Select a page

Fintech and large groups: let's focus on the ecosystem, everyone will benefit!

October 8, 2020 | News, grandstands

To succeed in their partnerships with fintechs, whatever the nature of the relationship, banking players have transformed their approach and structured their organization by distinguishing between M&A and corporate venture.

Despite a tumultuous context, nearly 455 million euros were raised by the fintech France in the first half of 1. While we are still far from the amounts posted across the Atlantic or in Asia in the financial sector, France is starting to play a significant role on its own scale.

In turn considered as short-term troublemakers or enemies to be stifled, fintechs are now seeing the doors of large groups open! Since the start of the year, nearly 700 partnerships have been concluded within the ecosystem between historical players and new entrants… Sign of a new trend? How did we go from the era of absolute mistrust to understanding cordial? And how to achieve a new level of growth for the financial sector?

Birth of a start-up nation

What has changed ? With practice and experience, after having suffered greatly, each link in the chain has found its place, to give birth to a true start-up nation. Business angels and early-stage funds participate in the emergence of new players by selecting relevant value propositions and teams capable of fully focusing until reaching a “market fit”, a strong desirability with its target market.

French accelerators no longer have anything to envy those of North America in terms of attractiveness and aggregates of skills and help to hatch the best initiatives until they take off. The first successful founders reinvest in their original ecosystem and share their experience.

To support the growth of these French champions, public and private actors of the funding coordinated in a relevant way. The role of the BPI should be emphasized here.

The most advanced technical expertise from our universities, prized for decades on the other side of the Atlantic, now naturally integrates young French shoots and constitutes an essential breeding ground for their success.

The French ecosystem has reached a level of maturity that allows key players in the territory to mobilize to provide ad hoc financing and allow these initiatives to scale up, including large French companies, particularly banking.

Banks regaining their pioneering spirit

However, the subject of relations between “historic” banks and fintechs remains complex. On June 30, Maddyness headlined “Shine goes under the control of Societe Generale to enrich its offer”. And the news has caused a lot of ink to flow within the startup world. Some saw this takeover as a great success, others as too rapid a divestiture, and finally others as a reflection of our inability to create the next Google. However, it is difficult to say without knowing the bottom line.

On the one hand, the motivation, ambition and resilience of the founders and their teams have made it possible to generate enough value in the eyes of a buyer and it is therefore an undeniable success. They now face a challenge, no less complex, which will consist in continuing their development in a new environment, and which, because the rules are different, might not leave them all the necessary autonomy, as we sometimes have. seen.

On the other hand, the large banking groups, often criticized, are now committed to playing their role in all benevolence. They became aware of the value of creating the conditions for lasting cohabitation. They now ensure to collaborate more effectively, in a win-win spirit.

To succeed in partnerships with fintechs, whatever the nature of the relationship, the main historical players in the financial market have transformed their approach and changed their mindset. They have structured their organization by distinguishing between M&A and corporate venture and by associating specific teams and profiles. They recruited former entrepreneurs to speak the same language. They also created specific processes to facilitate collaboration with the fintech ecosystem. Lastly, their governance now allows rapid decision-making and respectable financial conditions for young shoots knocking on their door. They finally returned to their raison d'être, to the pioneering spirit that justified their existence and their growth through the ages. They now fully participate in the growth of the ecosystem.

Open banking, the future of fintech?

This return to the pioneering spirit was not without pain. Shaken by the successive crises of the 21st century, the historical players in the banking sector have been relentlessly “attacked” by new entrants: on their economic model, on the customer experience, on digitization, on investment tools , access to trading, currency risk management or their operational infrastructure. They had to challenge themselves ... sometimes forgetting to refocus on their strengths. Because banks and insurers house latent assets that no fintech can afford! Assets that can become the key instruments for effective cooperation.

Historical infrastructure, even though it is sometimes perceived as dilapidated from an internal point of view, remains an essential asset. Infrastructure As A Service (IaaS) is a playing card for these players. The opportunity both to modernize and to attract the best partners. Standard Chartered's initiative in Asia is interesting in this regard because it allows the region's fintechs to rely on the bank's assets in a sustainable, secure and efficient manner. In addition, IaaS also allows them to imagine for their own account the products or services that they could develop on their own according to their strategic priorities.

