Select a page

COVID 19: what if we took the opportunity to think?

May 13 | grandstands

COVID 19: what if we took the opportunity to reflect?
by Alain Clot, President of France FinTech

Sent back to my homes for reasons of confinement, like everyone else, I went through phases of astonishment, worry, irritation sometimes in front of the unfolding of the faults inherent in this type of crisis: explosion of attempts at fraud, disinformation and conspiracy on all levels, irresponsible denial of danger or destructive catastrophism and especially this very French propensity to judge, condemn, denounce and self-proclaim knowing (65 million experts…).

I think the sentence that irritates me the most is "I told you so" ... But also admiring the courage of so many caregivers, firefighters, police officers, cashiers, garbage collectors, bank employees, entrepreneurs, civil servants. Further proof if needed that we are a great nation and that union and solidarity are strength.

Let us not forget this in this digital age which threatens everywhere the mutualizations which are nevertheless the very foundation of our society. And of course happy to be able (finally) to read, think and think about this situation. I am old enough to know that we must not fall into the old antiphon "the world will never be the same as before", that we are pressed into each crisis with a sententious and mysterious air.

It seems to me that, if this crisis has some marked specificities (universal aspect geographically and sectorally in particular), it will probably result more in an acceleration of pre-existing trends than in a rupture proper:

  • Increased "distance" between producers (including public) and customers-users-users. One only needs to see, for example, the explosion in the use of banking applications to understand that the digitization of financial services will experience a strong acceleration. And this is true in almost all sectors. Hard times for traditional distributors who must hurry in their reflections.

     

  • Growing and soon to be central role of data technologies, foremost among which is artificial intelligence, which is decisive in the four challenges of financial services: customer knowledge, advice, risk management and productivity. AI will make it possible to find industrial solutions to the challenge of reconciling mass processing and individualization of the solution, which could be formulated by the oxymoron: industrializing individualization.

     

  • Unprecedented threat posed by Big Tech (GAFAM and BATX), the real big winners from this crisis and who are now primarily targeting financial services.

     

  • Growing use of innovative ways of organizing work : teleworking, “freelancing”, partnerships. According to recent studies, the majority of those under 35 plan to leave their employer within two years and favor the culture of craftsmanship. Astonishing turnaround ...

     

  • New relationship to trust and widespread questioning of traditional authorities, experts and intermediaries.

This period calls, in any case, to update strategic thinking. Allow me on this subject to suggest a few leads.

The first is the vital importance of developing a vision (this is also true at the level of the Nation and the Company). A vision is not an exercise in forecasting, nor a linear projection of current trends. It is an attempt to clarify convictions, supported hypotheses, projection or rupture scenarios. It is also the consensus on which the social body must be based.

The second is that this strategic reflection benefits from being based on the following principles :

  • The value chain must be redefined, finely, then wondering, link by link, on the identification of the "regalian (What is at the heart of value) and what can and should be outsourced, or even abandoned. The resources of the company, first and foremost men and time, must be concentrated on this regal.

     

  • A deep and detailed reflection on outsourcing (neither too proprietary in its approach, nor weakened by excessive or too distant subcontracting) is opportune.

     

  • The observation of competition, best practices and technology ("benchmark") is more than ever vital. It is now carried out 360 °: a bank must constantly observe not only its peers, but also now fintechs, insurers, mass distribution, Big Tech, AI labs and universities, etc.

     

  • You have to adapt to the reflection and action in durably uncertain universe and to be honest, unpredictable: continuously updating its vision, diversifying its strategic options, accepting to experiment.

     

  • Take into account that " time is shortening ”. The “Time to Market” has become a key concept. Overquality or late perfection kills at least as much as their opposite.

     

  • The strategic break does not fit well with "democratic" processes. She does not submit to the vote. This is obviously not politically correct and even disturbing for our republican and participatory consciousness. But groups performing in a period like this define at the head, without procrastination, the necessary adjustments and execute them without trembling. The “Bottom Up”, so fashionable, is ill-suited to the need for a strategic break. On the contrary, this does not exclude listening, teaching and appropriation by the whole social body.

