Select a page

Corrected budget proposal and Covid-19

April 23, 2020 | Press Releases

Paris, the 23 April 2020

France FinTech, the professional association of French fintech, insurtech and regtech, and its community of entrepreneurs, welcome the vote in the Senate of a government amendment allowing the integration of crowdfunding platforms - " Crowdlending »- in the system of State Guaranteed Loans (PGE) to companies.

On March 18, the Government announced the implementation of measures to support the economy including deferral of tax and social charges, an extension of the partial unemployment scheme and guarantees of bank cash lines (Loans Guaranteed by the 'State) allowing companies to face the economic crisis resulting from the health crisis and containment. However, the State guarantee of 300 billion euros had so far only been granted to loans granted by banks and finance companies. 

Although granting financing to companies, especially small and medium-sized ones, the platforms were therefore not in a position to provide EMPs to their VSE-SME clients, who are however very vulnerable. 

France FinTech and its members have therefore alerted the Government to this situation and proposed that the French platforms, like their many European equivalents, should now be able to grant EMPs, which, it should be remembered, are granted without costs or margins.

A pioneer, France was the first European country to design in 2014 an appropriate regulatory framework for participatory finance activities - crowdfunding, crowdlending. These platforms have undergone continuous development, with around twenty active players in France today, making it possible to mobilize more than € 1 billion in loans for SMEs.

From the start of the health crisis, fintechs have taken many measures to help their individual and business customers cope with this unprecedented situation. For their part, the financing platforms immediately proceeded to rescheduling maturities and freezing capital repayments.

“The Minister of the Economy Bruno Le Maire has recognized the essential and innovative role of crowdlending platforms in financing the economy by allowing them to be able to distribute PGEs, particularly in this period of unprecedented crisis. This extension of EMPs to platforms is decisive for supporting SMEs that are suffering. Fintechs are resolutely engaged in this battle alongside banks.
comments Alain Clot, President of France FinTech

Discover the solidarity initiatives of French fintech

About France FinTech
Created in June 2015 on the initiative of entrepreneurs, France FinTech is a non-profit association whose mission is to promote excellence in the sector in France and abroad and to represent French FinTechs to public authorities, the regulator and the ecosystem. It brings together French fintech, insurance and regtech with the potential to become European or global leaders. All the players wishing to support this movement and be recognized as an integral part of the ecosystem have gathered around the start-ups: technology companies, investment funds, law and consulting firms, banks, insurers, industrial companies, public or associative entities, etc. The association is chaired by Alain Clot, and Kristen Charvin is its General Delegate. The Bureau brings together the founders of ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, FLUO, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

contacts: press@francefintech.org

Kristen charvin
France FinTech - Managing Director
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org

Guillaume Spring
Image Sept - Consultant Public Affairs
gressot@image7.fr

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Projet de budget rectifié et Covid-19

Avr 23, 2020 | Actualité, Communiqués de presse

Paris, le 23 avril 2020

France FinTech, l’association professionnelle des fintech, insurtech et regtech françaises, et sa communauté d’entrepreneurs, se félicitent du vote au Sénat d’un amendement du Gouvernement permettant d’intégrer les plateformes de financement participatif – « ​crowdlending » – dans le dispositif des Prêts Garantis par l’Etat (PGE) aux entreprises.

Le 18 mars dernier, le Gouvernement avait annoncé la mise en place de mesures de soutien à l’économie comprenant des reports de charges fiscales et sociales, une extension du régime de chômage partiel et des garanties de lignes de trésorerie bancaires (Prêts Garantis par l’Etat) permettant aux entreprises de faire face à la crise économique résultant de la crise sanitaire et du confinement. Or, la garantie de l’Etat de 300 milliards d’euros, n’avait été accordée jusqu’à présent qu’aux prêts consentis par les banques et les sociétés de financement. 

Bien qu’octroyant des financements aux entreprises, notamment petites et moyennes, les plateformes n’étaient donc pas en capacité de faire bénéficier des PGE à leurs clients TPE-PME, pourtant très vulnérables. 

France FinTech et ses membres ont donc alerté le Gouvernement sur cette situation et proposé que les plateformes françaises, comme leurs nombreuses équivalentes européennes, soient désormais en mesure de consentir des PGE, qui rappelons le, sont accordés sans frais, ni marges.

Pionnière, la France avait été le premier pays européen à concevoir dès 2014 un cadre réglementaire approprié aux activités de finance participative – crowdfunding, crowdlending. Ces plateformes ont connu un développement continu avec aujourd’hui une vingtaine d’acteurs actifs en France, ayant permis de mobiliser plus d’1 milliard d’euros de prêt pour les PME.

Dès le début de la crise sanitaire, les fintech ont pris de nombreuses mesures pour aider leurs clients particuliers et entreprises à faire face à cette situation sans précédent. Pour leur part, les plateformes de financement ont immédiatement procédé à des opérations de rééchelonnement des échéances et de gel des remboursements en capital.

“Le ministre de l’Economie Bruno Le Maire a su reconnaître le rôle à la fois essentiel et innovant des plateformes de crowdlending dans le financement de l’économie en leur permettant de pouvoir distribuer des PGE notamment dans cette période de crise sans précédent. Cet élargissement des PGE aux plateformes est déterminant pour soutenir les PME qui souffrent. Les fintech sont résolument engagées dans cette bataille au côté des banques”​.​
commente Alain Clot, Président de France FinTech

Découvrez les initiatives solidaires des fintech françaises

À propos de France FinTech
Créée en juin 2015 à l’initiative des entrepreneurs, France FinTech est une association à but non lucratif dont la mission est de promouvoir l’excellence du secteur en France et à l’étranger et de représenter les FinTech françaises auprès des pouvoirs publics, du régulateur et de l’écosystème. Elle rassemble les fintech, assurtech et regtech françaises ayant le potentiel de devenir des leaders européens ou mondiaux. Autour des start-ups se sont réunis tous les acteurs souhaitant accompagner ce mouvement et se faire reconnaître comme partie intégrante de l’écosystème : sociétés technologiques, fonds d’investissement, cabinets d’avocats et de conseil, banques, assureurs, entreprises industrielles, entités publiques ou associatives, etc. L’association est présidée par Alain Clot, et Kristen Charvin en est sa Déléguée générale. Le Bureau, rassemble les fondateurs d’ANAXAGO, BANKIN, EPSOR, FLUO, LEDGER, LYDIA, OCTOBER, XAALYS, YOUNITED CREDIT.

Contacts : presse@francefintech.org

Kristen Charvin
France FinTech – Déléguée Générale
kristen.charvin@francefintech.org

Guillaume Ressort
Image Sept – Consultant Pôles affaires publiques
gressot@image7.fr