Select a page

Financial services: “the great decompartmentalization”

January 31, 2017 | Publications

Article by Alain Clot published in Finance Mag

 

"During the 'Trente glorieuses', the financial services industry was structured within a triple-entry matrix: customer segmentation (individuals, professionals, companies), 'verticals' of trades and specialties (financing, investments, services) and finally a geographical approach (by country or even by region). All with a very proprietary approach in terms of skills and products. This matrix has enabled the major players to achieve productivity and specialization gains, while reaching critical size in each pocket.

But becoming more and more complex, it ended up generating high structural costs and complexity penalizing both the operators and the customers themselves.

Innovative financial services and societal changes are fundamentally changing the classic pattern on all three axes.

The linear mode “40 years of salaried employment with the same employer” is being diluted in increasingly composite paths. Millennials (or “generation Y”) will be, in their professional life, alternately or at the same time employees, entrepreneurs, freelancers, even inactive for - one can hope - short periods of transition.

They will therefore be an extremely fluid matter when it comes to their segmentation. Moreover, they no longer accept not to be understood in their entirety (individuals-entrepreneurs). They must therefore, from an operational point of view, be considered as a whole (professional and private life).

Traditional financial professions are also seeing their borders become more and more porous: SMEs finance themselves with market techniques, crowdfunding is both a loan and investment service, bankers have become insurers and vice and versa, etc. Generally speaking, so-called “disruptive” actors are particularly interested in interstitial spaces, in the mixtures of genres and specialties. This applies to both financial techniques and technologies (cognitive science and neuroscience, behavioral finance, etc.).

General hybridization

The new finance transcends national borders. Classical finance is essentially domestic. For reasons relating to regulation, taxation and above all culture, consumption patterns have so far been different from country to country. In fact, there are no “factories” common to the various retail banking markets, not even within the European Union. FinTech, focused on digital uses and user experience, tends to create generic global models (payments between individuals, crowdfunding, etc.). It is developing very widely internationally from a central platform. More than half of France FinTech members have a presence in more than one country and three quarters have an international development project within twelve months.

This general hybridization also applies to the actors themselves. The fintechs are very largely integrators of various skills, not hesitating, to compose their offer, to seek the ingredients from other categories of producers (banks, insurers, technology companies, other fintechs, including competitors) . Fintech are sometimes even a kind of outsourced R&D for all kinds of companies.

This trend is all the more striking since, in this second era of innovative finance, fintechs, initially focused on a given service, a vertical, are increasingly transformed into diversified platforms, into veritable neo-banks (and neo-banks). -insurers).

The capacity of players to exchange skills is constantly increasing as the “open banking” models are deployed and the application programming interfaces (“API”) become more common. know how.

More generally, the borders of the banking system are pushed in on all sides. Bill Gates basically said in 1994 that the world needed banks, not bankers. Rather radical formulation - I do not think the banks will disappear - and in any case a little premature. However, new consumers, especially younger ones, are increasingly decoupling banking services from their traditional providers. Telecom operators, mass distribution and of course fintech are now invited into the debate. The last comers, GAFAM and other BATX are undoubtedly the most dangerous for the title holders. 

In short, the bank is leaving the bank ...

The same is true of distribution, an area in which the greatest plasticity prevails. White label distribution agreements, B2B, B2B2C, etc.

A melting pot of talents

Finally, the most striking decompartmentalization that characterizes the world of fintech is that of talent.

Their ecosystem is the product of the fruitful confrontation of the worlds of finance and technology, not to mention regulation. It is also that of the “melting pot” of countless geographical and cultural origins that we find in most of our start-ups. In order not to sink into a blissful angelism, let us stress that, if this dynamic is productive, it is not easy to regulate. We should also mention that the balance conferred by diversity is far from being achieved, since the share of founders in our sector is only 10%., which is frankly problematic.

This “great decompartmentalization” of territories, skills, clienteles is not specific to the banking and insurance sector. It is gradually breaking down and reshaping all the compartments of economic, cultural and social activity.

But it is particularly acute in financial services: this profession is very old, its players strongly established in the social landscape, custodians of public confidence for centuries. They impact, by financing them, all the other sectors, which associates them intimately with the concept of sovereignty.

This problematic, oh so central, will be the common thread of “FinTech R: Evolution” which will take place on Thursday April 23 next Thursday, October 25 at Station F. »

___________

Source: Study France FinTech x Arkea x Roland Berger - Gender diversity in FinTech: where are the women? - Proposals to arouse plural vocations

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Services financiers : “le grand décloisonnement”

Jan 18, 2020 | Parutions

Article d’Alain Clot publié dans Finance Mag

 

“Au cours des “Trente glorieuses”, l’industrie des services financiers s’est structurée au sein d’une matrice à triple entrée : une segmentation de clientèle (particuliers, professionnels, entreprises), des “verticales” de métiers et de spécialités (financements, placements, services) et enfin une approche géographique (par pays voir par région). Le tout avec une démarche très propriétaire en matière de compétence et de produits. Cette matrice a permis aux grands acteurs de réaliser des gains de productivité et de spécialisation, tout en atteignant la taille critique dans chaque poche.

Mais se complexifiant toujours davantage, elle a fini par générer des coûts de structure élevés et une complexité pénalisant, tant les exploitants que les clients eux-mêmes.

Les services financiers innovants et les mutations sociétales modifient le schéma classique en profondeur et, ce, sur les trois axes.