     

  • It would be inconsistent to "restart the machine" without a much stronger consideration of the imperatives of sustainable development. Because the state of the planet requires it, but also because neither employees nor customers will accept the status quo.

Finally, I would like to conclude this short comment with the aspect that seems to me the most important in this era of profound change. Very simply formulated, I would say: the complex subject is not technology but culture and that's what's the hardest thing to change. The engine of society is more than ever the youth, the “millennials” and their new expectations. For the first time in history, we learn more technically from our children than from our parents and it is the youngest who give the “la”. And this will probably still be verified for the next generation. You have to learn to speak the language of this “Petite Poucette” age group, as Michel Serres called it.
 The relationship to technology, data, innovation in general is also a cultural subject. Learning from smaller than oneself, or from younger ones, taking risks, experimenting, accepting to fail, learning from mistakes, starting over, “pivoting”, or sharing research are no longer options but ardent necessities .

Editorial published for the Crise & Opportunité white paperHoward Partners

 

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

COVID 19 : et si on en profitait pour réfléchir ?

Mai 13, 2020 | Tribunes

COVID 19 : et si on en profitait pour réflechir ?
par Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech

Renvoyé dans mes foyers pour cause de confinement, je suis comme tout le monde passé par les phases de sidération, d’inquiétude, d’irritation parfois devant le déploiement des travers inhérents à ce type de crise : explosion des tentatives de fraude, désinformation et complotisme à tous les étages, déni irresponsable du danger ou catastrophisme destructeur et surtout cette propension si française à juger, condamner, dénoncer et s’autoproclamer sachant (65 millions d’experts…).

Je crois que la phrase qui m’irrite le plus est « je vous l’avais bien dit » … Mais aussi admiratif devant le courage de tant de soignants, pompiers, policiers, caissières, éboueurs, employés de banque, entrepreneurs, fonctionnaires. Preuve supplémentaire s’il en fallait que nous sommes une grande nation et que l’union et la solidarité font la force.

Ne l’oublions pas dans cette ère numérique qui menace partout les mutualisations qui sont pourtant le fondement même de notre société. Et bien sur heureux de pouvoir (enfin) lire, réfléchir et penser cette situation. Je suis assez âgé pour savoir qu’il ne faut pas tomber dans la vieille antienne « le monde ne sera plus jamais comme avant », qu’on nous ressert à chaque crise avec un air sentencieux et mystérieux.

Il me semble que,  si cette crise a quelques spécificités marquées (aspect universel sur les plans géographiques et sectoriels notamment), elle se traduira probablement davantage par une accélération de tendances préexistantes que par une rupture proprement dite :

  • « Distanciation » accrue entre les producteurs (y compris publics) et les clients-utilisateurs-usagers. Il n’est que voir, par exemple,  l’explosion de l’usage des applications bancaires pour comprendre que la numérisation des services financiers va connaître une forte accélération. Et cela se vérifie dans tous presque tous les secteurs. Dure époque pour les distributeurs traditionnels qui doivent se hâter dans leurs réflexions.

     

  • Rôle croissant et bientôt central des technologies de la donnée, au premier rang desquelles l’intelligence artificielle, décisive dans les quatre défis des services financiers : connaissance client, conseil, gestion du risque et productivité. L’IA va permettre de trouver des solutions industrielles au défi de concilier traitement de masse et individualisation de la solution, qu’on pourrait formuler par l’oxymore : industrialiser l’individualisation.

     

  • Menace sans précédent que constituent les Big Tech (GAFAM et BATX), véritables grands gagnants de cette crise et qui ciblent désormais prioritairement les services financiers.

     

  • Recours croissant aux modes innovants d’organisation du travail : télétravail, « freelancing », partenariats. Selon des études récentes, la majorité des moins de 35 ans envisagent de quitter leur employeur dans les deux ans et plébiscitent la culture de l’artisanat. Étonnant retournement…

     

  • Nouveau rapport à la confiance et remise en cause généralisée des autorités, experts et intermédiaires traditionnels.