Through these investments, which they are the only ones able to make (Gafam set aside), historical players in the financial sector may create a comparative advantage for decades to come. Generating the growth of the ecosystem, by facilitating access to their systems and infrastructure, will encourage the emergence of new players. With an adapted economic model, the infrastructures thus made available will no longer be cost centers for the banks but rather profit centers.

Conclusion

Beyond the simple historic “Make or Buy”, banks and insurers have learned to forge partnerships of trust, to co-construct relevant solutions within ever shorter deadlines contributing to the renewal of the sector. The 700 partnerships concluded since the start of the year within the ecosystem are the best proof that the “historic” banks are now in working order.

Open banking is one avenue to explore. Each actor will be able to play his own card. It is undoubtedly a driver of sustainable growth for the FinTech ecosystem, although it does take time to measure the results.

SOURCE> The Internet Journal 

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Fintech et grands groupes : privilégions l’écosystème, chacun y gagnera !

Oct 8, 2020 | Actualité, Tribunes

Pour réussir leurs partenariats avec les fintech, quelle que soit la nature de la relation, les acteurs bancaires ont transformé leur approche et structuré leur organisation en distinguant le M&A et le corporate venture.

Malgré un contexte tumultueux, près de 455 millions d’euros ont été levés par les fintech françaises au 1er semestre 2020. Si nous sommes encore loin des montants affichés outre-Atlantique ou en Asie dans le secteur financier, la France commence à jouer un rôle significatif à son échelle.

Tour à tour considérées comme des trublions à court terme ou des ennemis à étouffer, les fintech voient désormais s’entrouvrir les portes des grands groupes ! Depuis le début de l’année, près de 700 partenariats ont été conclus au sein de l’écosystème entre les acteurs historiques et les nouveaux entrants… Signe d’une nouvelle tendance ? Comment sommes-nous passés de l’ère de la défiance absolue à l’entente cordiale ? Et comment atteindre un nouveau palier de croissance pour le secteur financier ?

Naissance d’une start-up nation

Ce qui a changé ? Avec la pratique et l’expérience, après avoir largement souffert, chaque maillon de la chaîne a trouvé sa place, pour donner naissance à une véritable start-up nation. Les business angels et les fonds early-stage participent à l’émergence de nouveaux acteurs en sélectionnant des propositions de valeur pertinentes et des équipes capables de se focaliser pleinement jusqu’à atteindre un “market fit”, une désirabilité forte avec son marché cible.

Les accélérateurs français n’ont désormais plus rien à envier à ceux du Nord de l’Amérique en termes d’attractivité et d’agrégats de compétences et contribuent à couver les meilleures initiatives jusqu’à leur envol. Les premiers fondateurs à succès réinvestissent dans leur écosystème d’origine et partagent leur expérience.

Pour soutenir la croissance de ces champions français, acteurs publics et privés du financement se sont coordonnés de manière pertinente. Le rôle de la BPI est ici à souligner.

Les expertises techniques les plus pointues issues de nos universités, prisées depuis des décennies outre Atlantique, intègrent désormais naturellement les jeunes pousses françaises et constituent un vivier essentiel à leur réussite.

L’écosystème français a atteint un niveau de maturité qui permet aux acteurs clés du territoire de se mobiliser pour apporter le financement ad hoc et permettre le passage à l’échelle de ces initiatives, y compris les grandes entreprises françaises, notamment bancaires.

Des banques qui retrouvent leur esprit pionnier

Cependant, le sujet des relations entre banques “historiques” et les fintech reste complexe. Le 30 juin dernier, Maddyness titrait “Shine passe sous la coupe de Société Générale pour enrichir son offre”. Et la nouvelle a fait couler beaucoup d’encre au sein du monde des startups. Certains ont considéré ce rachat comme une grande réussite, d’autres, comme une cession trop rapide, d’autres enfin, comme le reflet de notre incapacité à créer le prochain Google. Difficile pourtant de se prononcer sans connaître le dessous des cartes.

