Select a page

Take a step forward with the IPO

December 16, 2022 | News, Other, grandstands, Sector views

The theme of financing is at the heart of the management and development of start-ups. It is sometimes so pervasive that it can become almost obsessive for the founders, forcing them to devote a considerable part of their time and energy to fundraising. Of course, this exercise is made even more complicated in this period of exceptional uncertainty which leads investors to be much more demanding and less reactive.

The usual method of financing start-ups goes through cycles that are imposed on almost all entrepreneurs, unless they have captive resources from the outset (subsidiary of a large group, support from a family office by example).

The usual sequence is:self-financing which should allow the development of a proof of concept and an MVP (“Minimum Viable Project”). Otherwise known as “Bootstrapping”, these “first rounds of the wheel” consist of mobilizing the personal savings of the founders and asking for support from the close network (“friends & family”). Then comes the turn of Business Angels, which bring the start up until the relay can be taken by venture capital (VC) funds. The latter sometimes intervene from the start but most often from Series A (acceleration of commercial deployment).

It should be noted that the financing can be supplemented at the margin by the loan (banks) and the support from public institutions or regional (BPI in particular).

The more the development is confirmed, the more the financing depends on large funds, which requires a lot of effort of preparation and conviction. The combination of several funds quickly becomes necessary (which is not always easy) as well asa good alignment of the objectives of these and those of the founders in terms of strategy, valuation, timetable and “exit” objective.  

At a certain stage of success, the question arises ofaccess to “wholesale” financing, recurrent, without the entrepreneur having to spend all his time “on the road”, prospecting deep seas.

Listing (IPO) is undoubtedly an interesting solution.

It certainly requires a careful preparation of the company to bring itself up to the standards of a marketing, but brings a number of essential advantages: financing of large amounts, over time, without being forced to organize incessant "Road Shows”, liquidity offered to investors, founders and employees, increased visibility, diversified and local shareholding.

The French fintech ecosystem is particularly qualified for this exercise.

With 10 unicorns (and many candidates for this status) out of the 29 that France now has, the question of marketing arises for many of its players.

Let's remember that the President of the Republic, Emmanuel Macron had set the target of 25 unicorns in 2025. Objective reached 3 years in advance!

On November 23, Jean-Noël Barrot, Minister Delegate to the Ministry of the Economy, Finance and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty, in charge of the Digital Transition and Telecommunications, announced a new ambition: 10 French unicorns listed on the Paris Stock Exchange by 2025.

This new objective is accompanied by a government support plan:  

  • nearly 800 million euros will be mobilized (500 million from Bpifrance and 300 million from Caisse des Dépôts) to invest directly in start-ups as part of their IPO. An amount that may increase later. 
  • The French Tech Mission will also continue to support newly listed start-ups whereas, until now, they have de facto left the program. 

The purpose of this infographic, established in cooperation with Euronext, a market player very involved in the financing of innovation*, is to provide entrepreneurs with an identification of the issues, advantages, conditions and constraints of the IPO.

May it modestly contribute to providing our entrepreneurs with the means for their legitimate ambition.

*particularly through its two initiatives: 

TechShare, its pre-IPO program for European tech companies 

Tech Leaders, its specialized index launched in June 2022, which brings together on the same platform leading and growing technology companies listed on Euronext.

 

All the news of French fintech!

Once a week, receive a summary of the latest news from the ecosystem.

You have successfully registered!

Sélectionner une page

Franchir une étape grâce à l’IPO

Déc 16, 2022 | Actualité, Autres, Tribunes, Vues du secteur

Le thème du financement est au cœur du management et du développement des start-up. Il est parfois si prégnant qu’il peut devenir quasi obsessionnel pour les fondateurs, les contraignant à consacrer une part considérable de leur temps et de leur énergie à la levée de fonds. Bien entendu, cet exercice est rendu encore plus compliqué dans cette période d’incertitude exceptionnelle qui conduit les investisseurs à se montrer beaucoup plus exigeants et moins réactifs..

