Select a page

French fintechs in the COVID19 crisis - Interview with Alain Clot

April 10, 2020 | Publications

Discover the interview with Alain Clot, President of France FinTech forSapiens Institute about French fintechs facing the Covid19 crisis.

How is the fintech in France and how is it reacting to the current health crisis?

The Coranavirus surprised us in a period of strong growth.

French fintechs have indeed had an excellent year 2019, with a sharp increase in their number - more than 600 to date - covering all sectors of alternative finance - payment, financing, neo-banking, insurance, cryptocurrency, among others - for individuals, companies and investors. Our ecosystem now includes two unicorns and ten international champions. As for fundraising, they reached nearly 700 million euros, or double the fundraising in 2018. The first two months of 2020 were in the same trend.

[...]

What, in your opinion, are the solutions for this sector to emerge without too much damage?  

In the midst of a health crisis, the measures to be applied as a matter of urgency are similar to those which allow “classic” SMEs to cope: recourse to short-time working (already implemented by around a third of our members) and access to measures announced by the government (guarantee on bank loans, support from the BPI, among others).

However, these measures are only suitable for certain fintechs because the current method of financing start-ups is not bank credit, but investors, business angels and venture capital funds.

[...]

What is the place of French fintechs on the international scene and their roles within international finance?   

French fintechs have long suffered from a lack of certain fundamental resources to bring out international champions and compete on equal terms with their major foreign competitors, especially Anglo-Saxons. While they operate in a market strongly controlled by traditional players (banks and insurance companies), they did not benefit from equivalent risk capital resources, nor from a regulator supporting innovation.

Even if many changes have taken place, there are still several "holes in the rack" such as the funding of the seed phase and the acceleration - tranche 30-40 million euros - and backing to a large market domesticated.

[...]

It is vital and urgent to build a French and European vision in this area and to devote the appropriate means to it: public procurement, Small Business Act, construction of a large financial innovation market - type Nasdaq - and a data industry - Cloud including.

This battle is key. We must be conquerors and go beyond the adage “America innovates, China copies and Europe regulates”.

Forward!

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Les fintech françaises dans la crise du COVID19 – Entretien avec Alain Clot

Avr 10, 2020 | Parutions

Découvrez l’interview d’Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech pour l’Institut Sapiens au sujet des fintech françaises face à la crise du Covid19.

Comment se porte le secteur de la fintech en France et comment réagit-il à la crise sanitaire actuelle ?

Le Coranavirus nous a surpris dans une période de forte croissance.

Les fintech françaises ont en effet réalisé une excellente année 2019, avec une forte augmentation de leur nombre – plus de 600 à ce jour – couvrant tous les secteurs de la finance alternative – paiement, financement, néo-banque, assurance, crypto-monnaie, entre autres – à destination aussi bien des particuliers, des entreprises que des investisseurs. Notre écosystème comporte désormais deux licornes et une dizaine de champions présents à l’international. Quant aux levées de fonds, celles-ci ont atteint près de 700 millions d’euros, soit le double des levées de 2018. Les deux premiers mois de 2020 se sont inscrits dans cette même tendance.

[…]

Quelles sont, selon vous, les solutions pour que ce secteur s’en sorte sans trop de dégâts ?  

En pleine crise sanitaire, les mesures à appliquer d’urgence sont proches de celles qui permettent aux PME « classiques » de faire face : le recours au chômage partiel (déjà mis en œuvre chez environ un tiers de nos membres) et l’accès aux dispositifs annoncés par le gouvernement (garantie sur les prêts bancaires, soutien de la BPI, entre autres).

Toutefois, ces mesures ne conviennent qu’à certaines fintech car le mode de financement courant des jeunes pousses n’est pas le crédit bancaire, mais les investisseurs, business angels et fonds de capital-risque.

[…]

Quelle est la place des fintech françaises sur l’échiquier international et leurs rôles au sein de la finance internationale ?   

Les fintech françaises ont longtemps pâti d’un manque de certaines ressources fondamentales pour faire émerger des champions internationaux et affronter à armes égales leurs grands concurrents étrangers, anglo-saxons notamment. Alors qu’elles évoluent sur un marché fortement contrôlé par les acteurs traditionnels (banques et assurances), elles ne bénéficiaient pas de ressources de capital risque équivalentes, ni d’un régulateur soutenant l’innovation.

Même si de nombreux changements ont pris place, il reste plusieurs « trous dans la raquette » comme le financement de la phase d’amorçage et de l’accélération – tranche 30-40 millions d’euros – et l’adossement à un grand marché domestique.

[…]

Il est vital et urgent de construire une vision française et européenne dans ce domaine et d’y consacrer les moyens appropriés : commande publique, Small Business Act, construction d’un grand marché financier de l’innovation – type Nasdaq – et d’une industrie de la donnée – Cloud notamment.

Cette bataille est clé. Nous devons nous montrer conquérants et dépasser l’adage « l’Amérique innove, la Chine copie et l’Europe régule ».

En avant !