Cette période appelle, en tout état de cause, une actualisation de la réflexion stratégique. Qu’il me soit permis à ce sujet de suggérer quelques pistes.

La première est l’importance vitale d’élaborer une vision (ceci étant d’ailleurs vrai au niveau de la Nation et de l’Entreprise). Une vision n’est pas un exercice de prévision, ni une projection linéaire des tendances actuelles. Il s’agit d’une tentative de mise au clair de convictions, d’hypothèses étayées, de scénarios de projection ou de rupture. C’est aussi le consensus sur lequel doit s’appuyer le corps social.

La seconde est que cette réflexion stratégique gagne à s’appuyer sur les principes suivants :

  • La chaîne de valeur doit être redéfinie, finement, en s’interrogeant ensuite, maillon par maillon, sur l’identification du « régalien » (ce qui est au cœur de la valeur) et ce qui peut et doit être externalisé, voire abandonné. Les ressources de l’entreprises, au premier rang desquelles les hommes et le temps, doivent être concentrées sur ce régalien.

     

  • Une réflexion profonde et fine sur l’externalisation (ni trop propriétaire dans son approche, ni fragilisé par une sous-traitance excessive ou trop lointaine) est opportune.

     

  • L’observation de la concurrence, des meilleures pratiques et de la technologie (« benchmark ») est plus que jamais vitale. Il est désormais conduit à 360° :  une banque doit observer en permanence non seulement ses pairs, mais aussi désormais les fintech, les assureurs, la grande distribution, les Big Tech, les labos d’IA et universités, etc.

     

  • Il faut s’adapter à la réflexion et l’action en univers durablement incertain et pour tout dire imprévisible : actualiser sa vision en continu, diversifier ses options stratégiques, accepter d’expérimenter.

     

  • Prendre en compte que « le temps raccourcit ». Le « Time to Market » est devenu un concept clé. La surqualité ou la perfection tardive tuent au moins autant que leur contraire.

     

  • La rupture stratégique s’accommode mal des processus « démocratiques ». Elle ne se soumet pas aux voix. Ceci n’est évidemment pas politiquement correct et même dérangeant pour nos consciences républicaines et participatives.  Mais les groupes performants dans une période comme celle-ci définissent à la tête, sans tergiverser, les ajustements nécessaires et les exécutent sans trembler. Le « Bottom Up », tellement dans l’air du temps, est peu adapté à la nécessité de rupture stratégique. Ceci n’excluant pas bien au contraire l’écoute, la pédagogie et l’appropriation par tout le corps social.

     

  • Il serait inconséquent de « relancer la machine » sans une prise en compte beaucoup plus forte des impératifs de développement durable. Parce l’état de la planète le nécessite, mais aussi parce que ni les collaborateurs, ni les clients n’accepteront le statu quo.

Enfin j’aimerais conclure ce court propos avec l’aspect qui me semble le plus important en cette ère de mutation profonde. Très simplement formulé, je dirais : le sujet complexe n’est pas la technologie mais la culture et c’est ce qui est le plus difficile à changer. Le moteur de la société est plus que jamais la jeunesse, les « milléniaux » et leurs nouvelles attentes. Pour la première fois de l’histoire, on apprend plus techniquement de ses enfants que de ses parents et ce sont les plus jeunes qui donne le “la”. Et cela sera probablement encore vérifié pour la génération suivante. Il faut apprendre à parler la langue de cette classe d’âge  “Petite Poucette” comme l’a nommée Michel Serres.
 Le rapport à la technologie, à la donnée, à l’innovation en général est également un sujet culturel. Apprendre de plus petits que soi, ou de plus jeunes, prendre des risques, expérimenter, accepter d’échouer, tirer les leçons de ses erreurs, recommencer, « pivoter », ou partager la recherche ne sont plus des options mais d’ardentes nécessités.

Édito publié pour le livre blanc Crise & Opportunité d’Howard Partners