, the latter is likely to see the value of its share diminished. However, this trend cannot become an explicit rule, we must remain cautious because we also know that some companies challenge this logic like the Apple company. These examples show the complexity of setting up general explicit rules to automate decisions and make predictions. These limitations and these possible biases require financial and insurance players to be more creative and even to invest in research teams, as has been done Capital One. The financial industry was strongly impacted following the 2008 crisis, and many players in this industry claim that all the regulations voted and implemented following the crisis have deeply limited the creativity of the sector. The digital-analytical transformation and artificial intelligence offer a unique opportunity for FinTech companies to reinvent themselves and innovate again, by developing ambitious and even smarter digital tools to approach our society and our economy in a fairer way. and more transparent. The players in the FinTech industry will change, and this change will require better knowledge and better mastery of technologies.

FinTech players are becoming enlightened users of Tech

The enlightened use of digital decision-making, analysis and prediction tools is becoming critical in all areas, and the financial industry is no exception. Without becoming technical experts, FinTech players must understand technological mechanisms as well as automation and prediction processes. The financial industry is becoming even more in-depth Tech, and players traditionally oriented towards business and finance must transform. These players must also understand this ecosystem to better anticipate innovations, risks and possible future changes in their respective businesses. Learning computer code through a use case of their profession is an effective way to understand the concepts, challenges and issues concerning algorithms, data, biases, performance, machine learning, APIs or even cyber security. This acculturation also allows them to understand the actions and regulations currently being debated or implemented, and therefore to better prepare for them. In Europe, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) in action from May 2018 revolves around three main points: Profiling, transparency and, bias and discrimination. the Equal Credit Opportunity Act in the United States demands equal treatment of individuals regardless of ethnicity, language, religion, or sexual orientation. FinTech is innovating in a new paradigm that is part of a responsible dimension and financial and analytical transparency, and algorithmic bias is its best enemy!

#Finance #FinTech #Algorithm #Analytic #Bias #Innovation #Transformation #PowerUser #Society #People #Economy

This article is part of a series of posts published as part of the annual event organized by France Fintech: Fintech R: Evolution 2018, which will be held April 10 at Station F in Paris, on the theme “Data Liberation”. To share, comment and like on LinkedIn with the hashtag # FFT18.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

💠 Le biais algorithmique est le meilleur ennemi de la FinTech

Apr 3, 2018 | Parutions

par Aurélie Jean, PhD, scientifique numéricienne, entrepreneure

Le 10 Avril 2018, Ă  Station F, France Fintech rassemblera les principaux acteurs de la Fintech : rĂ©gulateurs, entrepreneurs, investisseurs. C’est l’occasion unique d’écouter et d’échanger avec celles et ceux qui seront partie prenante de la rĂ©volution qui touche l’industrie financiĂšre depuis 5 ans.

La FinTech est aujourd’hui Digitalo-Analytique

L’industrie financiĂšre Française a construit sa rĂ©putation rayonnante sur ses quants. Aujourd’hui le numĂ©rique est la voie pour innover en finance de marchĂ© et en assurance. L’exemple rĂ©cent de Goldman Sachs qui a fait un changement radical dans son industrie en devenant d’une certaine maniĂšre une entreprise Tech, montre cette tendance. Le data scientist et le dĂ©veloppeur informatique deviennent des gold commodities pour cette industrie qui se rĂ©invente. Des outils numĂ©riques sont dĂ©veloppĂ©s pour analyser les marchĂ©s, pour dĂ©tecter les fraudes et dĂ©lits d’initiĂ©s, pour faire des prĂ©dictions sur les stocks, ou encore pour identifier des portefeuilles d’investissement. En assurance, on utilise des outils numĂ©riques capables d’estimer le coĂ»t d’une couverture Ă  partir du profile de l’assurĂ©, ou encore des outils numĂ©riques capables de simuler le risque d’attribution d’un prĂȘt. Ces outils puissants et a priori plus justes, peuvent malheureusement crĂ©er des discriminations s’ils sont mal dĂ©veloppĂ©s et utilisĂ©s. Ces discriminations impliquent une considĂ©ration diffĂ©rente des individus Ă  partir de stĂ©rĂ©otypes et prĂ©jugĂ©s, qu’on nomme aussi biais. En plus des considĂ©rations sociĂ©tales et humaines Ă©videntes, les biais algorithmiques sont le risque pour les entreprises de la FinTech d’écarter certaines populations des leurs segments de clients. Ces biais interviennent dans les critĂšres de l’algorithme, ainsi que dans la data choisie pour calibrer l’algorithme ou le modĂšle. Dans le contexte du machine learning les consĂ©quences de ces biais sont amplifiĂ©es car la data possiblement biaisĂ©e va entraĂźner l’algorithme et engendrer Ă  l’issue de l’entrainement des critĂšres a posteriori fortement biaisĂ©s et souvent difficilement rĂ©versibles. Les acteurs de l’industrie financiĂšre doivent comprendre les mĂ©canismes de ces technologies et de l’intelligence artificielle, pour devenir des utilisateurs Ă©clairĂ©s.

