Select a page

FinTech: When supply meets demand for a better shopping experience

July 10, 2020 | grandstands

MasterCard is partner of France FinTech and many fintechs. Alexandra Zana, gives us her analysis of current trends through this forum.

Innovative and disruptive fintechs are shaking up all sectors of finance. This is the case, for example, in the dematerialization of payment, where, in an increasingly demanding market that creates value for the customer, fintechs offer innovative and differentiated offers with a common objective: the improvement and simplification of the customer. user experience by offering a seamless and transparent service.

Their specificity is the disruption of the act of payment to the point that today, we no longer speak only of fintechs, but also of paytech or retail tech (such as Klarna, Dejamobile, Treezor). The value moves from card issuance to acceptance / deed of payment. Conversely, fintechs traditionally positioned on acceptance are embarking on card issuance (let us quote on this subject the French moon card et Paytrip, or the Dutch Adyen and the Londoner sum up). The two worlds of card issuance and acceptance (two historic Mastercard businesses) complement each other to offer a unified and enriched payment experience.

Among them, the neo-banks are a reflection of today's world where the user / consumer demands a greener economy, greener mobility, social and financial inclusion for all and the establishment of education. financial support for young people, among others.

Record fundraising by French fintechs attest to their good health, with 699 million euros raised in 2019 and already more than 455 million euros raised for the 1st quarter of 2020. It is interesting to note that the Banking / PFM services category is, for the moment, the most important in terms of value (38,3%), followed by payment services (22,6%), a sign of strong traction for these two sectors of activity, which reveals the market's appetite for their innovative solutions. Let us quote for example Qonto, a neo-bank dedicated to professionals, which in January raised 105 million euros - the largest operation to date for a French fintech - or even Spendesk, in the professional segment, which raised 35 million euros in September 2019.

To support the development of fintechs and meet their essential challenges of agility, speed and technological innovation, Mastercard has established itself as a privileged partner of fintechs in France and in Europe. 

We are constantly adapting our processes and solutions to shorten and simplify the time to market for fintechs. This is particularly the purpose of the Fintech Express program, the launch of which we announced at the beginning of June. We also support fintechs at all their stages of development, from start-up to international expansion, in many forms - For example, our in-house consultants, Mastercard Data & Services, help our clients to develop, to optimize their activities with, for example, the implementation of marketing campaigns and communication actions or assistance in defining value propositions. We also offer international opportunities through our Start Path program.

We have also surrounded ourselves with partners of choice in the fintech ecosystem. As such, Mastercard is a partner and founding member of the incubator The Swave. We are also delighted to count among our privileged partners the Paris Fintech Forum and France FinTech, which allow us to continue to cultivate innovation, support the digitalization of the economy and constantly work to improve user payment experiences.


 1 Source: France FinTech 2019
 2 Source: France FinTech 2020

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Les fintech : Quand l’offre rencontre la demande pour une meilleure expérience d’achat

Juil 10, 2020 | Tribunes

Mastercard est partenaire de France FinTech et de nombreuses fintech. Alexandra Zana, nous livre son analyse des tendances actuelles au travers de cette tribune.

Les fintech, innovantes et disruptives, bousculent l’ensemble des secteurs de la finance. C’est le cas par exemple dans la dématérialisation du paiement, où,  dans un marché toujours plus exigeant et créateur de valeur pour le client, les fintech proposent des offres innovantes et différenciées avec un objectif commun : l’amélioration et la simplification de l’expérience utilisateur en lui offrant un service sans couture et transparent.

Leur spécificité est la disruption de l’acte de paiement au point qu’aujourd’hui, on ne parle plus seulement de fintechs, mais aussi de paytech ou de retail tech (tels Klarna, Dejamobile, Treezor). La valeur se déplace de l’émission carte vers l’acceptation /l’acte de paiement. A l’inverse, les fintech traditionnellement positionnées sur l’acceptation se lancent dans l’émission carte (citons à ce sujet les françaises Mooncard et Paytrip, ou encore la hollandaise Adyen et la londonienne Sum Up). Les deux mondes de l’émission et l’acceptation carte (deux métiers historiques de Mastercard) se complètent pour offrir une expérience de paiement unifiée et enrichie.

Parmi elles, les néo-banques sont le reflet du monde d’aujourd’hui où l’utilisateur/consommateur demande une économie plus verte, une mobilité plus écologique, une inclusion sociale et financière pour tous et la mise en place d’une éducation financière pour les jeunes, entre autres.

Les levées de fonds records des fintechs françaises attestent de leur bonne santé, avec 699 millions d’euros levés en 2019 et déjà plus de 455 millions d’euros levés pour le 1er trimestre 2020. Il est intéressant de relever que la catégorie des services Banking/PFM est, pour le moment, la plus importante en valeur (38,3%), suivi des services de paiement (22,6%), signe d’une forte traction pour ces deux secteurs d’activité qui révèle l’appétence du marché pour leurs solutions innovantes. Citons par exemple Qonto, néo-banque dédiée aux professionnels, qui a levé en janvier 105 millions d’euros – plus grosse opération à date pour une fintech française – ou encore Spendesk, sur le segment des professionnels, qui a levé 35 millions d’euros en septembre 2019.

Pour accompagner le développement des fintechs et répondre à leurs enjeux essentiels d’agilité, de rapidité et d’innovation technologique, Mastercard s’est imposé comme un partenaire privilégié des fintech en France et en Europe. 

Nous adaptons en permanence nos processus et solutions pour raccourcir et simplifier les délais de mise en marché des fintech. C’est notamment l’objet du programme Fintech Express, dont nous avons annoncé le lancement début juin. Nous accompagnons également les fintech à tous leurs stades de développement, du démarrage à l’expansion internationale et ce, sous de multiples formes – Par exemple, nos consultants en interne, Mastercard Data & Services, aident nos clients à se développer, à optimiser leurs activités avec par exemple la mise en place de campagnes marketing et d’actions de communication ou l’aide à la définition de propositions de valeur. Nous offrons également, à travers notre programme Start Path, des opportunités à l’international.

Nous nous sommes  également entourés de partenaires de choix dans l’écosystème fintech. A ce titre Mastercard est partenaire et membre fondateur de l’incubateur Le Swave. Nous sommes aussi ravis de compter parmi nos partenaires privilégiés le Paris Fintech Forum et France FinTech qui nous permettent de continuer à cultiver l’innovation, d’accompagner la digitalisation de l’économie et d’œuvrer constamment pour l’amélioration des expériences de paiement des utilisateurs.


 1 Source : France FinTech 2019
 2 Source : France FinTech 2020

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...

Conquête #6

Conquête#6 - Comment encourager l'épargne grâce à une UX incroyable ? - Raphaël Ronot (Cashbee)Raphaël Ronot est CMO/Designer chez Cashbee, une solution d'épargne via app. La société a levé plus de 1M€ depuis sa création.