Select a page

The Covid 19 will not get the better of French fintech!

December 15, 2020 | grandstands

In the midst of the second confinement - which unfortunately will not be the last - and at the start of the resulting economic crisis of unprecedented magnitude, how is French fintech doing?

Surprise, surprise ...

Our year 2020 had started “with a bang” with strong growth in all the usual aggregates: number of fintechs (which now exceeds 650), growth in turnover and results. Fundraising, an interesting indicator, reached € 253 million in the first quarter (36% of the total amount for 2019). 

The pandemic has obviously caused the same astonishing effect on our entrepreneurs and their partners as on all the other players in economic and social life. Initially, the activity contracted, in particular that linked to physical commerce, to events and in general to social relations. Access to financing dried up for several weeks, in a French context, let us remember, in which start-ups have little access to bank credit.  

Adaptation, reaction and rebound!

FinTechs have quickly adapted: recourse to teleworking with which they are already familiar, reduction of costs, postponement of certain non-essential projects and dialogue with their customers, partners and employees.

It should be noted that they very quickly mobilized to bring their support to the “war effort”: support in particular for caregivers, vulnerable populations and very small businesses (we have identified more than a hundredsolidarity initiatives). As such, we have ensured, by helping to have a legislative amendment adopted with the support of Bercy, the association of crowdfunding platforms with PGEs (loans guaranteed by the State).

Finally, funding quickly returned: business angels, funds, including foreigners who are increasingly interested in our fintech.

In this unprecedented context, the ecosystem has shown itself to be generally resilient and responsive; the 2020 results should be rather good.

The amount of cumulative lifting achieved € 827,9 million for 62 operations (compared to € 699 million for 64 raised in 2019), with morevery fine operations: Dataiku (100M) - Qonto (104M) - Lydia (40M) - Swile (70M) - Alan (50M) - Luko (47,6M).

The average ticket is also increasing (€ 13,4 million against € 10,9 million in 2019).

The French ecosystem is therefore seeing its fundraising increase by 18,4%, against a drop of 7% for the European sector. Subject to any end-of-year operations, our share of the whole therefore increased by almost 2% (8,8% of the total).

The overall volume of business increased significantly due in particular to increased use of applications and the digitization needs of many uses related to financial services. 

See Barometers France FinTech 

2021 and beyond ... 

It is still difficult to measure the economic impact of the pandemic and predict its future repercussions, but we can already identify some consequences and distinguish the main trends.

Obviously, the economic crisis generated by the successive confinements will be deep and long. Fintechs, which in this regard are “companies like any other”, will be impacted in the same way as traditional financial players, including by an inevitable deterioration of risks (companies and individuals). Note, however, that few fintechs have a credit institution status.

In the longer term, the trends already observed should accelerate, foremost among which is the development of online finance. In fact, BtoC models are experiencing a marked development and it seems that BtoB solutions allowing a rapid digitalization of the customer experience are registering a growing mark of interest. At the same time, a number of BtoC models have launched a BtoB offer which represents a part of their growing activity (note that they are thus following the strategic path of big tech, etc.).

The internationalization of uses and players will continue, as will the phenomenon of platformization. Artificial intelligence and latest generation algorithms are having an increasingly strong impact on models (advice, risk, productivity in particular). We should also note the ever-increasing interference of American and Chinese Big Techs in financial services, which are now elevated to the rank of strategic priority. 

Segment by segment, champions are emerging and confirming their position, reflecting the start of consolidation. 

Finally, let us mention the recent and promising emergence of new bricks of use and models which are added to the offers already installed. 

In particular, I will mention four families (among many others):

  • fintechs that target what are called “functional services” (internally managed, as opposed to commercial operation). 23,5% of fundraising in value.

The creativity of our entrepreneurs in this sector is strong. These include what is commonly called “the economy of the invoice and expense report” and the solutions dedicated to the purchasing function, the financial services associated with the HR function (employee savings, payroll advances, etc. ). There has been a development of “Business Intelligence” tools (decision support) and a whole range of offers covering risk analysis. 

  • the neo-banking sector (31% of raises)

This compartment is stimulated by the rise of open finance and the enactment of the second European directive on payments (PSD2). It is characterized by the expansion of the range of products and services and the targeting of new customer segments (professionals, entrepreneurs and VSEs, young people under 15);

  • assurtech (21% of raises)

Digital insurance services are one of the fastest growing sectors, with the emergence of new insurers, on-demand insurance providers, parametric insurance or data management functionalities. 

In fact, the three sectors (functional services, new banking and insurance) together represent three quarters of fundraising for the year.

  • impact models

As everyone knows, societal and environmental concerns take a central place in the decision-making criteria of consumers (not just the youngest).

The translation of this basic trend is materialized by the development of neo-bank type fintech for the sustainable economy, fintech offering responsible investments, the measurement of the carbon footprint of our financial decisions or financial education. 


For a broader view of the ecosystem, see the
Panorama of French fintech from France FinTech x BlackFin Tech

 

We are clearly entering a decisive period for both traditional players (banking and insurance) and new entrants.