Les Biais Algorithmiques sont une opportunité pour la FinTech de se réinventer

En machine learning les algorithmes sont entraĂźnĂ©s sur des donnĂ©es choisies par les Hommes. Dans le cas de l’estimation du prix d’une assurance, si on entraĂźne les algorithmes uniquement sur des donnĂ©es des assurĂ©s des derniĂšres dĂ©cennies, on reproduira inĂ©vitablement les biais de genre, d’origines sociales et d’origines ethniques du passĂ©. C’est ainsi qu’aux États-Unis un assurĂ© noir paye jusqu’à trois fois plus son assurance voiture qu’un assurĂ© blanc. Des techniques actuelles doivent ĂȘtre utilisĂ©es avec prudence, comme par exemple les techniques utilisĂ©es par la sociĂ©tĂ© FICO (FICO credit scores) qui capturent des informations sur leur clients via leur cellulaires pour dĂ©finir leur credit score. Un autre exemple est la compagnie Allemande Kreditech qui demande Ă  ses clients de partager avec elle leurs rĂ©seaux sociaux afin de caractĂ©riser le profile des individus appartenant Ă  leurs cercles d’amis. Selon Kreditech, avoir des amis qui ont de bons credit scores est un bon indicateur de votre capacitĂ© Ă  gĂ©rer un crĂ©dit et donc de le rembourser. Ces approches enferment les algorithmes de prise de dĂ©cision dans certains de nos prĂ©jugĂ©s et de nos stĂ©rĂ©otypes. Un autre exemple est le news & social media sentiment index dĂ©veloppĂ© par Bloomberg. Cet index est calculĂ© entre autres Ă  partir de l’analyse des postes sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux tels que Twitter pour dĂ©finir un sentiment vis Ă  vis d’une entreprise prĂ©sente sur le marchĂ© public. Il est intĂ©ressant d’aller chercher dans cet index un levier pour dĂ©cider ou confirmer une stratĂ©gie d’investissement dans un stock. La tendance gĂ©nĂ©rale est de dire que lorsque des tweets ont un sentiment nĂ©gatif sur une entreprise prĂ©sente sur le marchĂ©, cette derniĂšre risque surement de voir la valeur de son action diminuĂ©e. NĂ©anmoins cette tendance ne peut pas devenir une rĂšgle explicite, il faut rester prudent car on sait Ă©galement que certaines entreprises dĂ©fient cette logique comme l’entreprise Apple. Ces exemples montrent la complexitĂ© de mettre en place des rĂšgles explicites gĂ©nĂ©rales pour automatiser des dĂ©cisions et faire des prĂ©dictions. Ces limitations et ces possibles biais imposent aux acteurs de la finance et de l’assurance d’ĂȘtre plus crĂ©atifs et mĂȘme d’investir dans des Ă©quipes de recherche, comme l’a fait Capital One. L’industrie financiĂšre a Ă©tĂ© fortement impactĂ©e Ă  la suite de la crise de 2008, et de nombreux acteurs de cette industrie affirment que l’ensemble des rĂ©gulations votĂ©es et mises en place Ă  la suite de la crise a profondĂ©ment limitĂ© la crĂ©ativitĂ© du secteur. La transformation digitalo-analytique et l’intelligence artificielle offrent une opportunitĂ© unique aux entreprises de la FinTech de se rĂ©inventer et d’innover Ă  nouveau, en dĂ©veloppant des outils numĂ©riques ambitieux et encore plus intelligents pour approcher notre sociĂ©tĂ© et notre Ă©conomie de façon plus juste et plus transparente. Les acteurs de l’industrie FinTech vont se transformer, et cette mutation passera par une meilleure connaissance et une meilleure maĂźtrise des technologies.

Les acteurs de la FinTech deviennent des utilisateurs éclairés de la Tech

L’utilisation Ă©clairĂ©e des outils numĂ©riques de prise de dĂ©cision, d’analyse et de prĂ©diction, devient critique dans tous les domaines, et l’industrie financiĂšre n’y Ă©chappe pas. Sans devenir des experts techniques, les acteurs de la FinTech doivent comprendre les mĂ©canismes technologiques ainsi que les processus d’automatisation et de prĂ©diction. L’industrie financiĂšre devient encore plus en profondeur Tech, et les acteurs traditionnellement orientĂ©s business et finance doivent se transformer. Ces acteurs doivent Ă©galement comprendre cet Ă©cosystĂšme pour mieux anticiper les innovations, les risques et les futurs changements possibles de leur mĂ©tier respectif. L’apprentissage du code informatique par un cas d’usage de leur mĂ©tier, est un moyen efficace pour comprendre les notions, les challenges et les enjeux concernant les algorithmes, la data, les biais, la performance, le machine learning, les API ou encore la cyber sĂ©curitĂ©. Cet acculturation leur permet Ă©galement de comprendre les actions et rĂ©gulations actuellement dĂ©battues ou mises en place, et par consĂ©quent de mieux s’y prĂ©parer. En Europe le rĂšglement gĂ©nĂ©ral sur la protection des donnĂ©es (RGPD) en action Ă  partir du mois de Mai 2018 s’articule autour de trois grands points: le profiling, la transparence et, les biais et les discriminations. Le Equal Credit Opportunity Act aux États-Unis exige un traitement Ă©gal des individus sans considĂ©ration d’origine ethnique, de langue, de religion, ou encore d’orientation sexuelle. La FinTech innove dans un nouveau paradigme qui s’inscrit dans une dimension responsable et dans une transparence financiĂšre et analytique, et le biais algorithmique est son meilleur ennemi !

#Finance #FinTech #Algorithm #Analytic #Bias #Innovation #Transformation #PowerUser #Society #People #Economy

Cet article fait partie d’une sĂ©rie de billets publiĂ©s dans le cadre de l’Ă©vĂšnement annuel organisĂ© par France Fintech : Fintech R:Evolution 2018, qui aura lieu le 10 Avril à Station F à Paris, sur le thĂšme “Data Liberation”. A partager, commenter et liker sur LinkedIn avec le hashtag #FFT18.