D’un côté, la motivation, l’ambition et la résilience des fondateurs et de leurs équipes ont permis de générer suffisamment de valeur aux yeux d’un acheteur et c’est donc une réussite incontestable. Ils font désormais face à un défi, non moins complexe, qui consistera à continuer leur développement dans un nouvel environnement, et qui, parce que les règles sont différentes, pourrait ne pas leurs laisser toute l’autonomie nécessaire, comme on l’a parfois vu.

D’un autre côté, les grands groupes bancaires, souvent critiqués, s’attachent désormais à jouer leur rôle en toute bienveillance. Ils ont pris conscience de l’intérêt de créer les conditions d’une cohabitation pérenne. Ils veillent désormais à collaborer plus efficacement, dans un esprit gagnant-gagnant.

Pour réussir les partenariats avec les fintech, quelle que soit la nature de la relation, les principaux acteurs historiques du marché financier ont transformé leur approche, modifié leur état d’esprit. Ils ont structuré leur organisation en distinguant le M&A et le corporate venture et en y associant des équipes et des profils spécifiques. Ils ont recruté d’anciens entrepreneurs pour parler le même langage. Ils ont aussi créé des processus spécifiques afin de faciliter la collaboration avec l’écosystème des fintech. Leur gouvernance, enfin, permet désormais une prise de décision rapide et des conditions financières respectables pour les jeunes pousses qui frappent à leur porte. Ils sont finalement revenus à leur raison d’être, à l’esprit pionnier qui a justifié leur existence et leur croissance au travers des époques. Ils participent désormais pleinement à la croissance de l’écosystème.

L’open banking, l’avenir de la fintech ?

Ce retour à l’esprit pionnier ne s’est pas fait sans douleur. Secoués par les crises successives de ce 21ème siècle, les acteurs historiques du secteur bancaire, ont été “attaqués” sans relâche par les nouveaux entrants : sur leur modèle économique, sur l’expérience client, sur la digitalisation, sur les outils d’investissements, l’accès au trading, la gestion du risque de change ou encore leur infrastructure opérationnelle. Ils ont dû se challenger… en oubliant parfois de se recentrer sur leurs atouts. Car les banques et assureurs abritent des actifs latents qu’aucune fintech ne peut s’offrir ! Des actifs qui peuvent devenir les instruments clés d’une coopération efficace.

L’infrastructure historique quand bien même est-elle parfois perçue comme vétuste d’un point de vue interne, reste un actif essentiel. L’Infrastructure As A Service (IaaS) est une carte à jouer pour ces acteurs. L’occasion à la fois de se moderniser et d’attirer les meilleurs partenaires. L’initiative de la Standard Chartered en Asie est intéressante à ce titre car elle permet aux fintech de la région de s’appuyer sur les actifs de la banque de manière pérenne, sécurisée et performante. En outre, l’IaaS leur offre également d’imaginer pour leur propre compte les produits ou services qu’ils pourraient développer par eux-mêmes en fonction de leurs priorités stratégiques.

Par ces investissements, qu’ils sont les seuls à pouvoir réaliser (Gafam mis de côté), les acteurs historiques du secteur financier peuvent créer un avantage comparatif pour les prochaines décennies. Engendrer la croissance de l’écosystème, en facilitant l’accès à leurs systèmes et leur infrastructure, favorisera l’émergence de nouveaux acteurs. Avec un modèle économique adapté, les infrastructures ainsi mises à disposition, ne seront plus des centres de coûts pour les banques mais bien des centres de profits.

Conclusion

Au-delà du simple “Make or Buy” historique, les banques et les assureurs ont appris à tisser des partenariats de confiance, à co-construire des solutions pertinentes dans des délais toujours plus courts participant au renouveau du secteur. Les 700 partenariats conclus depuis le début de l’année au sein de l’écosystème sont la meilleure preuve que les banques “historiques” sont désormais en ordre de marche.

L’open banking est une voie à explorer. Chaque acteur pourra y jouer sa propre carte. Il s’agit, à n’en pas douter, d’un vecteur de croissance pérenne de l’écosystème FinTech, bien qu’il faille néanmoins du temps pour en mesurer les résultats.

SOURCE > Le Journal Du Net