The economy of alternative finance is indeed in strong development under the pressure of the four engines of innovation (financing, regulation, technology and consumer demand) which grow strongly and concomitantly.

In this environment and faced with the arrival of Big Techs in financial services, it is essential not to waste time and especially to listen to the expectations of (new) consumers.

France, a market for skills and access to Europe, has a good card to play.

The pandemic period does not introduce a break, but rather constitutes a trend accelerator and a revealer of talent that our fintech have set out to seize with enthusiasm 

Alain Clot
President and founder, France FinTech 


About France Fintech

Created in 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech brings together companies using innovative and disruptive operational, technological or economic models aimed at addressing existing or emerging issues in the financial services industry and representing the main components of the sector. The association's mission is to promote the excellence of the sector in France and abroad and to represent French fintech to the public authorities, the regulator and the ecosystem. France FinTech is today the largest sectoral association of start-ups in France and in Europe. It is chaired by Alain Clot and Kristen Charvin is its general delegate. Its steering committee brings together the founders and directors of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT. In addition to its actions in the regulatory and legislative fields, its numerous publications, its workshops and various meetings, the association organizes each year the reference event of the ecosystem, Fintech R: Evolution.
France FinTech is a member of the AMF-ACPR Fintech Forum and a founding member of theEDFA (European Digital Finance Association).
www.francefintech.org | Twitter | LinkedIn | Youtube | Discover our , and our partners | Join us !

#117

#117

Goodbye to 2021, a record year for fintech! 👋

Sélectionner une page

La Covid 19 n’aura pas raison de la fintech française !

Déc 15, 2020 | Tribunes

En plein deuxième confinement – qui ne sera peut-être hélas pas le dernier – et au début de la crise économique d’une ampleur inédite qui en résulte, comment se porte la fintech française ?

Surprise, surprise …

Notre année 2020 avait débuté “en fanfare” avec une forte croissance de tous les agrégats habituels : nombre de fintech (qui dépasse désormais 650), croissance des chiffres d’affaires et des résultats. Les levées de fonds, indicateur intéressant, avaient quant à elles atteint le montant de 253 M€ au premier trimestre (soit 36% du montant total de 2019). 

La pandémie a bien évidemment provoqué le même effet de sidération chez nos entrepreneurs et leurs partenaires que chez tous les autres acteurs de la vie économique et sociale. Dans un premier temps, l’activité s’est contractée, en particulier celle liée au commerce physique, à l’événementiel et d’une manière générale aux relations sociales. L’accès au financement s’est tari pendant plusieurs semaines, dans un contexte français, rappelons-le, dans lequel les start-up ont peu accès au crédit bancaire.  

Adaptation, réaction et rebond !

Les fintech se sont rapidement adaptées : recours au télétravail dont elles sont déjà familières, réduction des charges, report de certains projets non-essentiels et dialogue avec leurs clients, partenaires et salariés .

A noter qu’elles se sont très vite mobilisées pour apporter leur concours à “l’effort de guerre” : soutien notamment aux soignants, aux populations fragilisées et aux TPE-PME (nous avons recensé plus d’une centaine d’initiatives solidaires). A ce titre, nous avons veillé, en contribuant à faire adopter un amendement législatif avec le soutien de Bercy,  à l’association des plateformes de financement participatif aux PGE (prêts garantis par l’Etat).

Enfin, le financement est rapidement revenu : business angels, fonds, y compris étrangers qui s’intéressent de plus en plus à nos fintech.

Dans ce contexte inédit, l’écosystème  s’est globalement montré résilient et réactif, le bilan 2020 devrait être plutôt bon.

Le montant des levées cumulées atteint 827,9 M€ pour 62 opérations (contre 699 M€ pour 64levées en 2019), avec plusieurs très belles opérations : Dataiku (100M) – Qonto (104M) – Lydia (40M) – Swile (70M) – Alan (50M) – Luko (47,6M).

Le ticket moyen augmente lui aussi (13,4 M€ contre 10,9 M€ en 2019).

L’écosystème français voit donc ses levées augmenter de 18,4%, contre une baisse de 7% pour le secteur européen. Sous réserve d’éventuelles opérations de fin d’année, notre part de l’ensemble progresse donc de presque 2% (8,8% du total).

Le volume d’affaires global a sensiblement augmenté du fait notamment d’un recours accru aux applications et aux besoins de digitalisation de nombreux usages liés aux services financiers. 

Voir Baromètres France FinTech 

2021 et au-delà … 

Il est encore difficile de mesurer l’impact économique de la pandémie et de prédire ses répercussions futures, mais nous pouvons déjà identifier certaines conséquences et distinguer les principales tendances.

A l’évidence, la crise économique générée par les confinements successifs sera profonde et longue.  Les fintech, qui sont à cet égard “des entreprises comme les autres”, seront impactées au même titre que les acteurs financiers traditionnels, y compris par une inévitable dégradation des risques (entreprises et particuliers). Notons toutefois que peu de fintech disposent d’un statut d’établissement de crédit.