Le mode de financement habituel des start up passe par des cycles qui s’imposent à presque tous les entrepreneurs, à moins qu’ils disposent dès l’origine de ressources captives (filiale d’un grand groupe, soutien d’un family office par exemple).

La séquence usuelle est : l’autofinancement qui doit permettre la mise au point d’une preuve de concept et d’un MVP (“Minimum Viable Project”). Autrement nommé « Bootstrapping », ces “premiers tours de roue” consistent à mobiliser l’épargne personnelle des fondateurs et à demander le soutien du réseau proche (“friends & family”). Puis vient le tour des Business Angels, qui amènent la start up jusqu’à ce que le relais puisse être pris par les fonds de capital risque (VC). Ces derniers interviennent parfois dès l’amorçage mais le plus souvent à partir de la Série A (accélération du déploiement commercial).

A noter que le financement peut être complété à la marge par de l’emprunt (banques) et le soutien des établissements publics ou régionaux (BPI notamment).

Plus le développement se confirme, plus le financement dépend des grands fonds, ce qui requiert beaucoup d’effort de préparation et de conviction. La combinaison de plusieurs fonds devient rapidement nécessaire (ce qui n’est pas toujours simple) ainsi qu’un bon alignement des objectifs de ceux-ci et de ceux des fondateurs en termes de stratégie, de valorisation, de calendrier et  d’objectif “d’exit”.  

A un certain stade de réussite se pose la question de l’accès à un financement de “gros”, récurrent, sans que l’entrepreneur soit contraint de passer tout son temps “sur la route”, à prospecter les grands fonds.

La cotation (IPO) constitue incontestablement une solution intéressante.

Elle requiert certes une préparation soignée de l’entreprise pour se mettre aux normes d’une mise en marché, mais apporte nombre d’avantages essentiels : financement de montants importants, dans la durée, sans être contraint d’organiser d’incessants “Road Shows”, liquidité offerte aux investisseurs, fondateurs et salariés, visibilité accrue, actionnariat diversifié et local.

L’écosystème de la fintech française se qualifie particulièrement pour cet exercice.

Avec 10 licornes (et de nombreux candidats à ce statut) sur les 29 que compte désormais la France, la question de la mise en marché se pose pour nombre de ses acteurs.

Rappelons que le Président de la République, Emmanuel Macron avait fixé le cap de 25 licornes en 2025. Objectif atteint avec 3 ans d’avance !

Le 23 novembre dernier, Jean-Noël Barrot, Ministre délégué auprès du ministère de l’Économie, des Finances et de la Souveraineté industrielle et numérique, chargé de la Transition numérique et des Télécommunications, annonçait une nouvelle ambition : 10 licornes françaises cotées à la Bourse de Paris d’ici 2025.

Ce nouvel objectif est accompagné d’un plan de soutien du Gouvernement :  

  • près de 800 millions d’euros seront mobilisés (500 millions de Bpifrance et 300 millions de la Caisse des Dépôts) pour investir en direct dans les start-up dans le cadre de leur introduction bourse. Un montant qui pourra augmenter par la suite. 
  • La Mission French Tech continuera par ailleurs à accompagner les start-up nouvellement cotées alors que, jusqu’à présent, elles sortaient de facto du programme. 

L’objet de cette infographie, établie en coopération avec Euronext, acteur de marché très impliqué en matière de financement de l’innovation*, est de fournir aux entrepreneurs une identification des enjeux, avantages, conditions et contraintes de l’IPO.

Puisse-t-elle modestement contribuer à fournir à nos entrepreneurs les moyens de leur ambition légitime.

*notamment au travers de ses deux initiatives : 

TechShare, son programme pré-IPO destiné aux entreprises tech européennes 

Tech Leaders, son indice spécialisé lancé en juin 2022, qui rassemble sur la même plateforme les entreprises de technologie leaders dans leur domaine et en croissance cotées sur Euronext.

 

Toute l’actualité de la fintech française!

Une fois par semaine, recevez un condensé des dernières nouvelles de l’écosystème.

Vous vous êtes enregistré avec succès!