Select a page

Alain Clot: "French fintech has future unicorns"

March 19, 2019 | Publications

Interview with Alain Clot by Caroline de Malet published in Le Figaro on the occasion of Big Bang Eco 

For the president of France Fintech, who will speak at the Big Bang Eco on March 27, these young companies are pushing banks to transform.

LE FIGARO. - How is the fintech sector doing?

Alain CLOT. - The sector is experiencing strong growth: 365 million euros were raised in 2018, for 72 operations, an increase of 15%. This represents an average ticket per start-up of 5,2 million euros. The latter are internationalizing very quickly, the majority being present in several countries. And their model is moving from a specific service to a service platform offering a complete journey. In fact, we are starting to have a dynamic ecosystem, in which everyone talks to each other.

Which are the most promising start-ups?

The bigger ones, October, Lydia, Ledger, Younited Credit, Alan and Shift Technology are almost all in the top 2 or 3 in their market. Almost all of them are present in five or six foreign countries, in Europe and Asia, and have raised amounts of around 30 million euros. We even have future unicorns. Ledger is the only French start-up to appear in the ranking of the top 50 global fintechs from KPMG and + Simple.fr and Shift Technology, which has just raised 53 million euros, are among the 50 emerging companies.

How is French fintech positioned in Europe?

With Brexit, Great Britain will lose and France is doing quite well. Being the first European country in terms of artificial intelligence laboratories, the second in number of start-ups in AI and the first for incubators especially with Station F, we are also very good at cognitive science and finance. London having won half of European fintechs, France could therefore benefit from Brexit as part of the rebalancing that is taking place. In venture capital, we are already number two in Europe. We have a very important card to play.

Isn't regulation a brake on these innovations?

It has been a drag in the past because it was designed in France to protect consumers by reducing risk and curbing competition. Today, while it is the European regulations that are needed, such as the GDPR or the Payment Services Directive 2 (DSP 2), it rather plays a strong role in acceleration.

Do these new players represent a threat to traditional banks?

We can think so. Yet fintech is not the problem but the solution. This forces the banks to modernize, to reinvent themselves. It is a way for them to prepare for the offensive of the Gafa, who are all in finance, whether it is Google, Facebook or Alibaba. But the share of crowdfunding out of all the amounts financed is still very low. In terms of payments and aggregation, the new players occupy a more important place. The latter are less present in investment advice. However, the needs are growing, with the need to capitalize earlier and earlier, and artificial intelligence makes it possible to have a much more global vision of heritage.

Have network banks been able to adapt to this new situation?

They have done a lot of acculturation work with fintechs, win-win. Most are in the process of reinventing themselves. They offer their skills to other providers. But the weight of the heritage (central computing and culture) is very heavy. And online banks, linked to them and all losing money, are a thing of the past. The number of millennials has just surpassed that of baby boomers in the United States. However, students' attachment to a brand like Lydia for example is very strong.

How do you see the traditional players evolving over time?

They will not escape productivity gains and will have to focus on value-added services such as wealth advice. Because they are not alone in this niche (Gafa, telecom operators, mass distribution). But the banks are trusted third parties, it is an important capital.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Alain Clot : «La fintech française a des futures licornes»

Mar 19, 2019 | Parutions

Interview d’Alain Clot par Caroline de Malet publiée dans Le Figaro à l’occasion du Big Bang Eco 

Pour le président de France Fintech, qui interviendra au Big Bang Eco le 27 mars, ces jeunes sociétés poussent les banques à se transformer.

LE FIGARO. – Comment se porte le secteur des fintechs?

Alain CLOT. – Le secteur connaît une forte croissance: 365 millions d’euros ont été levés en 2018, pour 72 opérations, soit une hausse de 15 %. Cela représente un ticket moyen par start-up de 5,2 millions d’euros. Ces dernières s’internationalisent très vite, la majorité étant présente dans plusieurs pays. Et leur modèle est en train de passer d’un service précis à une plateforme de services proposant un parcours complet. De fait, on commence à avoir un écosystème dynamique, dans lequel tout le monde se parle.

Quelles sont les start-up les plus prometteuses?

Les plus grosses, October, Lydia, Ledger, Younited Credit, Alan et Shift Technology figurent presque toutes dans le top 2 ou 3 sur leur marché. Presque toutes sont présentes dans cinq ou six pays étrangers, en Europe et en Asie, et ont levé des montants d’environ 30 millions d’euros. On a même des futures licornes. Ledger est la seule start-up française à apparaître dans le classement des 50 premières fintechs mondiales de KPMG et +Simple.fr et Shift Technology, qui vient de lever 53 millions d’euros, figurent parmi les 50 émergentes.

Comment se positionne la fintech française en Europe?

Avec le Brexit, la Grande-Bretagne va y perdre et la France se débrouille pas mal. Étant le premier pays européen en termes de laboratoires d’intelligence artificielle, le deuxième en nombre de start-up dans l’IA et le premier pour les incubateurs notamment avec Station F, nous sommes aussi très bons en sciences cognitives et en finance. Londres ayant raflé la moitié des fintechs européennes, la France pourrait donc profiter du Brexit dans le cadre du rééquilibrage qui est en train de s’opérer. En capital-risque, nous sommes déjà numéro deux européen. On a une carte très importante à jouer.

La réglementation n’est-elle pas un frein à ces innovations?

Elle a été un frein par le passé car elle a été conçue en France pour protéger les consommateurs en réduisant les risques et en freinant la concurrence. Aujourd’hui, alors que c’est la réglementation européenne qui s’impose, comme le RGPD ou la directive sur les services de paiement 2 (DSP 2), elle joue plutôt un rôle fort d’accélération.

Ces nouveaux acteurs représentent-ils une menace pour les banques traditionnelles?

On peut le penser. Pourtant, la fintech n’est pas le problème mais la solution. Cela oblige les banques à se moderniser, se réinventer. C’est un moyen pour elles de se préparer à l’offensive des Gafa, qui font toutes de la finance, qu’il s’agisse de Google, Facebook ou Alibaba. Mais la part du financement participatif sur l’ensemble des montants financés est encore très faible. En matière de paiements et sur l’agrégation, les nouveaux acteurs occupent une place plus importante. Ces derniers sont moins présents dans le conseil en investissement. Pourtant les besoins s’accroissent, avec la nécessité de capitaliser de plus en plus tôt, et l’intelligence artificielle permet d’avoir une vision beaucoup plus globale du patrimoine.

Les banques de réseau ont-elles su s’adapter à cette nouvelle donne?

Elles ont fait un gros travail d’acculturation avec les fintechs, gagnant-gagnant. La plupart sont en train de se réinventer. Elles proposent leurs compétences à d’autres prestataires. Mais le poids de l’héritage (l’informatique centrale et la culture) est très lourd. Et les banques en ligne, qui leur sont liées et perdent toutes de l’argent, appartiennent au passé. Le nombre de millennials vient de dépasser celui des baby-boomers aux États-Unis. Or, l’attachement des étudiants à une marque comme Lydia par exemple est très fort.

Comment voyez-vous à terme évoluer les acteurs traditionnels?

Ils n’échapperont pas à des gains de productivité et devront se concentrer sur les services à valeur ajoutée comme le conseil patrimonial. Car ils ne sont pas seuls sur ce créneau (Gafa, opérateurs de télécoms, grande distribution). Mais les banques sont des tiers de confiance, c’est un capital important.

#48

#48

Rendez-vous en fin de mail pour revivre le 1er semestre 2019 !