Le mode linéaire “40 ans de salariat chez le même employeur” se dilue dans des parcours de plus en plus composites. Les millennials (ou “génération Y”) seront, dans leur vie professionnelle, alternativement ou parallèlement salariés, entrepreneurs, freelances, voire inactifs pour – on peut l’espérer-  de courtes périodes de transition.

Ils seront donc une matière extrêmement mouvante s’agissant de leur segmentation. D’ailleurs, ils n’acceptent plus de ne pas être appréhendés dans leur globalité (particuliers-entrepreneurs). Ils doivent donc, du point de vue de l’exploitation, être considérés globalement (vie professionnelle et vie privée).

Les métiers financiers classiques voient eux aussi leurs frontières devenir de plus en plus poreuses : les PME se financent avec des techniques de marché, le financement participatif est à la fois un service de prêt et d’investissement, les banquiers sont devenus assureurs et vice et versa, etc. D’une manière générale les acteurs dits “disruptifs” s’intéressent tout particulièrement aux espaces interstitiels, aux mélanges des genres et des spécialités. Cela s’applique tant aux techniques financières, qu’aux technologies (sciences cognitives et neurosciences, finance comportementale, etc.).

Une hybridation générale

La nouvelle finance transcende les frontières nationales. La finance classique est essentiellement domestique. Pour des raisons qui tiennent à la réglementation, la fiscalité et surtout la culture, les modes de consommation ont été jusqu’à aujourd’hui différents de pays à pays. De fait, il n’existe pas “d’usines” communes aux différents marchés de banque de détail, pas même au sein de l’Union Européenne. La fintech, centrée sur les usages numériques et l’expérience utilisateur tend à créer des modèles génériques mondiaux (paiements entre particuliers, crowdfunding, etc.). Elle se développe très largement à l’international à partir d’une plateforme centrale. Plus de la moitié des adhérents de France FinTech ont une présence dans plus d’un pays et les trois quarts ont un projet de développement international dans les douze mois.

Cette hybridation générale s‘applique du reste aux acteurs eux-mêmes. Les fintech sont très largement des intégrateurs de compétences diverses, n’hésitant pas, pour composer leur offre, à aller en chercher les ingrédients chez d’autres catégories de producteurs (banques, assureurs, entreprises de technologie, autres fintech, y compris concurrentes). Les fintech sont même parfois une sorte de R&D externalisée pour toute sorte d’entreprises.

Cette tendance est d’autant plus marquante que, dans cette deuxième époque de la finance innovante, les fintech, initialement centrées sur un service donné, une verticale, se transforment de plus en plus en plateformes diversifiées, en véritables néo-banques (et néo-assureurs).

La capacité des acteurs à échanger des compétences s’accroît sans cesse au fur et à mesure du déploiement des modèle “d’open banking” et de la généralisation des interfaces de programmation applicative (“API”) qui permettent de fluidifier l’exportation de savoir-faire.

Plus globalement, les frontières du système bancaire sont enfoncées de tous côtés. Bill Gates avait dit en 1994 en substance que le monde avait besoin de banque et non de banquiers. Formulation plutôt radicale – je ne pense que les banques disparaîtront – et en tout état de cause un peu prématurée. Il reste que les nouveaux consommateurs, les plus jeunes en particulier, dissocient de plus en plus les services bancaires de leurs fournisseurs traditionnels. S’invitent désormais dans le débat, les opérateurs de télécom, la grande distribution et bien sur les fintech. Les derniers venus, GAFAM et autres BATX sont sans doute les plus dangereux pour les tenants du titre. 

En somme, la banque sort de la banque…

Il en est de même en matière de distribution, domaine dans lequel la plus grande plasticité prévaut. Accords de distribution en marque blanche, B2B, B2B2C, etc.

Un melting-pot de talents

Enfin le décloisonnement le plus marquant qui caractérise l’univers des fintech est celui des talents.

Leur écosystème est le produit de la confrontation féconde des univers de la finance et de la technologie, sans oublier la réglementation. Il est aussi celui du “melting pot” d’innombrables origines géographiques et culturelles qu’on rencontre dans la plupart de nos start up. Pour ne pas sombrer dans un angélisme béat, soulignons que, si cette dynamique est productive, elle n’est pas facile à régler. Mentionnons aussi que l’équilibre que confère la mixité est très loin d’être acquis, puisque la part de fondatrices dans notre secteur n’est que de 10%, ce qui est franchement problématique.

Ce “grand décloisonnement” des territoires, des compétences, des clientèles n’est pas spécifique au secteur bancaire et assurantiel. Il déstructure et remodèle progressivement tous les compartiments de l’activité économique, culturelle et sociale.

Mais il revêt une acuité particulière dans les services financiers : ce métier est fort ancien, ses acteurs puissamment installés dans le paysage social, dépositaires de la confiance publique depuis des siècles. Ils impactent, en les finançant, tous les autres secteurs, ce qui les associent intimement au concept de souveraineté.

Cette problématique, ô combien centrale, sera le fil conducteur de “FinTech  R:Evolution” qui se déroulera le jeudi 23 avril jeudi 25 octobre prochain à Station F.”

_____________

Source : Etude France Fintech x Arkéa x Roland BergerMixité dans la Fintech : où sont les femmes ? – Les propositions pour susciter des vocations plurielles

TrackRecord #12

TrackRecord#12 - Nicolas Benady sur le seed de SwanNicolas est ce qu’on appelle un serial entrepreneur, et un expert des sujets de paiement. En 13 ans il en est à sa troisième société co-foundée. Après Limonetik et Antelop, Swan, développé au sein de l’environnement...