Select a page

Traditional insurers, a privileged playground for insurance start-ups

February 3, 2021 | News, Publications

The digital transformation of the insurance sector is in full swing. The young insurance companies are rushing into the breach, in particular by providing insurance companies with their expertise in technology, UX and customer knowledge. 

The wave " insurtech " accelerated ! We expected it; this vertical is reaching a phase of maturity. Witness the operations of lifted funds recent months (Alan, Luko, + Simple, Tinubu Square, Descartes Underwritting, loves, Leocare, etc.) or that of repurchase and the entry of new players on the market such as Ornikar … Alain Clot, President of France FinTech and Eric Mignot, Director of France FinTech and Founding Chairman of + Simple, deliver their analysis to Fabrice Deblock for the Digital Factory.

To relive the round table “Singularity or crossed paths: definitely tech! » during #FFT20 this way !

Excerpt: 

« A large half of Assurtech aims to provide services and product bricks to insurers while a little more than 35% are directly in contact with the end customer: brokers, full-service insurers in particular, the number of which will undoubtedly go to increasing.
To understand this trend, It is interesting to compare the relationships that fintechs created in their infancy with banks with those that insurance companies are forging now with insurers. With a few years of lag, the insurance sector is experiencing what the banking sector has already known: the first activities to be created are essentially B2B. In venture capital, we often say 'Dreaming of B2C but primarily financing B2B' because before conquering large market shares in B2C, in a market very controlled by traditional establishments, you have to invest very large sums. . B2B is often more accessible and profitable in the short term for new entrants“, notes Alain Clot, President of France FinTech 

The B2B playing field is all the larger for insurtechs as insurers are still little advanced in their digital transformation. " The insurance industry has traditionally invested little in tech. The share of turnover of insurance companies invested in IT budgets is 3%, while bankers devote between 5 and 9% of their turnover to it. There is a real risk of digital dropout among traditional players. And the bulk of their IT investments relate to regulatory matters. It is therefore one of the major obstacles to innovation in this sector.", Complete Eric Mignot, Director of France FinTech and Founding Chairman of + Simple.
Another explanation for this ignition delay » digital insurance: the very structure of the market. " Unlike banking, the insurance industry is extremely intermediated, very fragmented. Where a banker can bring technology to bear on the entire value chain, which he controls from end to end, an insurer has a harder time due to the fragmented nature of its environment“, adds Eric Mignot.

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Les assureurs traditionnels, terrain de jeu privilégié des start-up de l’assurtech

Fév 3, 2021 | Actualité, Parutions

La transformation digitale du secteur de l’assurance bat son plein. Les jeunes pousses de l’assurtech s’engouffrent dans la brèche, notamment en apportant aux compagnies d’assurance leur expertise en matière de technologie, d’UX et de connaissance de client. 

La vague “assurtech” accélère ! Nous nous y attendions ; cette verticale arrive à une phase de maturité. En témoigne les opérations de levées de fonds des derniers mois (Alan, Luko, +Simple, Tinubu Square, Descartes Underwritting, Lovys, Leocare, etc.) ou celle de rachat et l’entrée de nouveaux acteurs sur le marché comme Ornikar … Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech et Eric Mignot, administrateur de France FinTech et Président fondateur de +Simple, livrent leur analyse à Fabrice Deblock pour l’Usine Digitale.

Pour revivre la table ronde “Singularité ou itinéraires croisés : assurément tech !” lors de #FFT20 par ici !

Extrait : 

Une grosse moitié de l’Assurtech vise à fournir des services et briques produits aux assureurs tandis qu’un peu plus de 35% sont directement en relation avec le client final : courtiers, assureurs de plein exercice notamment, dont le nombre ira sans doute en augmentant.
Pour comprendre cette tendance, il est intéressant de comparer les relations que les fintech ont créées à leurs débuts avec les banques avec celles que les assurtech nouent en ce moment avec les assureurs. Avec quelques années de décalage, le secteur de l’assurance vit ce que le secteur bancaire a déjà connu : les premières activités qui se créent sont essentiellement B2B. Dans le capital risque, on dit d’ailleurs souvent ‘Rêver de B2C mais financer prioritairement du B2B’ car avant de conquérir de larges parts de marché en B2C, dans un marché très contrôlé par les établissements traditionnels, il faut investir des sommes très importantes. Le B2B est souvent plus accessible et rentable à court terme pour les nouveaux entrants“, note Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech 

Le terrain de jeu B2B est d’autant plus vaste pour les assurtech que les assureurs sont encore peu avancés dans leur transformation numérique. “Le secteur de l’assurance a traditionnellement peu investi dans la tech. La part du chiffre d’affaires des compagnies d’assurance investie dans les budgets IT est de 3%, alors que les banquiers y consacrent entre 5 et 9% de leur CA. Il y a un vrai risque de décrochage numérique chez les acteurs traditionnels. Et le gros de leurs investissements IT concerne le réglementaire. C’est donc un des grands freins à l’innovation dans ce secteur“, complète Eric Mignot, administrateur de France FinTech et Président fondateur de +Simple.
Autre explication à ce “retard à l’allumage” numérique de l’assurance : la structure même du marché. “Contrairement à la banque, l’industrie de l’assurance est extrêmement intermédiée, très morcelée. Là où un banquier peut faire jouer la technologie sur toute la chaîne de valeur, qu’il contrôle de bout en bout, un assureur a plus de mal en raison du caractère fragmenté de son environnement“, ajoute Eric Mignot.

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française !

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Succès! Vous recevrez bientôt votre première newsletter!