Select a page

FINTECH R: EVOLUTION: FASTER, STRONGER, BETTER

October 20, 2021 | News, Publications

In the middle of the French Fintech Week, which was held in Paris from October 8 to 15, France Fintech brought together French fintech entrepreneurs this Thursday, October 14 on the roof of the Grande Arche in La Défense. This year, the theme was in three words: “Faster, Stronger, Better”. The change in dimension of the event, which migrated from Station F to La Défense, perfectly illustrated the dynamism of fintech in France and internationally. We take a look back at some of the highlights of this edition.

As soon as you arrive on the Esplanade de la Défense, you can't help but look up at the Grande Arche. After an express rise, which is reminiscent of the acceleration of the amounts raised by French startups in recent years, we land on the roof of the building. The room is already bubbling, the finest fintech flower is active inside. Some network, others quickly join a conference that has just started, while the last listen to the space that sees successive pitches from entrepreneurs.

Chance and the geography of the place mean that we immediately find ourselves in the Talents & Management room, which hosts conferences hosted by the entrepreneur and podcaster Matthieu Stefani. We talk about a recipe for creating a fintech with the founder of Swan, Nicolas Benady, and the co-founder of Anaxago, Caroline Lamaud Dupont, or even the media figure of the entrepreneur. How to make your voice heard in a press eager for success, quick to turn CEOs into gurus, without losing sight of your business objectives? Three media entrepreneurs, at the head of fintechs who are equally so (IbanFirst, Shine and Seyna), came to share their experience at the microphone of the one who regularly gives them the floor, in his podcast “Generation Do It Yourself”.

After having dissected the human factor common to all these entrepreneurial adventures, it is time to tackle the key subject of financing. It is on the Economy & Society scene that two of the most active VCs in France, one of the best funded entrepreneurs, and the CEO of the Paris Stock Exchange will debate for nearly an hour. Asked by Solenne Niedercorn-Desouches on what characterizes the escalation of financing in fintech, David Thevenon, General Partner of the London-based fund Balderton Capital, notes three aspects: the increase in the amounts raised by startups in the world and in Europe in particular , the increasing number of megalevées (over 250 million euros), and the source of funds in full evolution. While they came mainly from Europe before, the funds raised by fintechs now come from Asia and the United States. David Thevenon thus takes the example of American hedge funds such as Tiger Global or Coatue Management, which, more accustomed to operating on the public markets, are now watching with attention the interesting returns on the private markets. When they invest in European startups, they deploy large amounts very quickly, and have the advantage of not being very active on the board of these startups. “These funds are looking for ROI and access to inside information in order to make more money in the public markets“, Says the General Partner of Balderton.

[...]

Sélectionner une page

FINTECH R:EVOLUTION : FASTER, STRONGER, BETTER

Oct 20, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

En plein pendant la French Fintech Week, qui se tenait à Paris du 8 au 15 octobre, France Fintech a réuni ce jeudi 14 octobre les entrepreneurs de la fintech française sur le Toit de la Grande Arche à la Défense. Cette année, le thème tenait en trois mots : “Faster, Stronger, Better”. Le changement de dimension de l’événement, qui a migré de Station F à la Défense, illustrait à merveille le dynamisme de la fintech en France et à l’international. Retour sur quelques-uns des moments marquants de cette édition.

A peine arrivé sur l’Esplanade de la Défense, on ne peut s’empêcher de lever les yeux vers la Grande Arche. Après une ascension express, qui n’est pas sans rappeler l’accélération des montants levés par les startups françaises ces dernières années, on atterrit sur le toit du bâtiment. La salle bouillonne déjà, la fine fleur de la fintech s’active à l’intérieur. Certains networkent, d’autres rejoignent au pas de course une conférence qui vient de commencer, pendant que les derniers tendent une oreille vers l’espace qui voit se succéder les pitchs d’entrepreneurs.

Le hasard et la géographie du lieu font que l’on se retrouve d’emblée dans la salle Talents & Management, qui abrite des conférences animées par l’entrepreneur et podcasteur Matthieu Stefani. On y parle de recette pour créer sa fintech avec le fondateur de Swan, Nicolas Benady, et la co-fondatrice d’Anaxago, Caroline Lamaud Dupont, ou encore de la figure médiatique de l’entrepreneur. Comment faire entendre sa voix dans une presse avide de succès, prompte à transformer les CEO en gourous, sans perdre de vue ses objectifs business ? Trois entrepreneurs médiatiques, à la tête de fintechs qui le sont tout autant (IbanFirst, Shine et Seyna), sont venus partager leur expérience au micro de celui qui leur donne régulièrement la parole, dans son podcast “Generation Do It Yourself”.

Après avoir décortiqué le facteur humain commun à toutes ces aventures entrepreneuriales, il est temps d’aborder le sujet clé que constituent les financements. C’est sur la scène Economie & Société que vont débattre, pendant près d’une heure, deux des VC les plus actifs en France, l’un des entrepreneurs les mieux financés, et la CEO de la Bourse de Paris. Interrogé par Solenne Niedercorn-Desouches sur ce qui caractérise l’escalade des financements dans la fintech, David Thevenon, General Partner du fonds londonien Balderton Capital, remarque trois aspects : la hausse des montants levés par les startups dans le monde et en Europe en particulier, le nombre de plus en plus important de mégalevées (supérieures à 250 millions d’euros), et une provenance des fonds en pleine évolution. Alors qu’ils provenaient essentiellement d’Europe auparavant, les fonds levés par les fintechs viennent aujourd’hui d’Asie et des Etats-Unis. David Thevenon prend ainsi l’exemple de hedge funds américains tels que Tiger Global ou Coatue Management, qui, plus habitués à opérer sur les marchés publics, observent aujourd’hui avec attention les retours intéressants sur les marchés privés. Lorsqu’ils investissent dans des startups européennes, ils déploient très rapidement des montants importants, et ont l’avantage de ne pas être très actifs au board de ces startups. “Ces fonds recherchent du ROI et un accès à de l’information privilégiée afin de faire plus d’argent sur les marchés publics“, avance le General Partner de Balderton.

[…]

#113

#113

Vous n’avez pu vous joindre à nous ? 🧐