Select a page

French fintech takes stock of 2020

December 30, 2020 | News, Publications

“It is gaining ground on the digital landscape, and makes 2020 the year for investments in “insurtechs” and neo-banks.

The general trend of integrating fintech into the global economy was particularly felt this year with the health crisis. For the barometer of the France FinTech association, it was an opportunity to look back on a very unique year.

During these last twelve months, the challenges of the first quarter did not evolve in the same environment as the rest of the year. FinTech has taken advantage of the crisis to accelerate its arrival, and introduce tools and habits that might have taken us at least five years to integrate into a seamless transition.

However, France did not start as far as some other countries. As we mentioned last week, the French are particularly attached to money in cash, but are part the first to pay by card. The digitization of payments and financial products is already far behind us, and the rate of banking is particularly high compared to countries like the United States.

This situation has pushed French fintechs to attract investors, and not only French. We have adopted mobile payments, neo-banks (for professionals as for individuals), and the new 100% online and simpler insurance services interest us.

FinTech: the 2020 report

The annual review of the French fintechs association showed that all digital finance professions accounted for 15% of fundraising by digital companies this year. A "Annual performance with 828,2 million euros" raised as a result, according to the France FinTech report, driven by operations for an average amount of 13,1 million euros (up 20,6%).

With this investor appetite, neo-banks have particularly marked their presence this year with a 31% share in fundraising. Payment services like Lydia represent 15,3%, and insurtechs now drop to 20% to establish their best year.

France FinTech did not forget the challenges during the year, especially between March and April when the uncertain future had put most of the financing projects on hold. The doubts mainly concerned the neo-banks, still very young, and dependent on the uses of customers' cards to generate money, as well as open borders to interest the first audience of these 100% online models.

Since this storm, which is sometimes tragic for some fintechs, investors' eyes have been all the more interested than before, and the explanation is the same as with outbreaks like Zoom on the stock market: digital tools have been all the more adopted. In an interview with Lemon squeezerthe founder from the startup studio eFounders said on this subject:

“Since May, I can no longer find any correlation between what we experience in our personal life on health rules, the economic crisis, what we can read in the newspapers and what is happening in the levees of funds. We are back, honestly, to the pre-COVID situation ”. 

All this could not have been found a better comparison than the volume of money raised in December: 143 million euros. An amount to which France FinTech commented: "The year ends, as it started, on a very positive trend". And a virtually identical invested capital…”

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

La fintech française fait son bilan 2020

Déc 30, 2020 | Actualité, Parutions

“Elle gagne du terrain sur le paysage numérique, et fait de 2020 l’année propice aux investissements dans les « insurtechs » et les néo-banques.

La tendance générale de l’intégration des fintech dans l’économie mondiale s’est particulièrement faite ressentir cette année avec la crise sanitaire. Pour le baromètre de l’association France FinTech, ce fut l’occasion de revenir sur une année très singulière.

Lors de ces douze derniers mois, les défis du premier trimestre n’évoluaient pas dans le même environnement que le reste de l’année. La fintech a profité de la crise pour accélérer son arrivée, et introduire des outils et des habitudes qui nous auraient peut-être pris au moins cinq ans à intégrer dans lors d’une transition sans point de rupture.

Néanmoins, la France ne partait pas d’aussi loin que certains autres pays. Comme nous l’évoquions la semaine dernière, les Français sont particulièrement attachés à l’argent en cash, mais font partie des premiers à payer par carte. La digitalisation des paiements et des produits financiers est déjà loin derrière nous, et le taux de bancarisés est particulièrement élevé comparé à des pays comme les États-Unis.

Cette situation a poussé les fintech françaises à attirer les investisseurs, et pas seulement français. Nous avons adopté les paiements par mobile, les néo-banques (pour pros comme pour particuliers), et les nouveaux services d’assurances 100 % en ligne et plus simples nous intéressent.

Fintech : le bilan 2020

Le bilan annuel de l’association des fintechs de France a montré que l’ensemble des métiers de la finance numérique pesait pour 15 % des levées de fonds des entreprises du numérique cette année. Une « performance annuelle avec 828,2 millions d’euros » levés à la clé, selon le rapport de France FinTech, portée par des opérations au montant moyen de 13,1 millions d’euros (en hausse de 20,6 %).

Avec cet appétit des investisseurs, les néo-banques ont particulièrement marqué leur présence cette année avec une part de 31 % dans les levées de fonds. Les services de paiement comme Lydia représentent 15,3 %, et les insurtechs passent maintenant à 20 % pour établir leur meilleure année.

France FinTech n’en oubliait pas les défis durant l’année, notamment entre mars et avril où l’avenir incertain avait mis en pause la plupart des projets de financements. Les doutes concernaient surtout les néo-banques, encore très jeunes, et dépendantes des utilisations des cartes des clients pour générer de l’argent, tout comme de frontières ouvertes pour intéresser le premier public de ces modèles 100 % en ligne.

Depuis cette tempête parfois tragique pour certaines fintech, le regard des investisseurs fut d’autant plus intéressés qu’avant, et l’explication est la même qu’avec des flambées comme Zoom en bourse : les outils du numérique ont d’autant plus été adoptés. Dans une interview avec Presse-citronle fondateur du startup studio eFounders déclarait à ce sujet :

« Depuis mai, je ne trouve plus aucune corrélation entre ce que l’on vit dans notre vie personnelle sur les règles sanitaires, la crise économique, ce que l’on peut lire dans les journaux et ce qu’il se passe dans les levées de fonds. Nous sommes revenus, honnêtement, à la situation pré-COVID ». 

Tout cela n’aurait pu trouver une meilleure comparaison que le volume d’argent levé en décembre : 143 millions d’euros. Un montant auquel France FinTech commentait : « L’année se termine, comme elle avait débuté, sur une tendance très positive ». Et un capital investi pratiquement identique …”

Finscale #36

Finscale#36 - Adina Grigoriu (AAA) - La sélection des actifs financiers avec une approche par le risque, une démarche innovante pour optimiser les performancesCette semaine, Adina nous décrit les différentes solutions d’investissement conçues par la société pour ses...