A plus long terme, les tendances déjà observées devraient s’accélérer, au premier rang desquelles le développement de la finance en ligne. De fait, les modèles BtoC connaissent un développement marqué et il semblerait que les solutions BtoB permettant une digitalisation rapide de l’expérience client enregistrent une marque d’intérêt croissante. Dans le même temps, nombre de modèles BtoC ont lancé une offre BtoB qui représente une part de leur activité en progression (à noter qu’ils suivent ainsi le chemin stratégique des big tech…).

L’internationalisation des usages et des acteurs va se poursuivre, tout comme le phénomène de plateformisation. L’intelligence artificielle et les algorithmes de dernière génération impactent de plus en plus fortement les modèles (conseil, risque, productivité notamment). Notons également l’immixtion toujours plus forte des Big Tech américaines et chinoises dans les services financiers, désormais élevés au rang de priorité stratégique. 

Segment par segment, des champions émergent et confirment leur position, reflet d’un début de consolidation. 

Enfin, mentionnons l’émergence récente et prometteuse de nouvelles briques d’usage et de modèles qui s’ajoutent aux offres déjà installées. 

J’évoquerai notamment quatre familles (parmi bien d’autres) :

  • les fintech qui ciblent ce qu’on appelle “les services fonctionnels” (de gestion interne, par opposition à l’exploitation commerciale). 23,5% des levées en valeur.

La créativité de nos entrepreneurs dans ce secteur est forte. Citons ce qu’il est convenu d’appeler “l’économie de la facture et de la note de frais” et les solutions dédiées à la fonction achats, les services financiers associés à la fonction RH (épargne salariale, avance sur paie, etc). On constate un développement des outils de “Business Intelligence” (aide à la décision) et toute une palette d’offres couvrant l’analyse des risques. 

  • le secteur des néo banques (31% des levées)

Ce compartiment est stimulé par l’essor de l’open finance et la mise en force de la deuxième directive européenne sur les paiements (DSP2). Il se caractérise par l’élargissement de l’offre de produits et services et le ciblage de nouveaux segments de clientèle (pros, entrepreneurs et TPE, jeunes de moins de 15 ans);

  • l’assurtech (21% des levées)

Les services d’assurance numérique sont l’un des secteurs connaissant la plus forte croissance, avec l’émergence de néo assureurs, de fournisseurs d’assurance à la demande, d’assurance paramétrique ou de fonctionnalités de gestion de données. 

De fait, les trois secteurs (services fonctionnels, néo banques et assurtech) représentent ensemble les trois quarts des levées de fonds de l’exercice.

  • les modèles à impact

Comme chacun sait, les préoccupations sociétales et environnementales prennent une place centrale dans les critères de décision des consommateurs (pas seulement les plus jeunes).

La traduction de cette tendance de fond se matérialise par le développement de fintech de type néo banque de l’économie durable, de fintech proposant des investissements responsables, la mesure de l’empreinte carbone de nos décisions financières ou de l’éducation financière. 


Pour une vision plus large de l’écosystème, voir le
Panorama des fintech françaises de France FinTech x BlackFin Tech

 

Nous entrons à l’évidence dans une période décisive aussi bien pour les acteurs traditionnels (banque et assurance) que pour les nouveaux entrants.

L’économie de la finance alternative est en effet en fort développement sous la poussée des quatre moteurs de l’innovation (financement, réglementation, technologie et demande des consommateurs) qui poussent fortement et concomitamment.

Dans cet environnement et face à l’arrivée des Big Tech dans les services financiers, il est essentiel de ne pas perdre de temps et surtout d’être à l’écoute des attentes des (nouveaux) consommateurs.

La France, marché de compétences et d’accès à l’Europe a une belle carte à jouer.

La période de pandémie n’introduit pas une rupture, mais constitue plutôt un accélérateur de tendance et un révélateur de talent que nos fintech ont entrepris de saisir avec enthousiasme 

Alain Clot
Président-fondateur, France FinTech 


A propos de France Fintech

Créée en 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech fédère les sociétés utilisant des modèles opérationnels, technologiques ou économiques, innovants et disruptifs, visant à traiter des problématiques existantes ou émergentes de l’industrie des services financiers et représentant les principales composantes de la filière. L’association s’est donnée pour mission de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les fintech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. France FinTech est aujourd’hui la plus grande association sectorielle de start-up en France et en Europe. Elle est présidée par Alain Clot et Kristen Charvin en est sa déléguée générale. Son comité directeur rassemble les fondateurs et dirigeants d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT. Outre ses actions sur les terrains réglementaires et législatifs, ses nombreuses publications, ses ateliers et rencontres diverses, l’association organise chaque année l’événement de référence de l’écosystème, Fintech R:Evolution.
France FinTech est membre du Forum Fintech AMF-ACPR et membre fondateur de l’EDFA (European Digital Finance Association).
www.francefintech.org | Twitter | LinkedIn | Youtube | Découvrez nos membres et nos partenaires | Rejoignez-nous !